We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kitkat071
Canning Vale, Australia

A slice of paradise

Review of The Fiji Orchid
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2023via mobile
Hubby and I stayed four nights here on the way to Canada. We were greeted with a smile by kesho then travelled half an hour or so to the bures. We were greeted and given a welcome drink while checking in which was a very smooth check in. Our bags were in our room by the time we got to put room. The bures are unique and very comfortable. They are air conditioned and have tea and coffee facilities and a fridge in your bure. The shower has a nice rain shower which is lovely and hot We had our dinner in our bure
because we arrived late
The staff here are outstanding and so very genuine. Breakfast had a few options and they ask you at Breakfast if you would like lunch and dinner. Meals were very tasty. They have a selection of cocktails you can purchase. Jenny the owner made us feel very welcome. Ledge was informative about the different tours that you can do. He organized a tour with kesho to take us to the Hindu temple, the markets , the mud pools and the orchid gardens which was absolutely stunning.

We loved the fact there are only six bures. The gardens are a credit and are beautiful. The staff here are so genuine and appear to really love what they do. We enjoyed our conversations with Jenny. In all it's a very relaxing stay and you can do as much or little as you wish.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$342
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $359
  • Agoda.com
    $325
  • Booking.com
    $377
3.3 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Reception New
$368
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $313
  • Agoda.com
    $287
  • Expedia.com
    $378
7.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
$321
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $258
  • Agoda.com
    $238
  • Expedia.com
    $289
2.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $130
6.6 km from The Fiji Orchid
$178
  • Priceline
    $325
  • Trip.com
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $196
8.2 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
Poolside Deluxe Rooms, Lautoka Hotel, Fiji
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
7.8 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free parking
Pool
$502
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $565
  • Agoda.com
    $445
  • Hotels.com
    $521
0.0 km from The Fiji Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
$152
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    11.3 km from The Fiji Orchid
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
      $503
    • Trip.com
    13.0 km from The Fiji Orchid
    Free parking
    Pool
    The view from our balcony out the back
    $103
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      $69
    • Expedia.com
      $103
    13.2 km from The Fiji Orchid
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Lautoka
    Reviews (187)
    Filter reviews
    187 results
    Traveller rating
    136
    29
    16
    5
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    136
    29
    16
    5
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews raymond burr sleeping giant mosquito net free in room wifi glass shower impeccable staff small establishment nadi airport tropical oasis boutique hotel the main house minutes from the airport hindu temple mini fridge perfect place to relax our honeymoon mud pools
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 187 reviews
    Reviewed 22 April 2023

    I was there in the monsoon season, which means I was mostly stuck. This was a good place to be stuck - simple but tastefully appointed bungalows, impeccable staff. Nice garden. The Orchid is a out of the beaten path, if you don't have a car you must rely on local taxis, which can get expensive.

    Date of stay: March 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Kai C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 March 2023 via mobile

    As we left Auckland and boarded our Fiji Airways flights (which was great by the way) to Fiji they announced over the tannoy "your journey to paradise begins..." and do you know what, they really weren't wrong. The flight was excellent, our flight arrived on time but despite a delay getting through customs, security and luggage pick-up our driver from the hotel, Kesho, was waiting for us. And that's where our experience really began with The Fiji Orchard.

    We had a very comfortable drive to the hotel, a transfer of about 35 to 40 minutes in the traffic, in a very comfortable and spacious almost new Toyota Land cruiser.

    What we didn't realise was that the Fiji Orchid was once the holiday home of Raymond Burr, star of Perry Mason and Ironside, programmes from the 1960s & 1970s. Raymond Burr loved orchids just as much as he loved Fiji, hence the name of the hotel and the restaurant, Raymond's.

    Upon our arrival at the hotel, 4 or 5 members of staff were waiting to greet us. This was really special, including Ledge who checked us in, a really straight forward, relaxing and easy experience. Everyone was so very happy, in fact everyone that we met was so happy. We felt really welcome from the moment that we arrived. We've read reviews from guests who have criticised the welcome and the check-in process, which is ridiculous, it was lovely.

    Our bags were taken to our bure whilst we finished our welcome drinks, before we were walked to our bure. There are only 6 bures, so a maximum of six guests.

    The bures are well spread out, each one back onto its own little bit of the rain forest. Our bure was lovely. The main area is separated into two areas, the bedroom and lounge with seating. There's a small desk and chair.

    Then theiugh to the back of the bure there's the shower room, with wash-hand basin, glass toilet and glass shower cubicles. It was really invigorating to shower looking out onto the rain forest.

    There was nothing that we didn't like about our stay at The Fiji Orchid, we felt at home and on holiday very quickly. Everyone knew our names the next time we saw them.

    We ate every evening in Raymond's, enjoying each and every meal. We also had some snacks and drinks by the pool, which was lovely.

    Everything is spread out so at no time did we feel cramped or that the hotel was busy.

    We'd really like to thank Ledge, Kesho, Gordon, Imma, Lo, Deepika (who we contacted before our stay, and was most helpful) Ben and the whole family. They really made our stay so special. Kesho organised our day out for us and when we needed some help on our last day they went the extra mile to help us. We'd also like to thank Ali, a local taxi driver, who also took us into Nadi on our final day. Like everyone at The Fiji Orchid, he was great.

    Would we go back, absolutely. Was our 5 night stay long enough, definitely not. We'd give them a higher rating if we could.

    Thank you 👍.

    Please check out all of the photos that I've added 📷.

    Date of stay: March 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank TimGriffiths
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 January 2023 via mobile

    The Fiji Orchid is charming, with just six well appointed tented bungalows in a tropical garden. The pool is delightful, food delicious, and everything clean and well maintained. The location is a peaceful spot away from the bustle of Nadi. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the lovely manager Dipica looks after everything really well. Driver Kesho took us on a couple of day trips. We had a wonderful relaxing 5 days here and highly recommend it.

    Date of stay: January 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank IzzyPacket
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 December 2022 via mobile

    When in Fiji, it became apparent how much the big brands advertised and dominated the market. From what I could see, they were just places to rest your head for massive prices.

    Fiji Orchid is somewhere Ian Fleming would stay. These glass bungalows that are kept immaculate by the housekeeping team (honestly, I would go for breakfast and when I returned, the whole Bure was rearranged to perfection).

    The team manage to pull off things like this because they communicate so well. This organisation wasn’t by chance but was intentional to deliver exceptional customer experience.
    Talking about exceptional customer experience, I had the great pleasure of being greeted by Jenny and Peter on my first day. After that; whenever I saw Jenny, we had great chats and after a month of travelling solo, this was greatly appreciated.
    Deepika and Ledge were always ready to support with any advice, organising taxis, you name it. If the team could do something for you, they would.
    Kesho, Orchid’s driver, and Deepika went above and beyond on my first day by inviting me to tag along with them to town to sort out my local SIM and go around the market whilst Kesho shopped for ingredients.

    Don’t get me started on the food. All locally sourced ingredients, delivered at high quality.

    All in all, if you’re looking for somewhere a bit magical, with a personal touch, you’ve found it.
    Whether you want to have chats or be left to your own devices, the team adapt really well to each guest from what I saw (I was there for nearly a week).

    You might be thinking, this is an over the top, positive review. I know but I work in customer experience and it’s rare to find somewhere with this level of customer experience in this beautiful setting so treat yourself!

    I’ll definitely be back!

    Date of stay: December 2022
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    1  Thank VictoryRock
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 October 2022 via mobile

    This boutique hotel is a real treasure. My partner and I stayed here at the end of our two week trip to Fiji. It was a perfect place to rest and refresh before our trip home. (Wish we had booked here at the beginning of our trip as well) Jenny and her staff are authentically inviting and made sure we were comfortable and accommodated. They picked up up at Port Denarau and also made sure we had transportation to the airport in Nadi. They accommodated my food allergy to gluten which is always a point of anxiety when I travel. The gluten free toast was homemade and delicious! The burre was pure luxury. Complete with air conditioning, robes, mini fridge, kettle, tea, coffee, milk, water etc. It was immaculately clean and stylish. The shower was incredible too! We are definitely planning to stay here on our next trip to Fiji.

    Room tip: When you book you can easily email them to arrange airport pickup or anything else you need. They are very helpful.
    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Erin M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews