We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael L

Great hotel but be careful around the town

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2024
We had a great stay at this hotel.

The hotel was nice and clean and the hotel staff was excellent. I was impressed by the fact that they have a daily meeting that everyone on their staff attends in sort of a public area where you could see them. They were very focused on good customer service.

Breakfast was included in the price and the food was excellent. The chef there was amazing and did everything he could to help my wife avoid gluten in the food.

We also took advantage of a self-service laundry service on the first floor since we always avoid the more expensive service where your clothes are sent out to a laundromat for cleaning.

Finally, you should be a bit careful when you are in town and there are some homeless people in the area as well. I would suggest avoid going into town at night.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vularewa Seru, Other at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Bula Vinaka Michael,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel. It’s wonderful to know that you found our hotel clean and our staff excellent. We take great pride in our daily team meetings focused on providing the best customer service, and it's gratifying to see that this effort was visible to you.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and that our chef could accommodate your wife's dietary needs. Your kind words about the quality of food and the chef's attentiveness are greatly appreciated.

We're glad you found the self-service laundry convenient and cost-effective. We aim to provide practical amenities to make our guests' stays more comfortable.

We appreciate your advice regarding town safety and will continue to remind our guests to exercise caution, especially at night.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Vularewa & Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$494
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $545
  • Agoda.com
    $433
  • Hotels.com
    $518
7.6 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Free Wifi
Free parking
$320
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $256
  • Trip.com
    $194
  • Vio.com
    $194
1.5 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Free parking
Pool
$195
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $195
  • Agoda.com
3.2 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
$254
  • Priceline
    $316
  • Agoda.com
    $234
  • Expedia.com
    $288
10.1 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.5 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Free parking
Pool
Reception New
$357
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $285
  • Expedia.com
    $376
0.0 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Free parking
Pool
Escape to Nature: Riverfront Private Villas in Fiji.
$1,268
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $1,014
  • Vio.com
15.7 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Free Wifi
Free parking
The view from our balcony out the back
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $68
  • Expedia.com
    $99
16.7 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $148
16.9 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Pool
Restaurant
Nadi Airport Transit Hotel
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Trip.com
17.2 km from Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka
Pool
Room service
View more hotels in Lautoka
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
100
155
66
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
155
66
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business trip curry housekeeping staff restaurant staff fiji gym workshop soap fjd vinaka
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2023

We have consistently chosen Tanoa Waterfront Hotel for our annual Staff End of Year Party, and it never disappoints. The service is unparalleled, with a staff that is not only friendly and approachable but also exceptionally helpful. The buffet we selected was incredibly delicious, and the provided Bluetooth speaker added to the festive atmosphere with its impressive sound. The hall or room allocated to us was impeccably clean and organized according to the chosen theme. Additionally, the reasonable bar prices ensured an enjoyable night for our staff. Tanoa Waterfront Hotel continues to be the perfect venue for our celebratory gatherings.
#SaintThomasPrimarySchool

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Trail18059703607
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023 via mobile

It is definitely the best place to stay in Lautoka by far, but don’t expect too much.

Rooms (executive king suites) a nice and modern, clean and large. Do not get an older room on the ground floor near reception as they are incredibly noisy and dated.

Hotel service is lacking. Has an ok pool with nice foliage in centre of hotel, but little to no staff service poolside, and we saw a dirty diaper sit poolside for hours with no staff bothering to remove it when they walked past. Room servicing ok.

Breakfast Buffett is a bit basic, and the food runs out quickly on some days and they stop serving before the advertised finishing time for breakfast, so get there a bit earlier.

Room tip: Avoid noisy ground floor rooms near reception.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curious47585592913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023

A double celebration for my Uncle’s 50th Birthday and Family Reunion from 1800hrs - 2300hrs. Loved the simple set up and good food served. Great Team at the Waterfront- Tanoa Lautoka. The set back faced during the function was the sound systems unavailable until we were rounding off the Night, we hope that you will improve on that.
Nevertheless my Family conveys their many thanks for accommodating our get together.
We wish to book again in the near future 💕

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Miriama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vularewa Seru, Other at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bula Vinaka,

Thank you for choosing Tanoa Waterfront Hotel to celebrate your uncle’s 50th birthday and family reunion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the simple setup and good food, and that our team made a positive impression on you.

We sincerely apologize for the issue with the sound system during your function. We understand how important this element is for the success of an event, and we regret that it was not available until the end of the night. Please rest assured that we will address this issue promptly to ensure a smoother experience for future events.

We greatly appreciate your understanding and kind words. It means a lot to us that, despite this setback, you and your family had a memorable time. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future and make your next event even more special.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for choosing Tanoa Waterfront Hotel.

Best regards,

Vularewa & Tanoa Waterfront Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2023 via mobile

We arrived following another long flight. We arrived early and our rooms weren’t ready. Noticed that many guests were in the same situation. We finally got our room at 12.30pm, still ahead of our check in time. The hotel was a buzz with activities, with local events and a wedding party. The locals staying here were interesting. During check in, a local man jumped ahead and interrupted me and the check in staff, which was simply rude. The man was known to staff so they couldn’t say anything. The dinner/lunch/breakfast area is small but functional. Lautoka is a good pitstop but not a tourist destination as the local town is nothing more than an old glamours town centre. There’s an island resort across the hotel, but details on how to get there were sketchy. We had booked a top of the range room, on an upper floor. The room did not disappoint. However, there were locals staying here and some were quite loud. Overall not a bad stay. We had asked for our rental company driver to pick us up, however the staff failed to inform us that he was already there. The poor guy had to wait for hours. Otherwise staff are friendly and willing to help. To be noted, they served Indian bread during breakfast (puri) which appeared to be left overs from the wedding function the night before. It was hard and oily.

Room tip: There’s a taxi service contracted to the hotel, right outside the door step. The drivers are fair. There’s also a token laundry service .
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HonestReview998
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Always with a smile and happy to assist you especially David and the kind ladies in the restaurant and room service. The food was delightful and the facilities clean and tidy. The pools are lovely and inviting. I've enjoyed my stay with Tanoa. Will stay again!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Renae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vularewa Seru, Other at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bula Vinaka,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel. It's heartening to know that our staff, especially David and the ladies in the restaurant and room service, made a positive impact on your experience. Your kind words about their helpfulness and friendliness are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team to recognize their exceptional service.

We're also delighted that you found our food delightful and our facilities clean and tidy. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our lovely and inviting pools as well.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Vularewa & Tanoa Waterfront Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews