We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalian Natural History Museum
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Review Highlights
interesting visit, but very little English explanation

Free, a good 2 hours' worth of visit, Very well laid out, excellent toilets, but very little... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
Mark M
,
Rivieres, France
Interesting if you are fan of natural history

This place is nice to visit either when you are fan of natural history or if it is too hot outside... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2018
leozahradnik
,
Bratislava, Slovakia
Read all 82 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
27
40
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
40
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Excellent!! Quite a place with exhibits of dinosaurs, African mammals, insects and marine life. Also has geological section with information about different types of rocks, good for tourists, students and children. P. S. Entry is free, but, please bring your ID card or passport, has free wifi!!!!!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Nishantop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit if you're a museum lover. The museum isn't huge but there is plenty to see. Most displays have the titles in English and Chinese, however the descriptions are in Chinese.

Entry was free and I didn't need to make a reservation. I found the museum well looked after and clean. There are a lot of interesting displays to see (even a dinosaur hall). The museum isn't massive so an hour or two, you should be able to see everything, depending how fast you walk and how many pictures you take.

If you have a few hours to kill pop in at the Natural History Museum and take a walk along the sea side after. Don't forget the downstairs section on Africa :)

Bus 16 last stop Dalian Ocean University

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank 410mandyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I went on during the busy National Day holiday to find this place closed. My Chinese isn't too great so I couldn't figure out why. Maybe it will reopen again soon?

Date of experience: October 2013
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Free and exceedingly well located, It is really fine although some of the atractions seem a bit dusty and unattended, and the lack of english info makes things a bit hard for non-chinese readers. Good choice for kids as well as adults. Choose a sunny day and enjoy Dalian beach view, and the fine houses around it.

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank VinnieP319
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The huge whale display seems unattended, children can play without any supervision from the museum site, even the adults sometimes can touch it. However the building looks great from the outside, and the scenery around the building is nice, if you have children you can play kite, maze, or roller skate outside the museum. It is free to enter the museum, you can register on the website one day before visiting the museum.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank LindaDots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews