We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip!”

Magic Tour Colombia
Ranked #11 of 63 Tours in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We went with guide Marron and translator Brian. Had a great time! The hike was more gruelling than the Lonely Planet led us to expect, but the journey was beautiful and the destination ever more so!
We were a smaller group (7) than others which I really liked. Magic Tours fed us very well, though the one vegetarian in our group seemed to be an afterthought. One unexpected bonus was the delicious variety of fresh juice at meals.
Someone else here described Marron as "wikipedia in sandals," which is an excellent description. His experience and local knowledge are unmatched. I am glad to have had a decent grasp of Spanish though as the translation was less than stellar (A for effort though).
Be prepared to be damp for 4 days if not with rain then with sweat (or both)! Things just don't dry in the jungle. The guys with us were glad to have some gold bond powder. Don't over-pack, as you'll find your bag gets heavier with time!
The bugs were not as bad as we had feared, but do check yourself for ticks when you get home. I noticed that our group was given more opportunity to swim in the river than other groups too, which was super nice.
The 5-day folks just spent one extra night getting back out from the Ciudad Perdida, at which point we were exhausted and ready to get home, so I would recommend 4 days.
Definitely recommend Magic Tours and this trip!

Thank alice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magic Tour Colo... S, Community Manager at Magic Tour Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Hi Alice!!

We appreciate so much that our travellers have an excellent experience in this unique place!! thanks for share it with us.

Wishing you the best!
Best regard

Magic Tour family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jose garcia"
in 13 reviews
"ciudad perdida"
in 73 reviews
"day trek"
in 29 reviews
"lost city"
in 78 reviews
"fruit"
in 18 reviews
"spoke no english"
in 3 reviews
"comfortable beds"
in 3 reviews
"tour guide"
in 14 reviews
"food was great"
in 11 reviews
"got sick"
in 8 reviews
"inca trail"
in 3 reviews
"interesting information"
in 5 reviews
"big thanks"
in 3 reviews
"other companies"
in 7 reviews
"high humidity"
in 3 reviews
"group members"
in 3 reviews
"unforgettable trip"
in 3 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

My fiance and I did a 4-day trek with Magic Tour a few weeks ago and the entire operation exceeded all expectations. Pedro Negro was a kind and knowledgeable guide. Jesus Duque, our translator, was super fun and did a great job as an interpreter. Alejandra Patina was our chef and she prepared huge and delicious meals 3x/day, each time sprinting ahead of us on the trail so that our meal would be ready soon after our arrival to camp. She was very accommodating to dietary restrictions, specifically vegetarian and gluten-free diets. I highly recommend visiting the Lost City with Magic Tours.

Pro-tip: bring your own Hand-Sani (:

Thank Afriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magic Tour Colo... S, Community Manager at Magic Tour Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you so much for sharing with our travellers about your awesome experience in this magic place!! We're thrilled you have enjoyed it. Our staff will be happy for hearing about you!

Best wishes

MagicTour family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I joined Magic Tours for a four day trek to The Lost City. The entire trip was fantastic! Our guide, Pedro, was incredibly knowledgeable of the area and its history. Our translator, Jesus Duque, was also very knowledgeable, very fun and has become a friend I hope to keep in touch with. The food was also amazing. The chef, Alejandra Patino, would literally run the trail in front of the group to prepare our breakfast, lunch and dinner. Cold beers, Gatorade and Aguardiente are available for purchase at almost every stop! Lots of beautiful swimming holes along the way.

We’re are both avid hikers and four days will push you (which is exactly what we wanted). You can also extend to five or six days for a more relaxed pace. This was truly a unique experience. Thank you thank you thank you Magic Tours!

Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magic Tour Colo... S, Community Manager at Magic Tour Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Hello Carsten!

We're really thrilled you have enjoyed this amazing trip! Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with our travellers!

Best regards,

MagicTour family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We did the lost city trek with Magic Tours and it was awesome. The scenery is great and the trekking is intense at times but totally worth it! Our guide Juan Carlos and translator Alex were just great. Juan Carlos was very professional and super passionate about the history and Alex did a great job at translating and making sure that everyone understands. In general, both were just a lot of fun to be around during the tour. I can only recommend to do the tour with these two, we had a great time!!!

Thank lauravi0leta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magic Tour Colo... S, Community Manager at Magic Tour Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello, Charly!
Thank you very much for your nice review and for rating our services and sharing your experience with our travellers, your opinion is very valuable to us!

Best wishes

MagicTour family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Had a great time on this tour ! Translator Jesus Duque and Guide Jose were valuable partners in this trek . If you do this trek , ask for these guys and you will have an excellent time.

Thank chicagodiver1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magic Tour Colo... S, Community Manager at Magic Tour Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thanks a lot for rating us, your comments are really valuable for us.

Best regards

MagicTour family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Tour Colombia also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Magic Tour Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing