We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
110
36
17
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
36
17
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews language exchange nintendo wii less touristy free salsa lessons cheap bar salsa class meet locals a great place to meet great atmosphere south america recommend staying here practice your spanish metro station cool vibe bed dorm common areas other guests
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Was there in mars
Checked in for one night- ended up staying 2 weeks.
Very cool vibe, well located in laureles (very close to son Havana club, one of the best salsa club of Medellin).
Clean, friendly and easy going.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Audrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

I came to this place with five of my friends because we heard about it in lonely planet. It was the first hostel we had been to in Medellin and they had good recommendations; so we thought to our self “let’s go to town, boys”!
We came to our room and there were beds (which is nice) but the room wasn’t airconditioned (which was survivable because it wasn’t too hot anyways).

As for the facilities: they didn’t have pool, table tennis or table football as you would hope for, as all the good hostels have at least one of the mentioned above.. let’s be honest.
They did have chess and the Star Wars versión of monopoly, which was kind of nice and we enjoyed the chess game (that we truly did).
The Nintendo wii is a really nice touch (that we haven’t seen anywhere else on our four month journey around South America) but we were disappointed to discover that they didn’t have wii sports, including the tennis game (which is the only enjoyable game for the wii for most people).

Some of you may have wondered why the title of this review is The Wandering Cigarette. And now I’ll tell you :)
Now when you’re traveling for four months in South America as a young lad you pick up the habit of smoking tobacco and marijuana cigarettes in quite heavy amounts. When I arrived to the hostel I truly did wander (as their name suggests I would) to find a place to consume my stimulants of choice. The hostel has some really nice place to chill, like their hammocks and couch in the patio but unfortunately it’s not allowed to smoke or consume any other drugs (besides alcohol) in that area. Why? I honestly have no clue. As smokers we were dismissed to the roof top, which had no lights and only a few chairs. It only took a few hours before we chose to forget about the rules, and started smoking in the hammocks anyways. Now on the bright side, we only got told to take our business else where, which was nice :)

All in all, a hostel we didn’t fall in love with.

4/10
- Hermano Mayonesa

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Oscar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentandfriends, Manager at The Wandering Paisa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thanks for you comment. To help you understand our rules, It's because we run things in the hostel in compliance with the laws of Colombia 1) Drugs are not permitted in the hostel because they are illegal in Colombia. 2) As far as the no smoking signs, those are required by the law by the fire department in those common areas as they are not fully open spaces. Sorry you didn't have the stay you desired. - Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

What a fantastic stay we had! We were lucky enough to experience one of the famous Wandering Paisa language exchange! Loads of people trying to learn and share new experiences! Had an awesome time! The rooms are cosy and so is the chill-out hammock area. Highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davodavis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Great location, lots of good salsa nearby and they have free weekly salsa class. Great hammocks. Rooms a little small. Staff in general very friendly, girl wth purple hair exceptionally helpful. Only feedback would be andres is very unhelpful, no smiles and always playing a video game so when you ask a question you feel like you are interrupting him and often no eye contact and short answers. Hence the 4 stars. Otherwise would recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 8SunnyDays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Definitely recommend staying here. This place is well run, has very friendly staff, very clean and makes a great effort to keep the crowd social with different events throughout the week. The hostel bar is also a great place to chat up travellers and local patrons. The location was perfect, with easy access to metro, restaurants and clubs. Great experience staying here and highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Keri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews