We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Laura T
Australia

Wished we stayed somewhere else...

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Dec 2022
We stayed 2 nights here and definitely wished we spent our last few days in Fiji somewhere else.

The resort was pretty quiet and lacked the fun, vivacious atmosphere that the other Fijian resorts we stayed at had. Guests were mainly a mix of older people and big families.

Food here was not the best. The service wasn't great and food was slow to come out. I don't think the food hygiene practices were very good as we suffered diarrhoea from our stay.

There wasn't much to do in terms of activities. The kayak/water sports hut was unattended so we couldn't get life vests to go kayaking. We weren't particularly keen to go swimming in the ocean as it was right next to a port and industrial area. If you didn't book a villa with a private pool, there was only one small pool for other resort guests to use.

We stayed in one of the Garden Bures. It was a very large room that also had an enclosed porch. The porch had a drying rack which was handy for drying wet towels and swimmers. The hot water in the shower was unreliable and the water pressure was very low.

TLDR -

Truthfully, the photos of the resort make it look ritzier than it really is. The place is probably best for big families or groups on a budget. Book out one of the big, private villas and you'll be able to make your own fun. The bures are from the 'original' part of the resort are more neglected, and it feels more like you're staying in a caravan park.

Won't be staying here again as we definitely don't fit their target demographic.
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First Landing, Sales at First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review
Responded 23 Jan 2023
Bula from Frist Landing, many thanks for your reviews. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short. At the time, you were staying with us, one of our elevators was out of service for routine maintenance. For the inconvenience, it caused, I am sorry. Vinaka from the Management team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$544
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception New
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $316
  • Booking.com
10.5 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Priceline
0.9 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
8.8 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
11.3 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
BBQ fish on the banks of the Ba River a stone's throw from the hotel
  • Lol.travel
38.9 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Restaurant
Poolside Deluxe Rooms, Lautoka Hotel, Fiji
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
10.7 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
R's Family Home
    10.7 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
    Escape to Nature: Riverfront Private Villas in Fiji.
    • Priceline
    • Official Site
      $1,014
    • Agoda.com
    8.6 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Lautoka
    Reviews (1,148)
    Filter reviews
    1,148 results
    Traveller rating
    536
    399
    126
    49
    38
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    536
    399
    126
    49
    38
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews garden bure private pool vuda marina low tide foot island day trip fiji time cooked breakfast spa bath outdoor shower sleeping giant fish feeding fijian experience coral coast new zealand fire dancers nadi airport
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    58 - 63 of 1,148 reviews
    Reviewed 14 December 2022

    This is a very pleasant resort staffed by exceptionally welcoming and friendly staff serving excellent food. Sometimes it is all too easy to be critical about infrastructure and ‘details’ without being objective in a review…and whilst there are aspects of the resort that do look tired, there is much to commend it and very little to fault in what is, an 'out of the way', rustically located hotel and spa. For example – the pool is long and deep enough for adult 'lengths' – surrounded by lovely vegetation/gardens, but needing, more shelter from the sun, and more lounges (and cleaner cushions) to relax on (pool towels are provided). The beach is a beach, but the tide goes way out and when it is in, is very shallow…there are water sports (kayaks for example) but no supervision. The bures in the garden both look and feel dated, but there is nothing wrong with them – unless one mentions the occasional slow rate of flow of water in the shower. But they are efficiently air-conditioned and include fridges, tea/coffee making and a veranda (protected by a fly/bug screen). There is a small shop and the independent spa is excellent. We were there when it was hot, humid and at times very wet, but the staff made us feel comfortable. The bugs nipping us did not – and so do bring Deet or similar insect repellent – or it is available in the small shop. The restaurant bar in the close-by marina is only ten minutes’ walk away and worth an alternative view of the sunsets that one gets dining out at First Landing. It is not 5*, and wouldn’t pretend to be but it is a comfortable place for four or five days and allows one a definite taste of Fiji.

    Room tip: Depends what you want, Garden Bure close to pool suited us but then we discovered the sea view ones - which had a lawn and sea view
    Date of stay: December 2022
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank webBorehamwood
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 December 2022 via mobile

    We just stayed 3 nights here (so wish it was longer!) and I can’t rate it highly enough! The staff were 10/10 - incredibly welcoming and friendly and made us feel like this was our new home. I really can’t praise the staff highly enough.
    I’m absolutely shocked at some of the negative reviews and can promise that First Landing does not deserve the negativity. I’ve decided that the negative reviews are from two types of people 1. Those unhappy people that are always dissatisfied with something 2. People that are a costumed to a 5-star lifestyle and expect everywhere to deliver to their very high 5-star standards. Now fiji is a developing country - there is severe poverty in parts and they rely heavily on tourism to survive - COVID hit them very hard. The beauty of First Landing is that there are options to suit different budgets. The villas with private pool are of course stunning but there’s a price tag associated with them. We stayed in the studio apartment with semi private pool which was lovely. I had a walk around the bures and some of the beach front bures are right on the beach, with an expansive deck and hammock. Literally your own little paradise. Do note some are set back from the beach. I note people have commented on the bures being ‘dated’ - they’re not supposed to be fancy - it’s typical island life.
    The main pool is great - with 2 sail shades. I thought the food was good and reasonably priced. The night entertainment was fabulous and there was live beautiful music playing early evening. The views over the sea, and sunsets, are wonderful.

    If you want 5 star luxurious accommodation, you may as well be anywhere, but part of being in fiji is being in their world, without Netflix and ondemand channels. Being on ‘fiji time’ without the stress of city life, deadlines, timetables etc. remove your watch and just ‘be’.

    I am planning my next trip here next year, with my parents and children this time and can’t wait to experience First Landing’s hospitality.

    Now, if you want 5 star hotel accommodation and loads of different restaurants and pools and lots of people and noise then definitely don’t stay here. But if you want a more intimate setting. amazing staff, happy people, relaxation, water, good food, good entertainment, then I can’t recommend this resort highly enough.

    Date of stay: December 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    4  Thank TravelBug_KAJ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 November 2022

    Loved the atmosphere the staff here have a great vibe. Away from the pool area there are beach lounges and hammocks to lay and relax. The restaurants Kokoda was a favourite. We had an ocean view spa bure and the view was fantastic. The Warrior show was a lot of fun and a highlight.

    Room tip: great location if you don't want to go too far from Nadi, several different types of accomodation options
    Date of stay: November 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank NikkyD_13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 November 2022

    We had dinner at the restaurant while staying at a neighboring resort. They were hosting a wedding in the main restaurant so we were accommodated in the lower restaurant.
    It was worth making a reservation for dinner as it was a busy Saturday night with live entertainment and we got a good table. Unfortunately the music from the wedding completely overshadowed the singers in our part of the resort. The dancers had a better show as they brought a decent sound system. Their fire dance turned out to be the best one on our trip. It was exceptionally well done.

    The food was good, even though we had to change our selections due to some items not being available. Be warned though, they make the absolute worse Pina Colada I have ever had (and I've had many in many different island bars!!!). It was sooooo far off the mark that it should not be on their bar menu and can only be described as pineapple concentrate over ice - pretty gross.

    Date of stay: November 2022
    Thank keralaspicegirl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 November 2022 via mobile

    Went to First Landing Resort after a 12 Night stay at Mana Island Resort & Spa.
    Transferred from South Sea Cruisers to Tawaka Shuttle Transfer.
    Arrived at First Landing at 4pm.
    For a 5 night stay & Checked In.
    Dropped the bags off to the room.
    Was impressed with the Deluxe Garden Bure
    Always needs different maintenance on the Bures but we bypass that due to Covid for the last 18months and usually only skeleton staff at resorts during that time
    Looked around the resort
    Had Drinks. Watched a wedding, Had Dinner.
    Finished up and went back to the Delux Garden Bure started unpacking.
    Decided to have a shower turned on the hot water and not one drop on the outdoor shower.
    Turned on the Bath & Shower inside and no Hot Water. Turned on the Bathroom Sink no Hot Water.
    Turned on the kitchenette sinks Taps, no Hot Water.
    Thought to myself, I've booked into an Eco resort.
    Went down to the Front Reception.
    Asked does Hot Water come with the Bures as I've never stayed anywhere else with just cold water and if that's the case I'd like local rate.
    I was assured there is Hot Water but it hasnt been working since we checked in.
    While we were waiting to fix the water, the wife was talking to the other Deluxe Garden Bure Occupants and they were told they hadn't had Hot water since 8am that morning.
    Want back down and asked for Duty Manager.
    He came to the Bure said it will be fixed by 8pm.
    I said if it's not we'd like an upgrade or a room that can give us a Hot Shower. He said the resort was booked out. 8pm arrived no Hot water, gave them till 9pm. 9pm arrived and no hot water. Said you have till 10pm or we are transferring to another resort and we asked to speak to the Operations Manager. We did talk to Mary the Opetations Manager we told her our intentions and she asked could we just stay till the morning.
    We said No, if there is No Hot Water. there is absolutely no reason for us to stay and we said this situation was like this before we checked into the Room. We asked for a Full Refund if we had to leave, in which she reluctantly but fully agreed to.
    We should have been told and either directed us to where we could get a decent shower till the situation was rectified. It's mainly a wedding ceremony Resort where we aren't required to stay or have to stay due to a wedding.
    As while we were waiting for 10pm to arrive, we organised a local to Transfer us to Tokatoka that night if Hot Water didn't eventuate. Well it didn't happen 10pm came, Operations Manager asked again to stay till morning we said no. We settled our dinner and drinks in cash that night.
    Transferred to Tokatoka at 11:15pm.
    Got back to Australia to Organise Flight Centre to get our Full Refund because we had emailed prior about the situation.
    First Landing charged us for 1 night as they told Expedia & Flight Centre that we stayed till Morning. I checked into Tokatoka at 11:30pm.
    I've sent all paperwork proving we didn't stay the night but they're sticking to their story that we checked out at 9:15am the next morning.
    So far we still haven't received our Full Refund as Promised by Mary, Operations Manager First Landing Resort.

    Room tip: Great Food, Great Bar Staff. Check Hot Water. and your whole Bure for any concerns before exploring.
    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    3  Thank doch777
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews