We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lance
New Zealand

The best place in Fiji

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Sept 2023
We have just returned from the most amazing and memorable family holiday in Fiji, staying at First Landing Beach Resort, we stayed here for 11 nights in the two bedroom garden villa, it was fantastic, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we were having the best holiday, the resort is gorgeous, a sanctuary where rest and relaxation are paramount, the menu has something for everyone and is absolutely delicious, the incredible sunsets and evening entertainment is something not to be missed, the warrior shows, the trio of the band each night - just awesome, we loved it.
Your team are the most beautiful people that just made everything perfect and we have made life long friends. It was our daughters birthday the night we arrived and the table was set with balloons, she received a beautifully decorated plate and the most lavish chocolate cake I have ever tasted, not to mention the beautiful happy birthday singing and wishes to her from your team, something she will always remember and was so very special.
Special thanks to the following people: Laite, Elenoa, Marian, Nunia, Inia, Manoa, Norman, Sammi, Joe and Jerry - You are all such amazing people.
Housekeeping and maintenance team, your work didn't go unnoticed - Everything was perfect - Thank you!
I hope one day to see you all again, if you are ever in New Zealand please get in touch and let us spoil you, like you did for us. We will never forget our unforgettable holiday in Fiji, staying at First Landing Beach Resort. We highly recommend anyone to stay here, perfect place for couples, singles or families, we will miss you guys, thank you for everything and take care, until we see you again.
Vinaka!
Nga mihi nui
Lee, Lance, Jess and Sam McMillan
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Take lots of insect repellent - the sandflies love to bite your ankles and legs at sunset -...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review
Responded 25 Sept 2023
Bula!!

What an absolute delight it is to read your heartfelt review of your recent 11-night stay at First Landing Beach Resort in Fiji. We are thrilled that your family had such a memorable and amazing holiday with us.

From your warm words, it's clear that our team went above and beyond to ensure you had the best possible experience. Our welcoming and friendly staff take great pride in providing outstanding service, and they will be delighted to hear that their efforts were appreciated.

We're thrilled that you found our resort to be a sanctuary for rest and relaxation, as that's precisely the atmosphere we aim to create for our guests. It's wonderful to know that our menu, sunsets, and evening entertainment added to the enjoyment of your stay. The warrior shows and the nightly trio band performances are indeed special experiences.

We are particularly touched by your mention of your daughter's birthday celebration. Making such moments memorable is something we take great pride in, and we're delighted to have been a part of her special day.

We extend our special thanks to the individuals you mentioned, including Laite, Elenoa, Marian, Nunia, Inia, Manoa, Norman, Sammi, Joe, and Jerry. They are truly remarkable individuals who make our resort a special place.

Your appreciation for our housekeeping and maintenance teams is also heartwarming. Their hard work and dedication play a significant role in maintaining the beauty and functionality of our resort.

We appreciate your invitation to visit you in New Zealand, and we will certainly keep that in mind should any of our team members have the opportunity to travel there.

Thank you for highly recommending First Landing Beach Resort to others, and please know that you are always welcome back. We will miss you as well, and until we have the pleasure of hosting you again, we wish you all the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$284
  • Expedia.com
    $341
  • Agoda.com
    $266
  • Vio.com
    $284
10.5 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
$178
  • Priceline
    $325
  • Trip.com
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $195
11.3 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $130
8.8 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $551
  • Agoda.com
    $447
  • Hotels.com
    $522
3.3 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $258
  • Agoda.com
    $232
  • Priceline
    $321
0.9 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
BBQ fish on the banks of the Ba River a stone's throw from the hotel
    38.9 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    $377
    No prepayment needed
    • Vio.com
      $330
    • Agoda.com
      $302
    • Expedia.com
      $360
    0.0 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
    Free parking
    Pool
    The view from our balcony out the back
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $95
    • Priceline
    11.1 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
    Free parking
    Pool
    Entrance sign to Westfield Homestay. Not illuminated at night, but easy to spot in dark.
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      $55
    • Agoda.com
    11.4 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
    $190
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    11.4 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
    Pool
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Lautoka
    Reviews (1,148)
    Filter reviews
    1,148 results
    Traveller rating
    536
    399
    126
    49
    38
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    536
    399
    126
    49
    38
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews garden bure private pool vuda marina low tide foot island day trip fiji time cooked breakfast spa bath outdoor shower sleeping giant fish feeding fijian experience coral coast new zealand fire dancers nadi airport
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    24 - 29 of 1,148 reviews
    Reviewed 10 September 2023

    1st time here and we absolutely loved it. Around 30mins away further north but for 3 nights was well worth it as felt like real fiji away from the crowds. The beach was lovely for mainland accommodation and we loved the hospitality mostly and beautiful garden areas. We had a beach bure which was beautiful. Favourite part was sunset dinners on the waterfront. We most definitely will be back as our new favourite place on the mainland now. Thanks Norman too for taking good care of us on our stay.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Goodnesscakesnz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

    Bula!! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit, and for sharing such a heartwarming review of your experience. We are truly touched by your kind words and thrilled to know that you had such a fantastic time.

    It's wonderful to hear that you found the slightly northward journey well worth it, as it allowed you to experience the authentic Fiji away from the crowds. Our beach, hospitality, and lush garden areas have always been a source of pride for us, and we're delighted that you enjoyed them as well as the beauty of your beach bure.

    Sunset dinners on the waterfront are indeed a magical experience, and we're pleased that you cherished those moments.

    We'll be sure to pass along your appreciation to Norman, who took good care of you during your stay. Our team takes great pride in ensuring our guests have a memorable visit.

    We can't wait to welcome you back to your new favorite place on the mainland. Please know that you'll always have a warm and heartfelt welcome waiting for you

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 August 2023

    First Landings is a charming older resort - very welcoming, relaxing and friendly. The staff are lovely, the food and drink is excellent, the quality entertainment is authentic Fiji, every night. Stayed in a Bura/older garden villa, which was private, quiet, clean and large. No problem with servicing or keys. The Wifi is extremely unpredictable here. The beach is very nice, very shallow, safe swimming, so when the tide goes out, your left with little reef pools! The main resort pool is large, grate for a good swim and kept well with sun loungers; the garden surrounds the pool, which can gather leaves in the water. This resort is very relaxing, friendly, good value and well worth a stay, best go now before the new development plans to shape!

    Room tip: Quiet, relaxing authentic Fiji resort but book your taxi to and from airport with Rosie Travels.
    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank K3533DDsarah
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

    Bula Sarah, Thank you giving us a 5 star rating. We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience at First Landing.
    We hope to see you soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 August 2023

    This resort is one of the older ones on the island but from previous experience at other up market facilities and visiting others this time, it certainly more than compensated with very friendly staff from the moment of arrival who went out of their way to ensure that all our requests were met. We spent a week there and it was just one big family atmosphere. The entire family from teenagers to grandparents thoroughly enjoyed the experience and staff. The food at the restaurant was also fabulous and the menu varied to suit all tastes. Accomodation is varied also to suit all needs and budgets.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Damian D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

    Bula Damian, Vinaka for a 5 star rating. We really appreciate your time to give us such great feedback. We hope that you do book your holiday with us soon. Vinaka from First Landing management team!!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 August 2023

    We really really love First Landing and we're just so happy that we chose it for our accommodation. There are a few bits of info that might be useful if you're planning a trip here.

    Firstly, as well as all the rooms and villas on the website, there's a separate section to this resort which consists of several privately-owned villas (the Kawakawa Villas). The resort manages them for the owners but they're not on any resort map you'll find online (or even onsite). They all have private pools - so, like us, you might book a garden villa expecting to be quite close to the beach, but you'll be up near the resort entrance. We were originally disappointed by this - the Kawakawa Villas (though they are really nice and very clean, and everything works) are not as new and shiny as the main resort villas - but it turned out to be brilliant for us. It was much quieter than the main resort area, it only took us a minute or so to walk down to the bar and restaurant each day, and it felt really private. The downside is that the housekeeping staff didn't have a key (I found this a bit strange), so we either had to be there at the right time or leave our key with reception for a room service - the result was no servicing in several days (no biggie - we found a broom and swept out the villa), and despite making multiple requests for several items, we never received some of them. This sounds worse than it was - in reality we had a beautiful, happy and relaxing stay and the little things just didn't faze us.

    Our pool was great - I don't know how big the 1-bdrm villa pools are in the main resort section, but ours was approx 4.5m x 3.5m. Heaps bigger than the tiny plunge pool we were expecting. It would have been big enough for a few decent swimstrokes, if a third of the length hadn't been filled with a huge set of steps. Couple of pool tiles missing - but overall just brilliant, and really well maintained by the staff.

    The common area pool is a lot bigger and nicer than it looks in photos. We didn't swim in it but did hang out poolside for a bit. The chairs and sun-lounges are very tired-looking and they could do with some more shaded options, but this is a small criticism.

    The small bar is a relaxed, happy place surrounded by trees, plants and climbing vines, with a huge list of drink options. Live music every night - the musicians start in the bar then move to the restaurant. They're great, especially when they're singing gorgeous Fijian songs. When the live music isn't happening, the recorded music is fun without being too loud, and a couple of TV screens show sport with the sound off. We found the bar a really pleasant place to sit and chat without any pressure to mingle, and I'm delighted to say that we were never bailed up by other travellers looking for conversation, haha!

    I'm not sure why people would complain about the food (or the range of choices) - we found the menu extensive and it caters for all tastes. Delicious authentic curries, beautiful seafood, all the burgers and quick bites you could want ... the menu is a double-sided A3 sheet, and each day there's a soup special and a main course special. Prices are reasonable and even if you're on a tight budget, you'll find something. When the weather is good, the restaurant is out under palm trees and stars, with inside options if it's cold/raining. Table bookings weren't required but if you do go to the trouble of booking you'll get a better spot. We never booked - it wasn't a big deal, they have room for everyone. The warrior show and Polynesian dance show (each is on once or twice a week, I think) both happen during dinner (no extra charge and guests aren't hassled for tips) - they're both really fantastic and, if you want to make the most of them, go early for dinner so you're finishing your meal by the time the show starts.

    We had 'hot breakfast' included in our booking, and it included the full (very good) continental buffet plus a hot dish from a limited selection (standard eggs/bacon etc). This was enough to keep us going until dinner. We walked around to the Marina one day (nice for a cool drink, plus a store that sells some great locally-made souvenirs), but we didn't feel that we needed to eat anywhere except the resort.

    As a couple looking to relax, we chose First Landing partly because the kids' club wasn't one of the main drawcards. There were a few families there, with kids ranging from babies through to teenagers, but it's really more suited to older couples and small groups. It's not a ritzy resort, it's lowkey and friendly and comfortable, and most of the guests are happy to be there without needing lots of activities and high energy stuff. We loved the balance between feeling welcome and included (staff are delightful!), but also being given our privacy and being left to relax. There's no hard upselling of anything - drinks, tours, experiences, whatever - they'll just let you decide what you want out of your holiday, and they'll work hard to make it happen.

    We didn't spend much time at the beach, but we did enjoy a few short walks and the sunsets are magnificent - if it's not high tide you'll find heaps of lovely vantage points. We didn't see many people out on the water - a few kayaks (gear provided) but that's all. Some more seating and shade on the foot island would be a bonus.

    One bit of advice - if you're relying on reception to book your taxi for you on checkout, you'll pay a hefty premium. A F$28 trip to the resort cost F$43 going the other way when booked at reception.

    We really did absolutely love our time here, and we want to go back for another visit (we hope to do so before this lovely, quiet, small oasis gets overtaken by the planned addition of more villas and apartments - sadly I think it'll be changed forever when that happens, and I think it will lose a lot of its charm). Can't comment on the bures as we didn't see inside one. If we return we'll definitely book a villa again. Vinaka First Landing!

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank EllieJayTravels
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

    Bula Ellie, We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience at First Landing. Your review made our day! Our whole team works very hard to make our customers happy, but we can only do it thanks to amazing customers like you. thanks again and we hope to serve you again soon. VInaka from First Landing

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 August 2023 via mobile

    We had a fabulous stay at first landing. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, beachfront pool villa (room 107) and it was very nice. Super clean, super spacious, quiet, and private. We didn't use the amenities of the hotel as we only had a short stay, but it was very pleasant. The staff we did interact with were fabulous. Would definitely stay again

    Room tip: Lots of car parking, the marina down the road has a lovely restaurant
    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank catchupwithcarly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews