We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Basilica”

Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Discover Kochi Walking Half-Day Tour
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Essence of Kochi Half Day Tour
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Mein Schiff 5 Special Kochi Shore Excursion: Backwater Houseboat Tour and Fort...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica was built by the Portuguese in Fort Cochin, one of the oldest Christian / Catholic Churches in India, which is owned and administered by the Diocese of Cochin, open to all, when no religious and liturgical services are in progress. Most welcome to all, who love history and Gothic Architectural attractions in the City of Cochin, Kerala.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Nice place and worthwhile visiting when you are in Fort Kochi area. However, no reason to come there from far away, for the Basilica only

Thank Dirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrFMJF, FR FRANCIS MJ FERNANDEZ, FORMER RECTOR at Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you very much for visiting our ancient Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, Fort Cochin, built by the Portuguese. The Church that you visited is the second Cathedral by the Portuguese, after the first one was used by the Dutch as depot for ammunitions and later destroyed by the British.

The paintings, including the way of the cross you saw in the ceiling, were done by a Jesuit Fra Antonio Moscheni, an Italian Painter from Bergamo, Italy.

Apart from this Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, there is also another Church St Francis just 5 minutes walk away from Basilica, which is the one of the two first Churches build by the Portuguese in India. Ours was destroyed by the British. But this Church of St Francis is still there under the Archaeology Department of India, because it is now a Heritage Zone.

God bless you abundantly.

Fr Francis MJ Fernandez, St Patrick's, Fairlie, South Canterbury, New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Waste of time to visit here.
Just a simple church to pray.
No guide to explain the history.
Not well maintained , in poor condition

Thank TAHER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrFMJF, FR FRNCIS MJ FERNANDEZ, FORMER RECTOR at Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you very much for visiting our ancient Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, Fort Cochin, built by the Portuguese. The Church that you visited is the second Cathedral by the Portuguese, after the first one was used by the Dutch as depot for ammunitions and later destroyed by the British. As you wrote, it is an old church.

God bless you abundantly.

Fr Francis MJ Fernandez, St Patrick's, Fairlie, South Canterbury, New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Among the top 10 places in Kochi, it's a nice Cathedral. Got the chance to visit a place built some 5 centuries ago. The historical look, the beautiful architecture, the paintings around, the peaceful environment, all makes you have a great experience.
Over all a superb experience.

Thank AnkitJ_rpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrFMJF, FR FRANCIS MJ FERNANDEZ, FORMER RECTOR at Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you very much for visiting our ancient Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, Fort Cochin, built by the Portuguese. The Church that you visited is the second Cathedral by the Portuguese, after the first one was used by the Dutch as depot for ammunitions and later destroyed by the British.

The paintings, including the way of the cross you saw in the ceiling, were done by a Jesuit Fra Antonio Moscheni, an Italian Painter from Bergamo, Italy.

God bless you abundantly.

Fr Francis MJ Fernandez, St Patrick's, Fairlie, South Canterbury, New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This was in interesting visit to the Santa Cruz Basilica. We have been to dozens of cathedrals in Europe and found this one to be very nice considering it was built by the Portugese over 500 years ago when they settled on the island. The cathedral itself is beautiful and well maintained and is still in use today. It was also an historical look into the past when the portugese dominated these waters for the spice trade. Entry is free but I did make a small donation.

Thank 2marcopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrFMJF, FR FRANCIS MJ FERNANDEZ, FOR MER RECTOR at Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you very much for visiting our ancient Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, Fort Cochin, built by the Portuguese. The Church that you visited is the second Cathedral by the Portuguese, after the first one was used by the Dutch as depot for ammunitions and later destroyed by the British.

The paintings, including the way of the cross you saw in the ceiling, were done by a Jesuit Fra Antonio Moscheni, an Italian Painter from Bergamo, Italy.

God bless you abundantly.

Fr Francis MJ Fernandez, St Patrick's, Fairlie, South Canterbury, New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Greetings. I had the chance to visit this cathedral basilica. Although I was aware that this is an ancient cathedral I did not know that it hosts the Relic of The Holy Cross of Our Lord Jesus Christ for a long time. This is at the Right side of the church. Had a very divine experience there, definitely worth a visit specially followers of Jesus.

Thank AjishMundackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrFMJF, FR FRANCIS MJ FERNANDEZ, FORMER RECTOR at Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you very much for visiting our ancient Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica, Fort Cochin, built by the Portuguese. The Church that you visited is the second Cathedral by the Portuguese, after the first one was used by the Dutch as depot for ammunitions and later destroyed by the British.

The paintings, including the way of the cross in the ceiling, were done by a Jesuit Fra Antonio Moscheni, an Italian Painter from Bergamo, Italy.

I was the Rector of the Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica from 08.05.2011 to 20.11.2014, before I came to New Zealand in the Diocese of Christchurch, since here are not enough priests. I have a priest-friend in Italy and working in a very ancient parish in Toscana area. and when I visited him in 2012 I got the holy relic of the Holy Cross from my friend with certification. I am happy that you could pray in front of that side chapel where I kept the relic in a very dignified manner.

God bless you abundantly.

Fr Francis MJ Fernandez, St Patrick's, Fairlie, South Canterbury, New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica also viewed

 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing