We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CirqueTraveler
Bato, Philippines

Nice resort

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Sept 2018
Nice resort for a relaxed vacation. It has different hotels. We were in Buddha Tower in spacious rooms.
We enjoyed our stay for 4 nights and we didn't feel the need to leave the resort. Plenty of restaurants and a great swimming pool.
I think we were in the quiet time and I can only imagine this place when it is crowded with Chinese families... Better to come during the quiet times...
English speaking staff is very limited but that didn't bother us. You are in China and we don't expect people to speak English. There were a few English speaking staff members on hand to help.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
$191
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $188
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Vio.com
    $188
4.3 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Overview of Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
$361
  • Expedia.com
    $402
  • Hotels.com
    $402
  • Trip.com
    $390
9.4 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Pool
Beachfront
$213
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $232
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Hotels.com
    $232
8.5 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$88
  • Trip.com
    $91
  • Agoda.com
    $97
  • eDreams
    $88
7.7 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
$412
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $413
  • Hotels.com
    $413
  • Priceline
    $412
15.6 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$121
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    $139
  • Vio.com
    $118
  • Agoda.com
    $122
7.8 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
豪华海景房
$96
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Trip.com
    $89
  • Agoda.com
    $105
8.0 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort Day View
$301
  • Expedia.com
    $328
  • Priceline
    $301
  • Hotels.com
    $328
29.1 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$136
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $124
  • Trip.com
    $55
  • Agoda.com
    $120
7.6 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$625
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $655
  • Trip.com
    $614
  • Hotels.com
    $625
27.6 km from Mangrove Tree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sanya
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveller rating
500
602
78
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
500
602
78
19
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

This is a great resort with fantastic spacious rooms, the food was also high quality with a great selection at each meal. There was an opportunity to try local food also. The level of service was also high whilst at times you need patience as service was slow due to poor understanding of english however when service came it was excellent. It was not next to the beach but the pool was high quality.

Room tip: Go for a quality room
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2017

The hotel is actually a complex of many hotels including a theme park for kids. We were there at a quiet time of year so the resort was not overly crowded. We found the restaurants to be average at best and the service below average for a resort environment. We ate at the Thai and the Korean BBQ restaurant. Both restaurants did not have all selections available that we requested. The breakfast was average as well.
We were there with off season rates so some of our issues most likely go away when they are geared up for higher occupancy. Baby good alternatives for Chinese food with better prices are within 5 - 10 minute walk.

Room tip: It is all about price and view since they have many hotels on premise
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 820deanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. The rooms were modern and clean. The atmosphere was great. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection. The beach was very nice. We went in June and there were nice waves, although a couple of the days the flag was red and we weren't allowed out past our knees. It was very hot in June and the air conditioning could have worked better. We ate only at the restaurant in the bar area. It was expensive but the food was decent. The Le Floret shopping center was nearby, within walking distance where you can find McDonalds, Pizza Hut, and inexpensive convenient stores.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sclowe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Negative surprise, not what expected for the money and the ranking.
You are advised to spend a minute and check the address of the hotel is right (Expedia has wrong address, there are 2 Mangrove hotels, to the other one is their main hub /exhibition center, in Sanya Bay, ). Their staff did not care ... This caused BIG trouble to me. I arrived before midnight and the hotel manager did not accept my confirmed, paid reservation by Expedia insisting she could not find the reservation (I had right hotel name at Yalong Bay, correct prices, paid, correct description, address was though to their main hub 30km away).

Very unprofessionally, hostile met, not problem solving, bad management style, they did not want to make a call to Expedia. I called and re-confirmed, the hotel was still insisting no reservation. I ended up transported at 3.30 AM to the other hotel for 3 hours sleep with the promise "no need to pay for this first overnight", to be treated with dinner the day after and all problems solved since I had prepaid.
- All these promises turned to be lies. The day after I had to pay to avoid complications (my passport was copied, . etc..)
Finally, I had no other option that to go back this hotel, all others at Yalong Bay fully booked.
Well, Yalong Bay Mangrove tree resort is Absolutely not comparable to all other newer resorts in the neighborhood, same beach (MGM, Sheraton, Marriot, Hilton, Mandarin, Ritz, ..), I visited them. This is definitely the oldest resort in the row along the Yalong beach, with need for refurnishing (furniture, enterior, bathrooms, hard beds and mattresses, missing hair dryers, and old brick-corridors).
- Not easy to communicate in English.
- very noisy breakfast, not clean tables, food everywhere on floor outdoors.
- Tennis court very old, damaged, need to pay
- BBQ hotpot dinner is a joke for the money, mainly not the seafood BBQ you can expect for 350 RMB *mostly fried fish, a few shrimps, small crab,.. This is rather a hotpot meal, not a BBQ meal.
This is not a business hotel, it is rather for water- and tea-drinking Chinese families with small kids. No services around the swimming pools, other than water/tea/towels. There is no pool-bar with something eatable, beverages (cola, soda, ..), beer, spirits, ..
On the plus-side is location to the center and the beach, nothing special, but better than other hotels. No services there.
- I CANNOT recommend this hotel to western people, it is overprised, old and poor in services.

Room tip: Room with Seaview,
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank George999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, good rooms and modern. The beach area is ok but there are much better beach's in the world. As for the pool, despite the no spitting signs around the pool, for some reason some people still did it and staff did nothing about it. If staff were to follow up when seeing such disregard, the stay would have been more enjoyable. Food at the hotel was very good and bar service was also very good.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NMBTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews