We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rogueberto
Chicago, Illinois

Wananavu! That's Fijian for awesome.

Review of Turtle Island
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2024
Best week of my life. The nicest people in the world! The food and the snorkeling were off the charts. The live music and singing throughout the day and night was spectacular. My absolute highest recommendation.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this review
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Bula Bula !

Thank you for this incredible review !
It warms our hearts to know that you found our staff to be the nicest people in the world and enjoyed the food, snorkeling, and live music. Your highest recommendation means the world to us, and we can't thank you enough for sharing your positive experience. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$320
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $332
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Trip.com
2.6 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
$884
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $885
  • Agoda.com
    $749
  • Expedia.com
    $869
4.0 km from Turtle Island
Free Wifi
Pool
$148
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $87
  • Vio.com
4.4 km from Turtle Island
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $819
  • Trip.com
6.0 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Pool
$121
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
    21.0 km from Turtle Island
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Trip.com
    • Official Site
      $462
    • Priceline
    29.3 km from Turtle Island
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    $376
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
    • Agoda.com
      $319
    • Hotels.com
      $527
    30.6 km from Turtle Island
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Nanuya Levu
    Reviews (576)
    Filter reviews
    576 results
    Traveller rating
    525
    24
    15
    9
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    525
    24
    15
    9
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews bure mama private beach other guests our honeymoon new friends fijian staff communal table deep sea fishing sea plane fijian culture the entire staff welcome home long beach picnic lunch once in a lifetime lobster magical place
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 576 reviews
    Reviewed 16 March 2024

    Turtle Island is certainly a beautiful Island in paradise, but what makes Turtle Island amazing is the Turtle family who goes above and beyond to make your stay one that you will never forget! We experienced true Fijian culture in a 5 star resort! The food and accommodation was above expectation. Although it rained a lot (we visited during the rainy season) we were never disappointed in the amount of activities available and the lengths that the staff went through to make it special. Vinaka Turtle Island!

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Sonja v
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

    Bula Sonja,

    Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an unforgettable experience during your stay with us at Turtle Island. It's heartwarming to know that our team's dedication to providing exceptional service and showcasing Fijian culture made your visit truly special.

    Your kind words mean the world to us, and we are grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you both. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 March 2024

    Absolutely loved our time at Turtle Island! This was our second time to Fiji. Our previous visit was in October and we were worried about how this visit would go during the rainy season in February. If you are wanting to visit Turtle Island during the rainy season, don't trust the U.S. weather apps for rain forecasts. I kept looking at the weather forecasts for several weeks before our trip in late February and the forecast was always rain and thunderstorms every hour of every day. It turns out that this is far from true when it comes to turtle island which is located on the dry side of Fiji. Did we see rain... yes. But it only happened just a couple times in very short bursts during a couple days during the week we were there. It did rain often at night but we hardly saw it during the day and only for short bursts that blew over quickly.

    In fact, we loved the rain the few times it came during the day because it helped cool things down a bit. If you go in February, be prepared to sweat because it is hot and humid but don't be afraid of the rainy season on Turtle Island.

    The resort and staff are amazing! We loved our entire experience there and wished we could have stayed longer. Looking forward to returning and planning to bring our kids with us so that they can experience the culture of these wonderful people. Thank you turtle island!!

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank kooplife
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

    Bula Bula!
    Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing time at Turtle Island. We appreciate your insight about the weather forecasts and how they may not always accurately reflect the weather at Turtle Island as we are located on the side of Fiji that receive a least amount of rain. Thank you for choosing Turtle Island, and we look forward to your next visit! Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 February 2024

    The Turtle Island experience started as soon as we walked out of baggage claim at the Nadi airport. They were ready for our arrival bright and early! We spent a couple of nights in the Port Denaru area prior to Turtle Island and they happily provided transport to and from the hotel.

    The seaplane transport was a quick, scenic trip from Nadi to the island. Once we made it, we were greeted with singing, hugs and a fresh cocktail! After a tour around the island, we got settled into our FABULOUS waterfront bure and met with our Bure Mama Adi. Turtle assigns a mama or papa to each bure and they they take care of you for the stay- plan your meal locations based on preference (breakfast in bed, private lunch/dinner locations, etc), pack and deliver your beach picnics, laundry, stock the fridge, and so much more.

    Our bure was waterfront, and it was beautiful. We could see the colorful sky change from inside each day-not that we were inside much. We had more than enough space for the two of us. Our favorite things in the bure were the outdoor showers (one at the front to rinse off sand and saltwater and completely private shower in the back), two bathrooms, and the outside day bed.

    The drink selection, food and service was outstanding. Each morning we were greeted with hugs and of course a “Bula!” I’m sure I will miss someone, but Lisi, Sarah, Grace, LaLa, Lema, Sai, Nikki, were phenomenal and never hesitated to get us what we requested.

    The purpose of our trip was a combined wedding and honeymoon. To any brides reading, this was the least stressful, most beautiful location. When I say everything was planned in a matter of a 10 minute walk with Mama Lu to pick location, I am not exaggerating. Cake, flowers, all of it. I got ready in the Spa with Maca and Tima. They were so attentive and helpful with buttoning the back of my dress and helping with my veil. Everybody worked SO hard to make sure our day and location was perfect. Our day was so so special.

    Cam loves to fish and we had the opportunity to fish 3 mornings. Two of the mornings we caught fish! Erami was our wedding officiant and our boat captain! He is awesome and has the best hugs! Plus he made sure I had enough sunscreen on for all of our outings.

    I truly could go on and on about how great of a place Turtle Island is, but the people are what makes it such a great destination. To Adi, Mikah, Erami, Angie, Mere, Joe, Jerry, Bill, Elle, Lisi, Sarah, Grace, LaLa, Lema, Nikki, Sai, Mitah, Mama Lu, Maca, and Tima (and all those I missed)- Cam and I thank you for the most memorable trip. We can’t wait to be back. Keep smiling family!

    Room tip: Pay the extra for the seaplane.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank hegreene95
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

    Bula Haley & Cam,
    Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for sharing your Turtle Island experience with all of us. Congratulation again on your wedding and honeymoon! We're honored to have been a part of such a special occasion. Thank you once again for choosing Turtle Island for your special occasion. We can't wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

    Our stay more than exceeded our expectation from the beautiful island to the amazing staff who we now consider our turtle Island family. We traveled there with my sister and her husband for her 50th birthday. The turtle Island family went above and beyond on the celebration it was more than we could've ever expected, our Bur papa Tommy was absolutely amazing he was there to care for our every need. Sai,Lema the bartenders were great they had a drink in our hand before we ask ! Emari & Jeri were there to make sure we make it to all our private outings! Serah was there every morning to great us with a big smile & hug before serving us breakfast. To all the Doc men that make sure our location & needs were always known . Meme with her smile that was as big as the sunshine & personality to match . I could go on & on ALL the staff & family there were above amazing ! As it was said on the Island by another quest that is true .. ALL THE WORLD NEEDS MORE FIJIAN IN IT !! This was such a true statement there was so much love ok the island .. we will always have a family in Turtle Island !! 💕💕

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 829danna
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

    Bula Danna & Lonnie,

    Thank you so much for this amazing review.

    Celebrating your sister's 50th birthday with us was truly a joy, and we're honored to have been part of such a special occasion. It's wonderful to hear that our team went above and beyond to ensure your celebration was everything you could have hoped for. Tommy, Sai, Lema, Emari, Jeri, Serah, and all our dedicated staff members take great pride in providing exceptional service, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to them.


    Thank you once again for choosing Turtle Island for your special celebration, and for sharing your experience with us. We are deeply grateful for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to your Turtle Island family in the future. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)! Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 February 2024

    Our stay on Turtle Island was a treat. The best part of our stay was the wonderful staff. They were always warm, friendly, and attended to our every need (to the point that I felt lazy). The resort is also great. Turtle Island puts in a lot of effort to make everything comfortable, and natural feeling. The bure's are a great example of this. The are the perfect amount of luxury under a handcrafted thatched roof bure. I enjoyed the small capacity of the Island too. The highest number of guests on the Island during our stay was 18. The experience is set up to be as private or group-setting as you want it to be. You can choose to eat meals around the central table, or enjoy a meal on a private beach. There are so many activities that we couldn't do them all during our week long stay. When you check-in you are assigned a Bure Mama who will be your guide and main point of contact while you are on the Island. Mama Wait made our stay extremely comfortable and became a friend. Communication on the Island is very well thought out. Each bure gets a radio that you can use to request anything your might need while on the Island.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Trip23096983769
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

    Bula Allan,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay on Turtle Island. We are truly delighted to hear that your experience was nothing short of exceptional. It brings us immense joy to know that the highlight of your stay was the warm and attentive staff. Providing personalized service and ensuring our guests feel well-cared for is at the heart of what we do. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our dedicated team members, including Mama Wati, who made your stay so comfortable and memorable.

    Thank you once again for choosing Turtle Island for your honeymoon and for sharing your positive experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay in the future. Sota tale! Love your Turtle Island Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews