We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$560
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
$512
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$439
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Villa 2 At Tairua

Alternative accommodation option near Nadi

Review of The Fiji Orchid
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2023
A tranquil, peaceful retreat set in magnificent gardens, we found the Fiji Orchid the ideal place before continuing to our ultimate destination in Fiji. If you don't find the larger hotels personable enough the Fiji Orchid is well worth considering. With only six bures it has a laid back l feel just right or our first night on holiday. We swam in the pool which we had to ourselves and eat like kings at their intimate restaurant surrounded by orchids. The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced . I can thoroughly recommend the Orchid as an alternative to the resorts at Denerau and it's about the same distance from the airport .
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: the restaurant is outstanding but book early. It has become popular with locals
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $208
  • Hotels.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $222
3.3 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$245
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $311
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Expedia.com
    $311
7.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$183
  • Priceline
    $326
  • Agoda.com
    $161
  • Trip.com
    $232
8.2 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $291
  • Priceline
2.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.4 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
6.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
BBQ fish on the banks of the Ba River a stone's throw from the hotel
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
37.7 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$560
  • Hotels.com
    $512
  • Agoda.com
    $439
  • Expedia.com
    $551
0.0 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Escape to Nature: Riverfront Private Villas in Fiji.
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $727
  • Vio.com
11.1 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $118
  • Agoda.com
    $74
  • Expedia.com
    $112
13.2 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Lautoka
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
136
29
16
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
136
29
16
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raymond burr sleeping giant mosquito net free in room wifi glass shower impeccable staff small establishment nadi airport tropical oasis boutique hotel the main house minutes from the airport hindu temple mini fridge perfect place to relax our honeymoon mud pools
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2023

The website photos makes this look like a luxe stay but the bures have a tired, worn-out feel and need a lot of maintenance. I suspect the pictures were taken fifteen years ago when the resort opened and not much upkeep has been done since. The floors are faded and scratched - a simple refinishing would go a long way. The structure has apparently settled as there are gaps in the joints and the bathroom ceiling sags. Speaking of the bathroom, the shower head has corroded out in a few places and delivers a seriously inconsistent spray.

Design-wise, the water closet is too small: everything is based on one-meter squares and it's smaller than an airplane toilet. (I hit my head on the door every time I sat down on the toilet). The water heater for our bure is much too small (probably 100 litres) and running out of hot water was the norm. Also no showers back-to-back, the heater needs recovery time.

While the photos show all of these wide-open doors to let the outside in, when we suggested it the staff said it was a bad idea because of all the mosquitos. They also helpfully suggested that we don't take a walk to the beach down the road as a number of guests have been robbed while walking down the road.

I'm not sure how the website can claim that the bures are 860 square feet; the interior space is 4x8 meters (344 sq feet) and including the outside verandah, the size is 52 sq meters (560 sq feet). Maybe the footprint of the canvas roof is 860 square feet but claiming that as the size of the bure is quite a stretch.

On the positive side: The grounds are beautiful, the staff was very helpful and the food was quite good. If the owners had just taken six months of the COVID shutdown to perform some routine maintenance, and if the grounds were in a safer location, this would have been an easy recommendation. As it is, we wouldn't return and I wouldn't recommend it to friends...

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RedwoodGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Bourke, Owner at The Fiji Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2024

Bula George, firstly I must thank you for the autographed photo of Raymond Burr that you left for us, such a treasure. And I thank you for your review, being quite a contrast to our other reviews. It has been most helpful, especially your comments about the worn-out feel of your bure. That has made us spring into action. Since your stay we have refurbished that bure to the same standard as all our bures. So sorry to hear that you hit your head on the door every time you sat on the toilet. I'm not sure how that could happen as our toilet cubicle floor area (4ft x 4ft or 1.2mt x 1.2mt) is very much larger than the area of an aircraft toilet floor. You are mistaken with your estimate of the bure size. Your one metre squares are in fact 1.2 meter squares (4ft x 4ft).
There are mosquitos about all over Fiji , being in the tropics, we do keep them to a minimum at The Fiji Orchid. Our staff are mindful of your comfort and will advise you to shut the wide-open doors around sunset, as this is "mozzie time" all over Fiji. Our staff will also helpfully advise you not to take a walk to the beach, not because it is not safe, but because it is a public beach and is not kept clean. None of our guests have been robbed walking down the road. Fiji is a very safe destination in comparison to most countries around the world. In my opinion, safer than going to most first world countries as a tourist. I hope that, while you will not be returning to The Fiji Orchid, you will return to the Fiji Islands.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2023 via mobile

Beautiful, peaceful location with wonderful staff, nothing is a problem to them, they are there to please.
Accommodation, very comfy bed, rainwater shower, and good pressure. Food was magnificently presented. We had breakfast room service, such a luxury whilst on holidays.

Figero, the resident cat, will come and visit while you are having meals. He is sociable and wanders in to say meow! He is not a problem.

Two things I would like to mention, with having both knees replaced and a hip, I had difficulty getting out of the swimming pool, getting in was fine as I jumped in at the deep end. A handrail at the steps would be welcomed. With boardwalks either side of the bures, a fold out clothes line would be handy to hang wet bathers.

Special mention to Meme, Emily, "flashlight Johnny" to guide us back to bed.

Love to all, Paula & John Bure 6 😚😚

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

The Fiji Orchid is everything we thought it was going to be and more! The staff treat you like extended family members - they always ensure that you are safe and well looked after. We booked a Bure at the Fiji Orchid as a way to start our honeymoon. We were looking for somewhere close-ish to the airport which offered opportunities to relax, but also explore if we wanted to. From when we were picked up at the airport, to when we left, we were treated like royalty. It was so lovely to be picked up from the airport by the hotel’s private driver in the hotel’s very clean and comfortable new Toyota Prado. We were then welcomed warmly by the hotel staff, given a welcome drink and then taken to our Bure. The Bure had tea and coffee facilities, a small bar fridge, a king-size bed, tissues, air con, lounges, insect repellant, a clean bathroom and even a little desk area. During our 5 night stay, we enjoyed participating in the in-house tour, where we were driven around by the Fiji Orchid Driver to the mud pools, Garden of the sleeping giant and through town (with a market visit and a try of Kava). During this experience, we felt very safe, knowing that our driver was nearby and always willing to help.

We also spent a lot of time relaxing by the lovely clean pool and even had a massage (which was absolutely lovely!). Your room gets serviced every day and we even asked the staff if they could possibly do a load of laundry whilst we were out for the day (which they happily did). The food was great - the staff asked us about our dietary requirements and tailored the daily menu to suit. Everything was fresh and wonderfully prepared. The staff also helped us organise external tours and made sure that everything ran smoothly. They were all so happy and always greeted you whenever you walked by.

We honestly couldn’t have asked for anything better.

Thank you Fiji Orchid - we will hopefully be back someday soon :)

Room tip: Just book it :)
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Climber39071650571
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023

Right from the start you are greeted and welcomed by the most attentive staff we have encountered. The personalized service they provide is incredible and nothing seems to be a hassle, everyone knew us by name and was always up for a chat!
We were travelling on our honeymoon and everyone made sure to congratulate us, they even spelt it on the bed with leaves and flowers!

Now about the room!
You are nestled in what feels like the jungle and surrounded by glass doors which makes for such a relaxing time! we thought at the beginning it might not be very private however, they have curtains upon curtains to make you feel nice and secure inside. Servicing was pristine and always done while we were at breakfast and again turndown while we were at dinner, a lovely touch.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner who we struck up a friendship straight away, once again she was so lovely and always up for a chat, she has made it her mission to provide a place with amazing service and welcoming, and you could see that with all of the staff, they truly looked like they enjoyed working.

We were genuinely sad to leave and are grateful to experience such an amazing place, whenever we manage to get back to Fiji we will be staying again!

Thank you, Vinaka!
Michael & Olivia.

Room tip: If you want a driver for a day trip ask for Alee, he was amazing!
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed four nights here on the way to Canada. We were greeted with a smile by kesho then travelled half an hour or so to the bures. We were greeted and given a welcome drink while checking in which was a very smooth check in. Our bags were in our room by the time we got to put room. The bures are unique and very comfortable. They are air conditioned and have tea and coffee facilities and a fridge in your bure. The shower has a nice rain shower which is lovely and hot We had our dinner in our bure
because we arrived late
The staff here are outstanding and so very genuine. Breakfast had a few options and they ask you at Breakfast if you would like lunch and dinner. Meals were very tasty. They have a selection of cocktails you can purchase. Jenny the owner made us feel very welcome. Ledge was informative about the different tours that you can do. He organized a tour with kesho to take us to the Hindu temple, the markets , the mud pools and the orchid gardens which was absolutely stunning.

We loved the fact there are only six bures. The gardens are a credit and are beautiful. The staff here are so genuine and appear to really love what they do. We enjoyed our conversations with Jenny. In all it's a very relaxing stay and you can do as much or little as you wish.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews