We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalian Natural History Museum
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Review Highlights
Interesting if you are fan of natural history

This place is nice to visit either when you are fan of natural history or if it is too hot outside... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2018
leozahradnik
,
Bratislava, Slovakia
Interesting Museum

This museum was relocated to a new area beside the sea in 1998. The museum has a theme called... read more

Reviewed 20 August 2017
keentraveller27
,
Hyderabad, India
Read all 82 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
27
40
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
40
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

This place is nice to visit either when you are fan of natural history or if it is too hot outside and you want to spend couple hours. Take metro line 1 to Heishijiao station and than take bus 523 to the terminal station - Natural history museum.
Museum is free, you should show your passport at entry.
Nice exhibition of marine mammals, fishes, as well as small exhibition of dinosaur.
Most of the labels are in English.
Museum is not too large, you can spend 1-2 hours in there. There is also a small area for kids when they can play.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank leozahradnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This museum was relocated to a new area beside the sea in 1998. The museum has a theme called Nature and Man.It has several species from biological, marine and animal world. It is very educative too. There are several paper mache statues of animals and birds.The building has a beautiful architecture and faces the beautiful sea. A good place to see, walk about. It is not easy to get a taxi here so one has to walk right to the main road to get a taxi. The museum entry is free.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank keentraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The museum is located on the Blackrock Reef shore, where people can feel the sea breeze blowing and listen to the song of the sea waves. There are total 12 exhibition halls in the museum, the animal specimens displayed inside are the most in China. When people are looking at the fossils or models of those rare animals, such as psittacosaurus ("parrot lizard") and black right whale, they can learn how an unique animal is born, alive, and extinct then. It's worth to see because Dalian is the southernmost city in Liaoning province and its three sides face toward the oceans. Therefore, the types of marine plants and animals are the most in China. Besides, the museum is look like an England kingdom, it's a beautiful sight with the large shore there. Sometimes, there may be some people collecting many pieces of kelp. No matter you are inside or outside the Dalian Natural History Museum, you can breathe with the nature there.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank BelindaC1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

It was amazing place with large of sea activities dolphins shows aquarium and many many things cinema and 3d show and special things about sea and the history of sea also amazing shops and good foods

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank travelSalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The have lots of life sized paper mache sculptures of animals. The information is both in English and Chinese. Nothing spectacular but it is free.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank aiechenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews