We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JayZee33
Toronto, Canada

Outstanding resort for families with great service

Review of Resort Horizon
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jul 2021via mobile
This was our second time staying at Resort Horizon. It is a fantastic place for families with children. Our kids are 10 and 6, and they loved it. Lots of fun activities, water slides, and evening shows at the dinners. The service is excellent in many capacities. Friendly check-in, even with some limited english. Cleaning staff were wonderful and helped with any small requests. Breakfast is located in a few places. Very busy but efficient and huge variety of choices. Our second visit we booked a larger and more expensive room, but this came with the VIP tag, which allowed for a quieter breakfast experience. Also snacks in the afternoon along with red-wine free flow from 5-6. They offer a bar BQ dinner a couple nights of the week along with a seafood hotpot each night. Both are excellent and all inclusive. The manager William was extremely accommodating and does a wonderful job with his staff. They work hard for your enjoyment. Lots of families with children so it can be very busy but you can find quiet areas if you choose, as the property is enormous. It quits down. During nap time for the small kids. Located across the street are many restaurants and a convenience store. Also a playground around the corner which was fun one night. All in all an amazing place for a vacation in a beautiful spot on the beach. Highly recommended for some family fun. We will be back. Thank you William and staff!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Overview of Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
$469
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $469
  • Booking.com
11.3 km from Resort Horizon
Pool
Beachfront
$173
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
13.7 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort Day View
$301
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $301
19.9 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
$596
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $596
  • Booking.com
15.5 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ocean and garden view
$229
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    $229
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
$121
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $121
  • Booking.com
28.5 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
$152
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $152
26.1 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $222
14.7 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $488
  • ZenHotels.com
    $482
  • Booking.com
17.8 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $213
  • eDreams
20.9 km from Resort Horizon
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sanya
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
659
648
80
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
659
648
80
14
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2019 via mobile

This hotel is not the money worth. we are really not so picky but as western person I have to say it is the worst hotel I have been in Asia. We arrived at 11pm, nobody was waiting at the reception and it took us 25 min to check in. The bell boy did not considered to help with the luaggage nor did he show us the room. At the elevator “Good luck” find your room yourself. The rooms are old . They are really old and not adequate for the price you pay. Beds are ok. The next shock came at the breakfast. If your expecting a certain presentation of the breakfast, you will fail. It is just there put on the tresen without any sense of presentation. Coffemachine and toaster are that slow that there huge queues of people who are waiting. The garden area is nice for kids but what is really really strange is that you need to Pay !!! for the kids activities. Pool slides, climbng racks are not for free. you have to pay up to 90 Rmb. The staff speaks bearly English and when we complained they tried to help but did not get the point why we are so unhappy.
Kids will love it due to the playgrounds, western adults will hate it ! I really hope to warn people here. There are other good alternatives in Hainan. Do not chose this hotel!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank volker k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2019

Last year ,we went to Sanya with my parents and lived in the hotel. The hotel itself offers a good view of the sea that can be seen while dining at the western restaurant. It has two swimming pools and big beach.so we decided to play on the beach near the hotel. The sea was cool , we ate the seafood buffet, it was very delicious, we went to swimming pool in the afternoon , the water is worm and we felt very comfortable,it is a great choice to live in the hotel,children had a great time they do not need anything else,we also like the hotel.thanks!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sundongn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel has aged significantly and becomes a hotel for young families with pre-school children, together with their old grandparents. Mini bar is empty, no bar remains open and whole hotel is dead after 2200. Coffee shop offers junk food in the night.
Many details are designed to entertain Chinese children, ponies, parrots, ostrich, and many playgrounds.
The breakfast is focusing on Chinese tastes and offers little for international guests.
Staffs are friendly, but rather too relaxed.
My bathroom has no door, but only a certain, separating toilet to sleeping room, neither noise nor smell.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Tao-is-Tao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Just been to this hotel with 2 children, 4 & 10, it's a great choice. Close to beach, plenty swimming pools, children had a great time they don't rally need anything else. Also the kid's club and all play area are great! Thanks.

Room tip: even mountain view rooms are good, spacious etc
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The hotel itself offers a good view of the sea that can be seen while dining at the western restaurant. Well maintained garden with different flowers, you can just stroll around the garden under the coconut trees. the only thing that get my attention was the staff service who would rather say NO to you than help you. I wasnt feeling good and asked someone from the restaurant if possible to grab few bread back to my room but i was told it wasn't allowed for takeaway specially during breakfast. I understand this part, but as I told earlier I wasn't really in good shape and prefer to just stay in my room.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLazyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews