We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
124
95
57
25
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
95
57
25
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table hammock area cinema room small pool cleaning ladies pub crawl el poblado perfect location clean rooms free coffee great atmosphere other travelers min walk hostel rooftop chill vibe
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

We would give Casa Kiwi a "great", the rooms are nice, the Hostel really cool and most of the other Guests were really cool guys. The food we tried was fine. What was a little bit annoying was that the WIFI didn't worked in our room (Bambu was the name of our room as far as I remember).

What was really annoying though was, that we had to get our flight an 6 o'clock in the morning on a sunday and the airport is quite far away. Well, we informed the lady at the desk the night before. She told us that our taxi will be there at 4. So we've been at the desk at 4 o'clock. The guy who was working at that time told us then, that the taxi will arrive at 4:15. We waited until 4:20. Than we asked if he could probably call the taxi driver. He did so and they told us they will be there in 5 minutes. We waited until 4:30 and asked him another time if he could may call the taxi driver an another time. He didn't understood us well so after he didn't called him for like an other 5 minutes we asked him again to call te taxi driver. What was really annoying then was, that he knew that we were in a hurry because there passed more than 30 minutes already, we asked him to call an other company and if he could may give us back the 65 000 Pesos we already payed he was first like - yeah let's have a look maybe the taxi they called the day before will arrive. Luckily at 4:45 the taxi arrived and he gave us back our money. But one thing must be said: if we hadn't had such a nice taxi driver, who was driving the fastes he could, we wouldn't had made the flight.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 963theresae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaKiwiHostel, Owner at Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Hola. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. :( Thank you for letting us know - we've taken measures to hopefully prevent that from happening to somebody else in the future. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed in 3 other hostels in medellin. Casa was my fav. The staff was nice and helpful especially the chick with the elephant tattoo(sorry never caught her name). A lot different spots to chill: Rooftop, terrace with hammocks, bar, sofas, tv room. They have billiard and kitchen serves great and not expensive breakfasts. Its clean. It has also a lot of ambience. My bed in azalea was ok and i had good sleep. I had no problems with wifi and simply cannot find a thing to blame on. Very good staying.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Agata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaKiwiHostel, Owner at Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016
Google Translation

Gracias Agata!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

This place at first seemed great, but it only took me a couple days to realize it was terrible. The staff were so incompetent...everyone was so rude. It was a fun place to stay because it was in a great location. I wouldn't stay here again. I feel like it has so much potential. It's a really cool setup....get your staff and shenanigans together!

Date of stay: May 2015
Thank Kara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaKiwiHostel, Owner at Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Hola Kara. In our software it looks like you haven't stayed with us since June 2015, so your review must be from back then. I'm glad you liked the set-up and location of the hostel. You'll be happy to know that we changed our whole staff this year, and we've been getting pretty good feedback. Maybe we'll see you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Casa kiwi...staff is disinterested. Wifi doesnt work. Guests are mostly aloof. Dorm is suffocatingly hot even with a ceiling fan. One night only. I can deal with everything except no wifi and a room with no air circulating. I hate that I paid to sleep in a hot box. Oh yes and drug dealers hanging outside the door...

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Bzrbuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaKiwiHostel, Owner at Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Sorry you couldn't get the wi-fi t work for you. It usually works just fine these days. As far as the staff, maybe you caught somebody on an off day, as we've been getting pretty good feedback about our staff recently. "Guests aloof"? Ok, not much we can do about you not getting along with the other travelers. Thanks for letting us know about the hot rooms though, we're looking into that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Casa Kiwi is well located next to Parque lleras in el Poblado. The staff is - as in most hostels - very busy. This means that I had to wait a bit to check in and have their advice on what to do in Medellin. However, when it was my turn, they were nice and very helpful and found some great tours for me. - I can especially recommend the Bicitour and the the tour to el Guatape and el Penol with great guy in an old Ford (I would definitely do the second one).

The dorm was quit decent - although its close the Parque lleras it was not particularly noisy. The bed was comfortable but didn't feel at all stable. As I was sleeping on the top bed, at least I felt reassured it was not me who was going to be crushed if it fell apart. A guy staying in the bed next to mine actually had to pieces of wood falling from the top bed while sleeping in the bottom one. Also, in case it ever gets hot in Medellin I believe the lack of an air condition would be a problem. However, this was only a minor issue when I visited. The showers are great and it all is pretty clean.

The common areas are very good as there are two roof top terraces, one with a small dipping pool and another with hammocks, as well as covered terrace, kitchen, dining room and a room with a pool table. Not surprisingly the atmosphere was great - plenty of content and nice travelers to spend time with.

I would happily stay at Casa Kiwi again.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hfor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaKiwiHostel, Owner at Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Hola! Thanks for your recommendation, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your bunk bed, yeaaaa... I'm pretty sure I know which room/bed you were in. That one was pretty sketchy to say the least. ;) We've had it fixed since then, bolted to the wall, that did the trick. Happy travels and hopefully see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews