We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
zzzSleepyzzz
Singapore, Singapore

Old hotel very popular with Russians

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2017
The hotel is near the airport, I could hear planes flying overhead quite often. It's not loud enough to disturb me. The area near Villa A and B has a sewage smell. I stayed at Villa C which was less obvious. Villa C is rather quiet as away from the roads. There are lots of mozzies, so bring mosquito repellent. The hotel serves mainly Russian and Chinese guesst, I think there are more Russians than Chinese. Most people don't speak English. There is an English speaking guide called Jacky whom my friend spoke with. It was Ok for me since I speak Chinese. Quite a no. of the people at the hotel speak Russian. The hotel is old, even the taxi driver who drove me to the hotel told me so. The aircon is not too noisy, it's quite cool. The hair dryer is old. I used my own hair dryer. There are 2 sections of the hotel separated by a road. On one section there is the reception area with rooms on upper floors with lift access. There are 3 stories "villa" with rooms without lifts, around the pools. The other section had "villas" without lifts. This section is nearer the beach. The pool at this section is bigger and more children play there. There is a road to cross before reaching the beach. Staying near roads is not good if you prefer peace and quiet. Drivers in Sanya love to honk all the time. The beach in front of the hotel is much quieter compared to DaDongHai and YaLong. Food at the hotel is not great. I walked about 20mins to Wydum hotel which serves really good Chinese food. The nearby bus stop has bus no. 25 which will go to Yalong beach at one end and Nanshan Temple at the other end. If you dont speak Chinese, safer not to take the public bus. The bus dont necessay stop at every stop, you have to shout to the driver to request to stop. It took me a while to get taxi to airport (RMB20) as the hotel was too near and the taxi drivers did not want to take me. It is easy to get taxi to go to the attractions as they are usually on the road in front of the main lobby. The area feels safe, walking around the area along solo (female) after sunset is fine.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$207
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $207
12.4 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$129
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
12.7 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Overview of Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
$450
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $450
  • Booking.com
14.9 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Pool
Beachfront
$113
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $113
  • Booking.com
4.5 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$603
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $603
  • Booking.com
22.5 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort Day View
$240
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $240
36.1 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ocean and garden view
$225
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Marriott Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
23.1 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
$121
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $121
2.0 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $153
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $610
  • ZenHotels.com
    $602
  • Booking.com
34.8 km from Palm Beach Resort And Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sanya
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
88
156
55
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
156
55
23
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Besides the facilities somehow in need of refurbishment, and the noise to an intolerable level, you can hardly find any hotel staff who speaks English. It may have been still ok - some basic needs can still be communicated by body languages. What is disappointing is that they were just evasive of any request they could not understand - turn away and doing something else, pretending that they didn't hear me. Unless you speak Chinese or Russian, you cannot expect any decent response that you might expect at a hotel.

Room tip: must speak Chinese or Russian!
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Although the staff of this hotel tries hard to give their resort a kind of luxury glow, most of their efforts get lost in the noise and chaos caused by young wealthy Chinese couples and their offspring. Overspoiled babies and kids cause hammock at the diner and breakfast halls and most of the staff isn't able to speak English as on international scale. For my opinion, this is a hotel that tries hard to play in the international tourist sceme but is terribly stuck on an average sad Chinese level.

Room tip: Kamers aan de strandkant zijn zowieso rustiger en dan heb je minder last van de kindergekke Chinese gezinnen...
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmekeLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

There is nothing special at this resort but all the basics are covered.

The pool is a good size as well the kids pool is heated.

Rooms are big and clean BUT the bed is really hard. I am a seasoned traveler within China and seen a lot but these beds are the hardest of a kind I've experienced. The only help was putting your blanket underneath and sleeping with a sheet.
I still wonder why chinese hotels who are willing to serve non-mainland guests do not offer extra matrasses ? They would get so much appreciation for doing so.

The breakfast was mainly chinese but a good one. We never had anything else in the main building restaurant so I can't comment on that. There is also grill and noodle bar next to the pool open from late afternoon and the both the noodles and the grilled fish were good enough however nothing special.

There is one extra feature at the hotel which may come useful for western travellers and its the russian restaurant "Oasis" hidden in the basement under the small shop just outside the main building. Besides serving some chinese classisc it offers good quality russian homemade dishes. As our 6-year-old did not find any chinese food besides rice eatable this restaurant became a lifesaver. We fed our kid there before heading downtown for the faboulous seafood for ourselves.

The beach is good enough but definately not close to any known good beaches - but I have seen much worse elsewhere.
But - if you are on a China trip and you would like to include 4-5 days beach holiday to your itinerary it will do.

Don't mind the red flags at the beach - nobody is following the situation and they are not changed however calm the sea is.

Overall you get exactly what you pay for - its not an expensive resort and should be taken as such.

Date of stay: December 2014
Thank Madis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We are Canadians living in Beijing, China. This is a good property for people who want to relax and spend time with their travel companions...NOT a night spot or partier locale. We have traveled quite a bit. The beds at this resort are SO BAD. China has hard beds, but these are beyond hard. They are lumpy. Once I started putting couch cushions under me, I did better. All the beds are the same at this resort...come prepared. Our Beijing travel agent called the property to get them to give us extra blankets for UNDER us. If that is ok with you, then...the property is a bit dated, but the grounds are still quite lovely and well kept. The beach is expansive and very swimable, including for children...no strong undertow, lots of beach space, clean. The quads are a bit annoying. The beach is public, but vendors only ask once. They are not pests. Housekeeping was excellent. This is not a service hotel. Buffet breakfast is ok there are both western and asian options...the food is cold sometimes, but there is an attempt at western options. Be brave and try the Chinese breakfast, and you might be pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is pretty much serve-yourself, and there is no beach bar to speak of. China is not a coffee country...we brought our own coffee, grinder, and french press. There is approximately one person on staff (no exaggeration) who speaks English, so you will make do with charades a lot. The spa treatment rooms are beautiful, the services themselves are pretty good, though a bit more expensive than China standard, still cheap as compared to North American. The languages spoken here are Mandarin and Russian (everyone tried to speak to us in Russian). At night, we had our HDMI cable and movies we brought...not a lot to do after dinner unless you go to the city or to a big club. A lot of people commented on all the Russian tourists...actually everyone we met was from Khazakstan, not Russia...but anyway, they were lovely. They were friendly, quiet and private and NOT annoying. A short tuk tuk ride away is a bit of shopping, but it only costs about $4.00 USD to take a cab into the city if you want to shop. The pools are nice, but not heated, so be careful if you are travelling in December or January. The weather is nice, but not my accustomed "tropical" temperatures. People complain about the expense of Sanya, but we did not find that. We stayed away from Yalong Bay though, to avoid the financial gouge. There is plenty of cheap fruit available, including very fresh young coconut water, papaya, mango, rambutan, dragon fruit, black grapes, bananas, pineapple, and the MOST delicious and flavorful oranges we have ever had. The Coconut Groves restaurant sells tasty Chinese food, but the real deal is on the beach after 18:30, where fresh seafood barbeque, noodles, and fresh barbequed vegetables are a STEAL of a deal. Last night, we ate two bowls of stirfried noodles, five fish, two rays, a squid, stirfried greens,bbq corn, eggplant, mushrooms, taro chips, 4 skewers of scallops, 3 of beef, and oysters for around 30.00 USD...that is for three people. Cabs are even cheaper than they are in Beijing, and fairly easy to find. We also enjoyed going to the Nantian Hot Springs. We took a one hour cab ride there that cost about 25.00 USD. Both of us enjoyed that trip, as did our nine year old. Overall this was a nice getaway and we enjoyed our nine days a lot, but the hotel could easily make some simple upgrades to turn this stay from an Average experience, to Excellent.

Room tip: pay the extra for the ocean view
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarieJEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2013

First time staying at this hotel was in 2007, and the resort, restaurants, amenities, including bowling alleys, pool & snooker tables, etc, we overall excellent, and a great value for money. Stayed several times from 2007 to 2009, and each time was great.

Unfortunately, recently returned, and the hotel upkeep / maintenance had massively gone downhill, all of the amenities (apart from the pools) were closed, and the restaurant food was the worst.

Would possibly go back again if only for a couple of nights, but wouldn't even waste time with the breakfast.

Room tip: Get a villa, as they are much nicer, quite, and don't smell like the standard hotel rooms do.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews