We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
shirley a

amazing holiday at First Landing Resort Fiji

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Oct 2022
We have just returned from 10 days at First Landing Resort and it was perfect. While researching where to stay the resort was rarely mentioned. While it is not one of the big resorts it has a family feel and super clean and tidy.
We stayed in an ocean front bure with the sun setting right in front of us every day. The room had a fabulous air conditioner and fan, king bed and spa bath.
The history of the resort is that it is where the first people landed when Fiji was discovered.
I can’t praise the resort enough for the great service, food and accommodation. We swam and kayaked on the private beach, lazed by the pool with a cocktail or two.
Tips:
Take reef shoes as the beach is full of coral - as expected.
Take snacks.
They loan you beach towels so leave yours at home.
We took our own snorkeling masks and borrowed flippers from the resort.
The massages were amazing
We paid extra for the cooked breakfast which was definitely worth it.
Even if it is raining it is still humid so you won’t need heavy clothes.
You won’t regret your time here, we didn’t want to leave.
Date of stay: October 2022
Room Tip: we chose an ocean view bure
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$551
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $566
  • Agoda.com
    $447
  • Trip.com
    $579
3.3 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$284
  • Expedia.com
    $341
  • Agoda.com
    $266
  • Vio.com
    $284
10.5 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
$258
  • Expedia.com
    $261
  • Agoda.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $261
0.9 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$178
  • Priceline
    $325
  • Trip.com
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $195
11.3 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $130
8.8 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
$377
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $330
  • Agoda.com
    $302
  • Expedia.com
    $360
0.0 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
Escape to Nature: Riverfront Private Villas in Fiji.
$189
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
8.6 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Experience a tranquil retreat at Tokatoka Resort, where natural beauty and relaxation converge seamlessly. Nestled amidst stunning grounds adorned with lush greenery and serene landscapes, our resort offers a picturesque escape from the bustle of everyday life.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $673
  • Trip.com
10.8 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    $515
  • StayForLong
11.0 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
The view from our balcony out the back
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $101
  • Agoda.com
    $69
  • Priceline
11.1 km from First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Lautoka
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveller rating
536
399
126
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
536
399
126
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden bure private pool vuda marina low tide foot island day trip fiji time cooked breakfast spa bath outdoor shower sleeping giant fish feeding fijian experience coral coast new zealand fire dancers nadi airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2022

I have been to Fiji a few times and stayed on coral coast and Denarau but by far this was my best visit. I took my two 13 year old boys and they can’t wait to go back. The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful.
I don’t understand the negative reviews here.
We have decided that this is our home in Fiji and they made us feel like part of their family.
Close to activities for teenage children and only a short drive to Denarau - we did have a rental care which made it easy.
We stayed in a newly furnished/built villa.. and we were all amazed on how much value for money it was and what we had including private pool
Love love love - can’t wait to come back and bring friends and family!
Thanks to all the staff

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 12jenniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2022

I cannot thank First Landing enough for making us feel so welcome over the short 3 days we stayed. Our luggage did not make it to us through our connecting flight and the reception staff were so accommodating with letting us use their telephone so it did not cost us a penny to communicate with the airport on multiple occasions.
Nothing was a hassle.
As it was my partners birthday on the last night we were staying, the staff placed us on our own table on the top deck with balloons and lovely table decoration to celebrate. We had a birthday serenade with most members of staff working that evening, along with different instruments and we couldn't ask for more.
We have never met such nice people who will do anything to make you feel comfortable and happy.
The smiles on their faces and the generosity of everyone really did make our trip so special and we cannot thank First Landing enough.

We were looking for a traditional Fijian experience, and this is exactly what we asked for and more!

We will definitely be returning again soon!

Ella and Scott x

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ellamaeyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2022

Before booking be assured that the pictures on their website and Expedia is extremely outdated! The place is very old and extremely run down. The atmosphere is nothing like Denarau (and if you can afford the extra $ please just do yourself a favor and book any resort in Denarau, especially if you have kids)
We booked the Bure and straight away on arrival needed to upgrade to the Villa at an extra cost of $295 per night. The bure had a leaking shower, shower head falls every few mins of use, the hot water took 10 mins to get hot, the "spa" is a filthy 70's tub, the sheets were stained, the bar fridge had no rack inside so was unable to store more than a couple bottles of water, the kettle doesnt go off and just keeps boiling, there is no microwave (even though it says on request), there is NO OUTDOOR BBQ anywhere on the site (to get one costs $50 per day or upgrade to the Villa to use the stove), most of the daily activities are cancelled or never takes place, the kids club is a joke (IF YOU HAVE KIDS - DO NOT WASTE YOUR $, they will be bored out their mind, there is nothing for them to do here, other than the pool there are zero facilities here). I would take their "outdoor facilities with a grain of salt, there are none (no bbq area, picnic tables, shaded umbrellas, sports equipment etc.) Many reviews state that the food is reasonably priced - disagree with that, all their food is priced as the 5 star resorts but they serve you frozen products, even their seafood is frozen crap. Their breakfasts are good though.
They have in-house transportation which charges $50 return to the city and back but we just called up a taxi (Charlies Taxi) and was $28 return using a meter.
Staff are just grim, there are the odd ones that try but in general they just look like they are over it, the atmosphere stinks. They look at you as a walking ATM, anything and everything will cost you here unlike the other resorts which actually try and accommodate your needs. When you start to add up the travel and the other bits at First Landing, take it from me just book and stay in Nadi if on a budget and visit Denarau or just book in Denarau.
If you are planning on staying in First Landing then at least do yourself a favor and at least book the Villa so you can have access to your own pool and a comfortable living area. Strongly suggest going outside the resort for dinner as there are some really affordable and delicious foods at the local. I must admit, the fire dancing does happen and it is brilliant! A+ for that.
Included a pic of what the entrance to the resort looks like.... didn't fill us with enthusiasm

Room tip: GET THE VILLA if you have no option but to stay here in First Landing, else dont even bother
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank LacC246
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2022

I loved it here. I see a lot of negative reviews that discuss the following and these are my responses.

No TV - it's Fiji. You're literally on a tropical island. You don't need one.
Service is slow - Fiji time. Took me one day to get used to it.
Unfriendly staff - never met a single one and they were phenomenal with our kids
Nothing to do - again..google maps. You can see pretty quickly that it's isolated as is the majority of the resorts on the island.
Food - yes it's pricey at times but they have food packages that cover all meals. Works out heaps cheaper.
Drinks - water was not $20. It was 9.50fijian and it was huge.
Rooms - yes they did need some maintenance but for 2.5 years the world was closed. I don't expect things to be perfect instantly.
Beach - yes it's got coral that can hurt to walk on... But erm... That's what beaches have. Shells, rocks and coral. While it's not the clearest beach on the island it's stunning and so warm. Tons of fishes near the jetty.

Side note. Kids club. Amazing. They love kids here.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Amycornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2022

I cannot recommend this accommodation enough! We stayed in the Garden Bure for one night, then the entire family moved to the Nalamu Grand Villa, both of which were great. The water was clear and warm, and the food very yummy. What stood out for me was the absolute AMAZING staff at First Landing...nothing was too much trouble and everyone always had a cheerful smile. The staff called me by name the entire stay, and the Kids Club was brilliant. I don't have a bad word to say about anything!

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi-aussie-ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews