We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
$399
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Grace
Sydney, Australia

READ BEFORE BOOKING - For the price you pay, book elsewhere

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Sept 2023via mobile
Visited Fiji for the first time for 2 anniversary’s and 3 birthdays with friends/family. As a first time visitor to the country, I wish I’d known a few things about this resort prior to booking.

THE POSITIVES:

- Staff: hands down some of the nicest and most accommodating people. They were so sweet and remembered guests names and preferences. It didn’t matter which staff we came across, they were absolutely lovely.
- The Grounds: beautifully kept and very traditional.
- Location: You’re 20 minutes away from the airport and 10-15 minutes away from local towns.
- Price: we paid about $3000 for 6 nights for 3 people with breakfast included. Not bad in terms of what we’re used to travelling around the world.
- Drinks were great and well priced.

THE NEGATIVES:

- ACCOMODATION: We stayed in the Royal 2 bedroom Villa with private pool and beach access. The pictures on the website are accurate from afar, however the villa is very old and unkempt.
- couches and beds were dirty/burnt/damaged and really uncomfortable;
- kitchen was surface clean but cockroaches roaming everywhere when you opened a cupboard;
- bathroom was large but had no shower screen so it constantly flooded the entire space every time I showered and took ages to drain
- lack of clean towels - we basically had to beg for new towels to be delivered.

- BEACH: completely covered in rocks and basically a wasted space. You can’t walk on the sand or swim in the ocean without cutting your feet open. It would be a fantastic opportunity to partner with a company that sells rock shoes, however without footwear it’s basically impossible to enjoy. Such a shame when you imagine Fiji has some of the most beautiful beaches and nicest waters
- The tide really takes the water out during the day, so there were times were it appeared we had absolutely no water, just an endless sea of rocks.

- FOOD: very limited menu and one restaurant to choose from. Their bar menu/lunch menu is a condensed version of their main menu, and with nothing else around in close proximity it’s very disheartening
- breakfast had nothing without sugar! Fruits/jams/spreads/yoghurt and baked goods. No vegetables or anything savoury in sight unless you ordered from the breakfast menu at an additional cost. Even then (I’m a vegetarian for reference) it was basically a hash brown or canned mushrooms. Really disappointing when you’re staying there for 6 nights.

On the last night we went to the Sofitel for a buffet dinner and were amazed at the difference in food/cleanliness and service. So many different food options which was a blessing after 5 days and nights of the same food.

For anyone wishing to stay here, it is a more traditional resort but fails to provide the basics for a great stay. The place needs to be updated and more food options provided for guests. They have a nice spot, but it’s such a wasted opportunity.

Also just for comparison - after leaving I googled packages at some Denarau Island resorts which were basically priced the same as First Landing, but knowing how much more these resorts offer, unfortunately there is nothing that would draw me back here.
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Bring food with you if you’re staying here and have cooking facilities - you’ll get bored with...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review
Responded 25 Sept 2023
Bula Grace,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on your recent stay at our resort. We sincerely appreciate your thorough review, as it allows us to understand your experiences better and make necessary improvements. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your visit and are grateful for your candid insights.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience with our staff. Our team is dedicated to providing a warm and accommodating atmosphere for our guests, and it's heartening to know their efforts were appreciated.

Your points of praise regarding the well-kept grounds, convenient location, reasonable prices for accommodation and drinks, are well received.

However, we are deeply sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with your villa, especially in the Royal 2 bedroom Villa. We take your comments seriously, and we will investigate and address these concerns immediately to ensure that the quality of our accommodations matches our guests' expectations.

Regarding the beach, we are aware of the challenges with rocks, and we appreciate your suggestion about partnering with a company offering rock shoes. We will consider this as an option to enhance the beach experience for our guests.

Your feedback regarding the limited food menu and breakfast options is duly noted. We are continually working on improving our dining offerings to cater to a wider range of tastes and preferences.

We understand your comparison with other resorts and appreciate your honesty in sharing your thoughts. We genuinely value your input, and your comments will assist us in making necessary enhancements to provide a better guest experience in the future.

We hope you had some enjoyable moments during your stay and had the chance to explore the beautiful surroundings of Fiji. If you ever decide to return to Fiji, we would love the opportunity to host you again and show you the improvements we have made
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$260
  • Priceline
    $321
  • Agoda.com
    $238
  • Hotels.com
    $260
0.9 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$189
  • Priceline
    $324
  • Agoda.com
    $175
  • Trip.com
    $230
11.3 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$130
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $130
8.8 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Vio.com
$1,262
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $432
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $238
  • Vio.com
    $214
  • Hotels.com
    $277
10.5 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $399
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
Escape to Nature: Riverfront Private Villas in Fiji.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Official Site
    $1,052
  • Booking.com
8.6 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$290
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $291
  • Agoda.com
    $264
  • Vio.com
    $290
11.0 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$101
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $105
  • Agoda.com
    $67
  • Vio.com
    $96
11.1 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Lautoka
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
534
399
126
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
534
399
126
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden bure private pool vuda marina low tide foot island day trip fiji time cooked breakfast spa bath outdoor shower sleeping giant fish feeding fijian experience coral coast new zealand fire dancers nadi airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2023

From the moment our family arrives till when we leave,absolutely beautiful the locals, the people we meet the food the room with a private pool, room 106 has everything for a family of 5, Nem,Navi,Norman,Lani,joe,isia,Paul,Aggie,and so many more,our family really loves this place, we already looking at going back, we love first landing, Bula vinaka

Room tip: 20 minutes from airport really worth it
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Bula Daniels,

Thank you so much for sharing your heartwarming feedback about your stay at First Landing Resort. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was absolutely beautiful and that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your visit.

Our team members, including Nem, Navi, Norman, Lani, Joe, Isia, Paul, Aggie, and others, take great pride in providing warm and welcoming hospitality to our guests, and it's wonderful to know that their efforts made a positive impact on your stay. They will be thrilled to hear about your kind words

Vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023

I've juts returned from 5 nights at First Landing and would have loved to stay longer. It's a relaxing and laid back resort with super friendly staff and a serene atmosphere. I just loved walking on Foot Island and along the beach each day - very soul nourishing.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food and cocktails were delicious. It's definitely a quieter resort, which was perfect for me. All the children I saw were treated so kindly and looked like they were having an amazing time.

If you're looking for a relaxing and unpretentious getaway, this is the place for you.

Room tip: The pool is cold, but once you're in, it's fabulous and very refreshing on hot days. Take reef shoes for walking in the rock pools.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Bula Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at First Landing Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful and relaxing stay with us, and it brings us immense joy to know that you would have loved to stay longer.

Your description of the resort as relaxing, laid-back, and serene perfectly captures the atmosphere we strive to create for our guests. We are proud to have a team of super-friendly staff who go above and beyond to ensure our guests' comfort and satisfaction.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your walks on Foot Island and along the beach, finding them to be soul-nourishing experiences. Connecting with nature and the tranquil surroundings is one of the unique charms of our resort.

It's heartwarming to know that our staff were attentive and accommodating, and that you relished our delicious food and cocktails. We take pride in providing a welcoming environment for families and guests of all ages, and we're pleased to hear that the children you saw had an amazing time.

Your recommendation of First Landing Resort as a relaxing and unpretentious getaway is greatly appreciated. We value your feedback and are honored to have been a part of your memorable stay.

Should you decide to return for another peaceful retreat, we will be more than happy to welcome you back with open arms. Until then, we wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in the future.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2023

We have just returned from the most amazing and memorable family holiday in Fiji, staying at First Landing Beach Resort, we stayed here for 11 nights in the two bedroom garden villa, it was fantastic, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we were having the best holiday, the resort is gorgeous, a sanctuary where rest and relaxation are paramount, the menu has something for everyone and is absolutely delicious, the incredible sunsets and evening entertainment is something not to be missed, the warrior shows, the trio of the band each night - just awesome, we loved it.
Your team are the most beautiful people that just made everything perfect and we have made life long friends. It was our daughters birthday the night we arrived and the table was set with balloons, she received a beautifully decorated plate and the most lavish chocolate cake I have ever tasted, not to mention the beautiful happy birthday singing and wishes to her from your team, something she will always remember and was so very special.
Special thanks to the following people: Laite, Elenoa, Marian, Nunia, Inia, Manoa, Norman, Sammi, Joe and Jerry - You are all such amazing people.
Housekeeping and maintenance team, your work didn't go unnoticed - Everything was perfect - Thank you!
I hope one day to see you all again, if you are ever in New Zealand please get in touch and let us spoil you, like you did for us. We will never forget our unforgettable holiday in Fiji, staying at First Landing Beach Resort. We highly recommend anyone to stay here, perfect place for couples, singles or families, we will miss you guys, thank you for everything and take care, until we see you again.
Vinaka!
Nga mihi nui
Lee, Lance, Jess and Sam McMillan

Room tip: Take lots of insect repellent - the sandflies love to bite your ankles and legs at sunset - Bushmans works the best.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Discover62139513724
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Bula!!

What an absolute delight it is to read your heartfelt review of your recent 11-night stay at First Landing Beach Resort in Fiji. We are thrilled that your family had such a memorable and amazing holiday with us.

From your warm words, it's clear that our team went above and beyond to ensure you had the best possible experience. Our welcoming and friendly staff take great pride in providing outstanding service, and they will be delighted to hear that their efforts were appreciated.

We're thrilled that you found our resort to be a sanctuary for rest and relaxation, as that's precisely the atmosphere we aim to create for our guests. It's wonderful to know that our menu, sunsets, and evening entertainment added to the enjoyment of your stay. The warrior shows and the nightly trio band performances are indeed special experiences.

We are particularly touched by your mention of your daughter's birthday celebration. Making such moments memorable is something we take great pride in, and we're delighted to have been a part of her special day.

We extend our special thanks to the individuals you mentioned, including Laite, Elenoa, Marian, Nunia, Inia, Manoa, Norman, Sammi, Joe, and Jerry. They are truly remarkable individuals who make our resort a special place.

Your appreciation for our housekeeping and maintenance teams is also heartwarming. Their hard work and dedication play a significant role in maintaining the beauty and functionality of our resort.

We appreciate your invitation to visit you in New Zealand, and we will certainly keep that in mind should any of our team members have the opportunity to travel there.

Thank you for highly recommending First Landing Beach Resort to others, and please know that you are always welcome back. We will miss you as well, and until we have the pleasure of hosting you again, we wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2023

1st time here and we absolutely loved it. Around 30mins away further north but for 3 nights was well worth it as felt like real fiji away from the crowds. The beach was lovely for mainland accommodation and we loved the hospitality mostly and beautiful garden areas. We had a beach bure which was beautiful. Favourite part was sunset dinners on the waterfront. We most definitely will be back as our new favourite place on the mainland now. Thanks Norman too for taking good care of us on our stay.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Goodnesscakesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Bula!! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit, and for sharing such a heartwarming review of your experience. We are truly touched by your kind words and thrilled to know that you had such a fantastic time.

It's wonderful to hear that you found the slightly northward journey well worth it, as it allowed you to experience the authentic Fiji away from the crowds. Our beach, hospitality, and lush garden areas have always been a source of pride for us, and we're delighted that you enjoyed them as well as the beauty of your beach bure.

Sunset dinners on the waterfront are indeed a magical experience, and we're pleased that you cherished those moments.

We'll be sure to pass along your appreciation to Norman, who took good care of you during your stay. Our team takes great pride in ensuring our guests have a memorable visit.

We can't wait to welcome you back to your new favorite place on the mainland. Please know that you'll always have a warm and heartfelt welcome waiting for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2023

First Landings is a charming older resort - very welcoming, relaxing and friendly. The staff are lovely, the food and drink is excellent, the quality entertainment is authentic Fiji, every night. Stayed in a Bura/older garden villa, which was private, quiet, clean and large. No problem with servicing or keys. The Wifi is extremely unpredictable here. The beach is very nice, very shallow, safe swimming, so when the tide goes out, your left with little reef pools! The main resort pool is large, grate for a good swim and kept well with sun loungers; the garden surrounds the pool, which can gather leaves in the water. This resort is very relaxing, friendly, good value and well worth a stay, best go now before the new development plans to shape!

Room tip: Quiet, relaxing authentic Fiji resort but book your taxi to and from airport with Rosie Travels.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K3533DDsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Bula Sarah, Thank you giving us a 5 star rating. We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience at First Landing.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews