We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had seen better times”
Review of German Bakery

German Bakery
Ranked #5 of 140 Dessert in Pune
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 9 June 2019 via mobile

A good bakery but don't understand the hype now. Still good in general but the mild flavours and that extra taste is missing. Not a bad place at all. Go there for all the nostalgia.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank ltctravel_skm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

During our Maharashtra Road Trip, this was one of the most looked forward to place.
Honest review- Super Hyped and disastrous food.
1. You got to love the interiors on the first floor, however the open area feels cramped.
2. The Staff is least interested to listen what request you might have with your dish.
3. We fell in love with -"Extra charge lagega" sentence their staff uses for everything. Literally became the joke for the rest of the trip.
Ordered a cold coffee, extra sweet extra strong, pat came the reply- "Sugar table par pada hai, strong ka extra charge lagega."
4. Their pastries were such a huge disappointment taste wise forget the preposterous amount they charge. Lamingtons and cheese cakes were a neat definition of disaster. (Makes you Wonder what's the hype about)
5. The pasta, the pizza and especially the lasagna, what a plate full of disaster. Anybody who has a taste for Italian would not LOVE this to the level it's hyped.
Anyways, definitely check this place out and form your own opinion.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Dhruv2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019

German Bakery had a good reputation till a few years back, as it was the preferred cafe for many people living or visiting places in and around the Osho Ashram. Their pastry section was one of the most talked about. I remember visiting the bakery, a couple of years before the unfortunate blast, and waiting for over 30 mins to be seated. And then when I tried their brownie and chocolate pastry, I felt it was all worth it.

Cut to last month, when I went to this place, the decor and everything has obviously changed. The place was pretty. However, I didn't have much problem finding a table for 2 on a Sunday afternoon. However, one quick glance at the desserts displace racks inside the cafe, and I knew that the bakery is not the same anymore. The desserts looked quite pale and a bit stale, to be honest. So my friend and I decided to order for a coffee each. The cappuccino was not good and was overpriced.

A closer look at the menu for something to eat, and we saw things like Keema Pav was priced at Rs 440! Even premium places in costlier cities like Mumbai do not price it over Rs 150. To put things into more perspective, the price of Pork Chops with Garlic Mashed Potato was also priced the same. Since when is minced meat and pork chops with mashed potato cost the same?

We left the cafe just by having the coffee, and leaving all the nostalgia behind.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank oindreelaghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

If you are visiting pune then you must come to this place, one of the famous spot of pune. It’s located near Osho ashram, came up very well with same taste and flavour even after incident of 2010. I loved chocolate cookies and muffins.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Nixsangwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2019

Good variety of sandwiches, pasta, noodles .U can have a variety of pastries to choose from, a lot of snacks, fresh juices, biscuits etc. Do try it out.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gauravk2071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed German Bakery also viewed

Pune, Pune District
Pune, Pune District
 
Pune, Pune District
Pune, Pune District
 

Been to German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.