We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bachelor8

Fantastic!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2024
This resort was next to duty-free mall and provided free shuttle bus to and from airport. I received a room upgrade to a family suite which was luxurious and comfortable. Lagoon pool and canal pool was very spacious, and you can swim and kayaking there. Breakfast was affluent and various. Don't miss the rooftop pool and bar on the 9th floor!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort Day View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $274
  • Priceline
0.7 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Overview of Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $410
  • Priceline
28.4 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $221
  • Priceline
31.2 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Priceline
30.2 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $579
  • Booking.com
24.8 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$488
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $488
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ocean and garden view
$244
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
20.2 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $635
  • Booking.com
31.4 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $121
  • Booking.com
40.0 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $159
  • Booking.com
37.4 km from The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sanya
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
182
45
22
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
182
45
22
14
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2023 via mobile

Great hotel with great staff , spacious rooms and good food in the restaurant . I was here for a conference and it was so nice to stay here I loved it . The room was so nice and spacious . The staff are some warm and welcoming and where so professional . I totally recommend this hotel which is also very comfortable we to the tax free mall .

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JaimePG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2021 via mobile

The brand has reputation and impression to us. We have visited several Westins both in-China and overseas, I would say Sanya Haitangwan Westin is not among the best.

When we were checking in, there were only two counters opening, we are a family with two elder members and a toddler who she was very sleepy, although some staff behind the counter seemed not so busy, nobody offered a checking-in or help. Finally it was our turn, to be honest, I really cannot feel welcome and friendliness or warmth from the girl behind the counter, it seemed that our presence bothered her somehow or she might had a bad day? I knew her name and talked to her about her attitude at the scene but I'd prefer not mention it here. Just want to point it out this definitely was not a pleasant feeling or any enjoyment.

Pros: foods and cuisines are delicious especially in the Chinese restaurant, facilities looks new and clean.

Cons: not so family-friendly, esp with kids, i.e lack of bib in restaurant or children toothbrush in room etc; some of the facilities are not well maintained, like the bed mattress is very damp and humid ( caused last night very uncomfortable luckily we only stay one night), water pressure is just ok; some of the staff are not so friendly and professional.

Room tip: Try avoid Chinese public holidays For food and fancy environment, come; for service, go somewhere else, like Shangri-la.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank collinccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PR Manager, Marketing at The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all your comments and suggestions, especially about the service and facilities issues. This is very important to us to improve the product that we offer to our guests. We do hope to serve you again and to see our improvement per your comments.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021

Seriously? The cocktails were like fruit juice and every spirit tasted like Moutai, but without the inebriation.

We complained at the first instance and got the item taken of the bill, foolishly we continued to order twice more throughout our stay and experience near identical rresults - what does management have to say about the fact that the alcohol is alcohol-free?

Food was good, and so was service, but the service HAD to be good in order to make up for the number of shortfalls - dingy, bad-smelling first room; poor turn-down service; a memember of the management of cleaning staff turned up unnanounced and proceeded to barge her way into the room to check everything; slow check-in; the spa smelled terrible and the massage was average at best; no towels at the pool...

The room was nice and the convenience of being next to the CDF place was great for my wife, but beyond that, there's nothing much to recommend about the Westin Haitang Bay.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narsfweasels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PR Manager, Marketing at The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all your comments and suggestions, especially about the beverage issues. This is very important to us to improve the product that we offer to our guests. We do hope to serve you again and to see our improvement per your comments.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

As a VIP member, the reason for writing this letter is due to the disappointing experience and service I have received during my stay from 2021/02/11 to 2021/02/14. I shall explain the terrible experience in the below information.

To reduce the risk of Covid-19 transmission, my wife and I have decided to celebrate our honeymoon by staying in your hotel in Sanya Haitang Bay instead of travelling overseas. After confirming the booking, I have received an email from the Experience Specialist Ms H with information mentioning the special offers provided to us as the ‘VIP members’.

As the exchanged emails, I have clearly mentioned that we are travelling to celebrate our honeymoon and expect to receive high-quality service, which your hotel normally provides. In the emails, services such as simply decorating the room was offered and promised. Due to the event's importance, I have also called the hotel to double-check if things were organised as the planned arrangements. Therefore, I have always believed that the upcoming experience would be as good as the previous ones. But unfortunately, not a single thing was ‘right’ or considered as ‘satisfying’. We did not receive any promised or mentioned offers.

We have checked-in 2 hours late due to the traffic but informed of the delaying arrival. After checking-in, my wife and I have walked into our room filled with anticipation; however, we were totally disappointed. The room had a mouldy smell, was not decorated as promised, there was no welcoming fruits or drinks, and the ocean view room was not even considered a room that obtains ‘ocean views’.

Due to the major difference to our expectation (which we were only expecting the promised/offered or even standard service that we’ve usually receive), we had to visit reception and figure out whether there was a mistake. However, after speaking to Ms. H (VIP Service Manager/ Experience Specialist), the given reason was a simple ‘didn’t have enough time to prepare the rooms as requested’. And

Under the premise that we’ve been late for 2 hours, we believe that there should be extra time to complete the promised offers. Or even to mention the situation during the check-in stage. This makes the reason unacceptable, but Ms H left the reception without sorting our unsatisfaction.

Due to the planned schedules we have and the endless wait for Ms H to return, my wife and I have decided to leave for our event and return afterwards. We received a call manager’s phone call during the afternoon, telling us that we can to change rooms, just see reception when we returned to the hotel. Although the start of the experience was not pleasant, we were glad that there were some rearrangements.

Therefore, my wife and I have visited reception on our way back to the room to swap for the new room keys. But surprisingly, the receptionist told us that NO ONE MENTIONED THIS. We don’t understand why there was an issue for the manager to mention the upcoming changes to the staff members working on that shift. Hence, we kindly asked if it was possible to check our booking details, and the receptionist could not even find the correct room type we were staying in. We have further waited patiently for over 20 minutes and finally got the new room key.

All these unpleasant experiences mentioned above have happened only in a few hours, between us checking-in at 4 pm and us returning from the event at night. Furthermore, the following days were as unbearable as the first day.

We did not receive our VIP membership discount while dining in the cafeteria in the Hotel, which the waiter had explained to us that was a command from related departments. Moreover, there were two coconuts in the little fridge in our room, which was leaking, and the coconut juice was all over the place. The housekeeping team took all the shampoos, conditioners and body washes and left us a used razor, which didn’t make any sense. The robot in the hotel even hit my wife while moving, which gladly no serious injuries were caused.

It was the most awful and dreadful experience staying in one of a hotel under Marriott Group.

And so many thanks for destroy our Honeymoon vocation !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room tip: Poor service
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jerrykao11166
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PR Manager, Marketing at The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all your comments and suggestions, especially about the service issues. This is very important to us to improve the product that we offer to our guests. We do hope to serve you again and to see our improvement per your comments.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020

large, convenient rooms with open view on the ocean.
Resort hardware is very functional, well maintained, yet may lack charm.
the two pools are large and very kids friendly.
walking distance from the monkey Island and a floating fish farm village - great to escape with kids and have lunch at the seafood market.

Room tip: located nearby the lobby elevator
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregoire_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PR Manager, Marketing at The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you are satisfy with our resort as well as facilities.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews