We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fanadir Hotel(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Steigenberger Golf Resort(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ali Pasha Hotel(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dawar El Omda(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Captain's Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mosaique Hotel(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Three Corners Rihana Resort(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$311
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
427
313
69
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
313
69
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle boatzeytouna islandbeach boyclose to downtownhalf boardnice swimming poollagoon viewrooms are comfortablesmall hotelrelaxing holidayenjoyed my stayfree shuttletravel agenthotel is greatprivate beachlovely roomdowntown el gouna
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Great location in El Gouna with views across the lagoon. It is an easy walk into downtown. It is about 2 miles by road to the Marina, still ok to walk during the day but it is easy to get a tuktuk from the hotel or town centre. The hotel is large enough to have good amenities but not so large as to feel impersonal. The staff work hard to provide friendly and efficient service. The all inclusive package is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The lagoon/pool rooms have good views and avoid music from central courtyard
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Rogwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Online Reputation at Hotel Sultan Bey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Rogwill,

we would like to thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted to know, that you enjoyed your time with us and will certainly forward your compliments to our employees.
We are looking forward seeing you again in the near future and remain with
Sunny greetings

Your Sultan Bey Hotelteam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Arrived back last week following 11 night stay.
Room was nice, had paid for extra for lagoon view room which it probably was sometime ago, but now a big palm tree completely obscured the view of pool and lagoon. Friends room was fine. We asked for a sheet as the quilt was too warm and my quilt cover was very rough. Room cleaned daily, also a large bottle of water every day. We took our travel kettle to make tea and coffee. Small mini fridge with variety of stuff that has to be paid for.
Location: excellent, right next to downtown, easy TUK TUK ride to marine. Free shuttle to Zeytouna Beach. I you go downtown try JOBO's bar, great food and very reasonable drinks.
Food: Okay but not hot, most mealtimes even if we went on opening the food was barely warm. Beef was served a lot, cakes look delicious but mostly tasted the same but with different decoration. All of us suffered from a bad stomach at various times,requiring antibiotics from the pharmacy, this could have been down to a bug, 2 of us still ill when we came home! A number of other guests complained of the same.
It may be an idea to have anti bacterial hand wash soap at points around the hotel especially the restaurant area. Drinks: Rose wine and beer acceptable.
No ice cream available at mealtimes or during the day unless you pay extra.
One lunchtime a week they have a BBQ by the pool the food is good and hot!!
Pool: lovely and warm, cleaned every morning. Pool bar excellent service, lovely bloke who even made us special drink when he knew we had bad stomachs, not sure it helped but very grateful for the effort.
Entertainment poor, takes place on the Terrace but lasts only short time. The singer had decent voice but the song choices were poor.
Most of the other guests were German, Belgium or French but all that we met tried to interact with us.
Main beach area clean and looked after but the smaller area nearer to the restaurant needs to be cleaned as well. A few mornings we picked up glasses and rubbish.
The lagoon water was cold but very refreshing.
A quiet hotel nothing for Children.
I love El Gouna and have been 6 times, this was our first at Sultan Bey. I would stay again if the few issues mentioned were rectified.

Room Tip: Lagoon view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WirralTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Hotel Sultan Bey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. All our guests' comments are of high value to us, as we consider them a very useful tool to maintain or improve our customer service if needed.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us, I stay at your entire disposal for any other question or wish you may have for your next visit. Your remarks are taken very seriously and we will definitely do our best to improve our services.

Thank you for your trust and see you soon hopefully.
Warm regards

Maged Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I have just returned from the Sultan Bey with my sister after 10 nights. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. Our travel agent hadn't requested a non ground floor room as we had requested and the reception staff arranged for the room change the next morning and showed us the room in advance to make sure we were happy. We had a lovely pool view. The rooms and hotel were clean and tidy. The beds very comfy. The food was varied, and lovely. Alcohol was better than I have experienced in previous hotels in Egypt. I felt the hotel and El Gouna were very clean and only used hand sanitizer when dealing with money. The pool was amazing and although we had issues with sunbeds the first few days, after the guests left beds were easier to get by the pool and on the private beach. The town was a 5 minute walk away and full of bars and restaurants. March is a quiet time of year but the staff all made a huge effort to keep us entertained. My sister went on the Dolphin boat tour and loved it. The spa provided some nice treatments but if you like a firm massage be prepared. I personally preferred the massages over at the beach which were also a tad cheaper. We got a tux tux into the Marina and had drinks at the Bartender which was a nice bar. In the main town I can also recommend the Swiss restaurant, Dunes, Irish bar and snack shack. While shopping we didn't feel pressured or hassled from the store owners. This is an area and hotel I would return to again. The lagoons and properties in the area were very pretty and created a tranquil feel. If I could make one change I would prefer this hotel be adult only. Tip: Buy a can of 'OFF' spray in the supermarket for knat bites. Should you need medical advice the pharmacy in town speak good English and are reasonably priced.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank MissPerfectionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Hotel Sultan Bey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. All our guests' comments are of high value to us, as we consider them a very useful tool to maintain or improve our customer service if needed.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us, I stay at your entire disposal for any other question or wish you may have for your next visit.

Thank you for your trust and see you soon hopefully.
Warm regards

Maged Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Just spent 3 weeks at Sultan Bey the hotel is well situated small and friendly with absolutely excellent staff the buffet restaurant serves up really good food and the additional dine around option gives variety we really enjoyed the Swiss House
Snorkelling of the jetty is good but limited by the tides as it can get cloudy at times .It was a really relaxing holiday and we would have happily stayed longer not many English people but we found the Dutch and German guest very friendly would strongly recommend trying this hotel

Room Tip: we had 340 looked out over the gardens very quiet no good is you cannot manage stairs otherwise no problems during our stay
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 496AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Hotel Sultan Bey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Mr. Alan,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. All our guests' comments are of high value to us, as we consider them a very useful tool to maintain or improve our customer service if needed.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us, I stay at your entire disposal for any other question or wish you may have for your next visit.

Thank you for your trust and see you soon hopefully.
Warm regards

Maged Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

First time visit short after the opening years ago. Back in 2015 en just visited again last two weeks. Small hotel close to the village. Very friendly people working at this hotel. Some things need a little upgrade but it is Egypt and nothing serious. Many people do reservations and leave there towels on the sunbeds, some at 04.00, these people needs help or please stay at home.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0bdekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Hotel Sultan Bey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. All our guests' comments are of high value to us, as we consider them a very useful tool to maintain or improve our customer service if needed.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us, I stay at your entire disposal for any other question or wish you may have for your next visit.

Thank you for your trust and see you soon hopefully.
Warm regards

Maged Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews