We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$560
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
$512
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$439
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kim
Australia

Wonderful start to our Honeymoon

Review of The Fiji Orchid
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jul 2023via mobile
The Fiji Orchid is everything we thought it was going to be and more! The staff treat you like extended family members - they always ensure that you are safe and well looked after. We booked a Bure at the Fiji Orchid as a way to start our honeymoon. We were looking for somewhere close-ish to the airport which offered opportunities to relax, but also explore if we wanted to. From when we were picked up at the airport, to when we left, we were treated like royalty. It was so lovely to be picked up from the airport by the hotel’s private driver in the hotel’s very clean and comfortable new Toyota Prado. We were then welcomed warmly by the hotel staff, given a welcome drink and then taken to our Bure. The Bure had tea and coffee facilities, a small bar fridge, a king-size bed, tissues, air con, lounges, insect repellant, a clean bathroom and even a little desk area. During our 5 night stay, we enjoyed participating in the in-house tour, where we were driven around by the Fiji Orchid Driver to the mud pools, Garden of the sleeping giant and through town (with a market visit and a try of Kava). During this experience, we felt very safe, knowing that our driver was nearby and always willing to help.

We also spent a lot of time relaxing by the lovely clean pool and even had a massage (which was absolutely lovely!). Your room gets serviced every day and we even asked the staff if they could possibly do a load of laundry whilst we were out for the day (which they happily did). The food was great - the staff asked us about our dietary requirements and tailored the daily menu to suit. Everything was fresh and wonderfully prepared. The staff also helped us organise external tours and made sure that everything ran smoothly. They were all so happy and always greeted you whenever you walked by.

We honestly couldn’t have asked for anything better.

Thank you Fiji Orchid - we will hopefully be back someday soon :)
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Just book it :)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $222
3.3 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$245
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $311
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $311
7.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$251
  • Priceline
    $323
  • Agoda.com
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $291
2.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $181
  • Agoda.com
6.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
Booking.com
$183
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $161
  • Lol.travel
8.2 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$985
  • Priceline
    $1,269
  • Agoda.com
    $902
  • Vio.com
    $1,269
3.4 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Poolside Deluxe Rooms, Lautoka Hotel, Fiji
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
7.8 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$560
  • Hotels.com
    $512
  • Agoda.com
    $439
  • Expedia.com
    $551
0.0 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Escape to Nature: Riverfront Private Villas in Fiji.
Official Site
$727
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
11.1 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$87
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $112
  • Agoda.com
    $74
  • Hotels.com
    $118
13.2 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Lautoka
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
136
29
16
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
136
29
16
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raymond burr sleeping giant mosquito net free in room wifi glass shower impeccable staff small establishment nadi airport tropical oasis boutique hotel the main house minutes from the airport hindu temple mini fridge perfect place to relax our honeymoon mud pools
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2023

Right from the start you are greeted and welcomed by the most attentive staff we have encountered. The personalized service they provide is incredible and nothing seems to be a hassle, everyone knew us by name and was always up for a chat!
We were travelling on our honeymoon and everyone made sure to congratulate us, they even spelt it on the bed with leaves and flowers!

Now about the room!
You are nestled in what feels like the jungle and surrounded by glass doors which makes for such a relaxing time! we thought at the beginning it might not be very private however, they have curtains upon curtains to make you feel nice and secure inside. Servicing was pristine and always done while we were at breakfast and again turndown while we were at dinner, a lovely touch.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner who we struck up a friendship straight away, once again she was so lovely and always up for a chat, she has made it her mission to provide a place with amazing service and welcoming, and you could see that with all of the staff, they truly looked like they enjoyed working.

We were genuinely sad to leave and are grateful to experience such an amazing place, whenever we manage to get back to Fiji we will be staying again!

Thank you, Vinaka!
Michael & Olivia.

Room tip: If you want a driver for a day trip ask for Alee, he was amazing!
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed four nights here on the way to Canada. We were greeted with a smile by kesho then travelled half an hour or so to the bures. We were greeted and given a welcome drink while checking in which was a very smooth check in. Our bags were in our room by the time we got to put room. The bures are unique and very comfortable. They are air conditioned and have tea and coffee facilities and a fridge in your bure. The shower has a nice rain shower which is lovely and hot We had our dinner in our bure
because we arrived late
The staff here are outstanding and so very genuine. Breakfast had a few options and they ask you at Breakfast if you would like lunch and dinner. Meals were very tasty. They have a selection of cocktails you can purchase. Jenny the owner made us feel very welcome. Ledge was informative about the different tours that you can do. He organized a tour with kesho to take us to the Hindu temple, the markets , the mud pools and the orchid gardens which was absolutely stunning.

We loved the fact there are only six bures. The gardens are a credit and are beautiful. The staff here are so genuine and appear to really love what they do. We enjoyed our conversations with Jenny. In all it's a very relaxing stay and you can do as much or little as you wish.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023

I was there in the monsoon season, which means I was mostly stuck. This was a good place to be stuck - simple but tastefully appointed bungalows, impeccable staff. Nice garden. The Orchid is a out of the beaten path, if you don't have a car you must rely on local taxis, which can get expensive.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2023 via mobile

As we left Auckland and boarded our Fiji Airways flights (which was great by the way) to Fiji they announced over the tannoy "your journey to paradise begins..." and do you know what, they really weren't wrong. The flight was excellent, our flight arrived on time but despite a delay getting through customs, security and luggage pick-up our driver from the hotel, Kesho, was waiting for us. And that's where our experience really began with The Fiji Orchard.

We had a very comfortable drive to the hotel, a transfer of about 35 to 40 minutes in the traffic, in a very comfortable and spacious almost new Toyota Land cruiser.

What we didn't realise was that the Fiji Orchid was once the holiday home of Raymond Burr, star of Perry Mason and Ironside, programmes from the 1960s & 1970s. Raymond Burr loved orchids just as much as he loved Fiji, hence the name of the hotel and the restaurant, Raymond's.

Upon our arrival at the hotel, 4 or 5 members of staff were waiting to greet us. This was really special, including Ledge who checked us in, a really straight forward, relaxing and easy experience. Everyone was so very happy, in fact everyone that we met was so happy. We felt really welcome from the moment that we arrived. We've read reviews from guests who have criticised the welcome and the check-in process, which is ridiculous, it was lovely.

Our bags were taken to our bure whilst we finished our welcome drinks, before we were walked to our bure. There are only 6 bures, so a maximum of six guests.

The bures are well spread out, each one back onto its own little bit of the rain forest. Our bure was lovely. The main area is separated into two areas, the bedroom and lounge with seating. There's a small desk and chair.

Then theiugh to the back of the bure there's the shower room, with wash-hand basin, glass toilet and glass shower cubicles. It was really invigorating to shower looking out onto the rain forest.

There was nothing that we didn't like about our stay at The Fiji Orchid, we felt at home and on holiday very quickly. Everyone knew our names the next time we saw them.

We ate every evening in Raymond's, enjoying each and every meal. We also had some snacks and drinks by the pool, which was lovely.

Everything is spread out so at no time did we feel cramped or that the hotel was busy.

We'd really like to thank Ledge, Kesho, Gordon, Imma, Lo, Deepika (who we contacted before our stay, and was most helpful) Ben and the whole family. They really made our stay so special. Kesho organised our day out for us and when we needed some help on our last day they went the extra mile to help us. We'd also like to thank Ali, a local taxi driver, who also took us into Nadi on our final day. Like everyone at The Fiji Orchid, he was great.

Would we go back, absolutely. Was our 5 night stay long enough, definitely not. We'd give them a higher rating if we could.

Thank you 👍.

Please check out all of the photos that I've added 📷.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TimGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2023 via mobile

The Fiji Orchid is charming, with just six well appointed tented bungalows in a tropical garden. The pool is delightful, food delicious, and everything clean and well maintained. The location is a peaceful spot away from the bustle of Nadi. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the lovely manager Dipica looks after everything really well. Driver Kesho took us on a couple of day trips. We had a wonderful relaxing 5 days here and highly recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank IzzyPacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews