We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated place. With gradually degrading service abdy quality”
Review of German Bakery

German Bakery
Ranked #5 of 140 Dessert in Pune
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Went here with my office group.
We reached at 8:20, gave the order but got our drinks after almost 25 minutes. Thats really slow considering the fact that the place was almost empty. We didn't complain of the slow service cause we anticipated really good cocktails.

But to our disappointment they absolutely below par. All of us at the table were good connoisseurs of alcohol and cocktails. The drinks didn't taste good neither did they have a standard amount of alcohol.

At 8:50, we started trying to get the waiters attention to complain about the drinks being too sweet and not potent enough to be called cocktails.
It took him 15 minutes to acknowledge to the fact.

A cocktail worth almost 400 ruppees is expected to have atleast 45ml of said combination of alcohol. But being connoisseurs we could all acertain that it somehow wasn't even close to half with lesser than 20ml alcohol per drink. The cocktails only tasted sweet as nector.

We normally get a buzz after a couple of cocktails, but we got none, even after finishing 2 pitchers of beer.

The restaurant management wasnt in agreement to the complaint of cocktails.. they said and confirmed that they consisted of 45ml each... so be it, I wouldnt waste my evening quarrelling over alcohol at a day of celebration. Sad to say, but this place was once one of our fav hangouts and now the service and quality of drinks has degraded so much over the last 3 years..

Needless to say, they have lost a loyal gang of customers.

The food is good though.. but the restaurant really needs to work on service and quality of drinks.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank karowar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2020

German bakery, Pune was made famous when it was the victim of a bomb blast, killing innocent people. I had since then always wanted to visit the cafe whenever I could get the chance.

German Bakery has a young vibe and place is always bustling with foreigners and locals alike. But the food here is extremely overrated. The hype is just not worth it. We ordered the Garlic bread, and it is very difficult to screw up Garlic bread, but they did. It did not taste good.

We went for the Japanese Omelet next and it was a total let down. The Pizza was ordinary. The only good dish was the Hot chocolate which we totally relished. Moreover, we had got seating on the upper floor in one of the rooms, and no one was around to take our order for a really long time. We literally had to go downstairs and call the waiter.

Avoid this place if you can as there are much better and more reasonable eateries in the area, which will definitely provide for a better experience.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 42sneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

Not worth the effort getting there unless you’re a cake head. Tired scruffy uni retesting cafe. Ok coffee but only with cow milk.
Don’t go out of your way to go there.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank granto-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

This is a good cafe having bakery. Their Double Chocolate cookies are to die for. They had lovely deserts.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank amshah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2019

We went there for late lunch. The food & service was good. We ordered Spanish omelette which was good, Pita with Hummus was good & pasta which was also good. Nice place, good food & good service. If you want to try Mediterranean food , this is definitely a good option

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vazhipokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed German Bakery also viewed

Pune, Pune District
Pune, Pune District
 
Pune, Pune District
Pune, Pune District
 

Been to German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.