We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Turtle_Love_Story
DeWitt, Iowa

Surprise Engagement!

Review of Turtle Island
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2024via mobile
It was my second time visiting this wonderful Island and my boyfriend’s first. I was very excited to introduce him to the lovely people I remembered so well.

The day we landed my boyfriend proposed so it became a very special engagement trip! I do miss the photo albums that were provided in 2012 along with the leather luggage tags. We had a total of 5 photos provided and they did not really showcase our trip. Those small details from the first trip meant a lot and I hope they consider doing them again.

All in all it was very nice to be back with our Turtle Family!
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this review
Responded 19 Mar 2024
Bula Nikki,
What an incredibly special moment to share with us - your engagement! Congratulations to you both again.
Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience of your trip . We understand how those small touches added to the magic of your experience. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $320
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
2.6 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
$869
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $869
4.0 km from Turtle Island
Free Wifi
Pool
$288
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $244
  • Trip.com
6.0 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $462
  • eDreams
29.3 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $335
  • Expedia.com
    $572
30.6 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
52.1 km from Turtle Island
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Nanuya Levu
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
525
24
15
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
525
24
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bure mama private beach other guests our honeymoon new friends fijian staff communal table deep sea fishing sea plane fijian culture the entire staff welcome home long beach picnic lunch once in a lifetime lobster magical place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

We just cannot give enough accolades to the staff and management of Turtle Island.
We feel like a piece is missing after we left, that is the love, welcome and deep friendship extended to us during our holiday. It was incredible to unwind and enjoy everything Turtle Island offered and we will absolutely return at our first opportunity.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Bula Anton,

Thank you so much for your heartfelt review! It means the world to us to hear that your experience at Turtle Island was so special and memorable.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you both back on your return plan trip. Your kind words inspire us to continue providing exceptional experiences for all our guests. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Best week of my life. The nicest people in the world! The food and the snorkeling were off the charts. The live music and singing throughout the day and night was spectacular. My absolute highest recommendation.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rogueberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Bula Bula !

Thank you for this incredible review !
It warms our hearts to know that you found our staff to be the nicest people in the world and enjoyed the food, snorkeling, and live music. Your highest recommendation means the world to us, and we can't thank you enough for sharing your positive experience. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Turtle Island is certainly a beautiful Island in paradise, but what makes Turtle Island amazing is the Turtle family who goes above and beyond to make your stay one that you will never forget! We experienced true Fijian culture in a 5 star resort! The food and accommodation was above expectation. Although it rained a lot (we visited during the rainy season) we were never disappointed in the amount of activities available and the lengths that the staff went through to make it special. Vinaka Turtle Island!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sonja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Bula Sonja,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an unforgettable experience during your stay with us at Turtle Island. It's heartwarming to know that our team's dedication to providing exceptional service and showcasing Fijian culture made your visit truly special.

Your kind words mean the world to us, and we are grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you both. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Absolutely loved our time at Turtle Island! This was our second time to Fiji. Our previous visit was in October and we were worried about how this visit would go during the rainy season in February. If you are wanting to visit Turtle Island during the rainy season, don't trust the U.S. weather apps for rain forecasts. I kept looking at the weather forecasts for several weeks before our trip in late February and the forecast was always rain and thunderstorms every hour of every day. It turns out that this is far from true when it comes to turtle island which is located on the dry side of Fiji. Did we see rain... yes. But it only happened just a couple times in very short bursts during a couple days during the week we were there. It did rain often at night but we hardly saw it during the day and only for short bursts that blew over quickly.

In fact, we loved the rain the few times it came during the day because it helped cool things down a bit. If you go in February, be prepared to sweat because it is hot and humid but don't be afraid of the rainy season on Turtle Island.

The resort and staff are amazing! We loved our entire experience there and wished we could have stayed longer. Looking forward to returning and planning to bring our kids with us so that they can experience the culture of these wonderful people. Thank you turtle island!!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kooplife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Bula Bula!
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing time at Turtle Island. We appreciate your insight about the weather forecasts and how they may not always accurately reflect the weather at Turtle Island as we are located on the side of Fiji that receive a least amount of rain. Thank you for choosing Turtle Island, and we look forward to your next visit! Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

The Turtle Island experience started as soon as we walked out of baggage claim at the Nadi airport. They were ready for our arrival bright and early! We spent a couple of nights in the Port Denaru area prior to Turtle Island and they happily provided transport to and from the hotel.

The seaplane transport was a quick, scenic trip from Nadi to the island. Once we made it, we were greeted with singing, hugs and a fresh cocktail! After a tour around the island, we got settled into our FABULOUS waterfront bure and met with our Bure Mama Adi. Turtle assigns a mama or papa to each bure and they they take care of you for the stay- plan your meal locations based on preference (breakfast in bed, private lunch/dinner locations, etc), pack and deliver your beach picnics, laundry, stock the fridge, and so much more.

Our bure was waterfront, and it was beautiful. We could see the colorful sky change from inside each day-not that we were inside much. We had more than enough space for the two of us. Our favorite things in the bure were the outdoor showers (one at the front to rinse off sand and saltwater and completely private shower in the back), two bathrooms, and the outside day bed.

The drink selection, food and service was outstanding. Each morning we were greeted with hugs and of course a “Bula!” I’m sure I will miss someone, but Lisi, Sarah, Grace, LaLa, Lema, Sai, Nikki, were phenomenal and never hesitated to get us what we requested.

The purpose of our trip was a combined wedding and honeymoon. To any brides reading, this was the least stressful, most beautiful location. When I say everything was planned in a matter of a 10 minute walk with Mama Lu to pick location, I am not exaggerating. Cake, flowers, all of it. I got ready in the Spa with Maca and Tima. They were so attentive and helpful with buttoning the back of my dress and helping with my veil. Everybody worked SO hard to make sure our day and location was perfect. Our day was so so special.

Cam loves to fish and we had the opportunity to fish 3 mornings. Two of the mornings we caught fish! Erami was our wedding officiant and our boat captain! He is awesome and has the best hugs! Plus he made sure I had enough sunscreen on for all of our outings.

I truly could go on and on about how great of a place Turtle Island is, but the people are what makes it such a great destination. To Adi, Mikah, Erami, Angie, Mere, Joe, Jerry, Bill, Elle, Lisi, Sarah, Grace, LaLa, Lema, Nikki, Sai, Mitah, Mama Lu, Maca, and Tima (and all those I missed)- Cam and I thank you for the most memorable trip. We can’t wait to be back. Keep smiling family!

Room tip: Pay the extra for the seaplane.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hegreene95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Bula Haley & Cam,
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for sharing your Turtle Island experience with all of us. Congratulation again on your wedding and honeymoon! We're honored to have been a part of such a special occasion. Thank you once again for choosing Turtle Island for your special occasion. We can't wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews