We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andrew
Calexico, California

MGM Grand Sanya πŸ‡¨πŸ‡³

Review of MGM Grand Sanya
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jul 2022via mobile
The room was very nice and the staff was always friendly and ready to help. The MGM buffet was my favorite. The business meeting accommodated me and made feel very welcomed. There is a nice ocean view in the suite I got. Over all it was a great stay.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Overview of Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
$449
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $449
  • Booking.com
    $388
  • Vio.com
10.6 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Pool
Beachfront
$129
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
    $129
  • Tripadvisor
    $129
13.0 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
$190
  • Expedia.com
    $206
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $206
14.0 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
$67
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $58
  • Vio.com
12.3 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort Day View
$220
  • Expedia.com
    $239
  • Hotels.com
    $239
  • Priceline
20.4 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
$487
  • Expedia.com
    $486
  • Hotels.com
    $486
  • Tripadvisor
    $486
18.3 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$153
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $153
20.3 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
θ±ͺεŽζ΅·ζ™―ζˆΏ
$77
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $77
11.5 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
$113
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $113
  • Booking.com
27.8 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $76
  • Vio.com
11.8 km from MGM Grand Sanya
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sanya
Reviews (11,483)
Filter reviews
11,519 results
Traveller rating
11,239
187
57
17
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11,239
187
57
17
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 11,519 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

The facilities are nice but there are some glaring customer service issues.

Our family of four stayed here for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the pool and easy access to the beach. The garden family friendly room with a balconly. We ate the buffet breakfast each morning and bought the "Gourmet Treat" package which offered lunch at the Silk, afternoon tea and buffet dinner + a show next to the pool. The hotel is located in the resort section on Sanya in Yalong Bay. There is a small town nearby with local food and fast food options as well as shopping.

We will not return to this hotel.
Our major issue is that they offer a shuttle service to the airport. We spent more than 30 minutes filling out a form that was all in chinese to secure our spot. Two days later on the morning we were flying out they told us that they couldn't confirm our reservation and the bus was now full. So we were forced to reserve an earlier shuttle that would get us to the airport several hours too early. We canceled some of our plans because we now had to leave early. Upon arrival, the shuttke bus we were scheduled to use was also full and not one of the staff could explain what happened to our seat reservations. We ended up taking a Didi for Β₯100 to the airport to avoid anymore headache with this situation. This experience was very frustrating and made us decide to not come back to this hotel again.

The Room:
It is huge! It had a kids space with a small tent and Minion themed decor. The shower is large and separate from the toilet and there is a big bath tub. The balcony was a good size and overlooked a small pool and green area. The room was very quiet and met our needs.

The Breakfast
They made an attempt to offer Western options by providing, premade waffles/pancakes, an omelet station, fried eggs, cereal, cheese, bread/toast, and coffee machines. There are also lots of local options such as a soup station, noodles, steamed buns, sweet sausages, boiled and baked eggs, porridge, and fruit.

The Gourmet Treat:
The kids really enjoyed the tea time as it includes lots of fancily decorated sweets and they liked to try each one. The lunch at Silk was very good and the service was good. It fed the whole family and included two soups, grouper, fried shrimp, clams, picked and steamed veggies and stir fried mushrooms. Just be careful about ordering anything beyond the set menu as they will charge you for it. We ordered some watermelon juice for the kids and two small glasses cost us $13.50.

The dinner and a show.
People started claiming their table at around 5:30 in order to have a good view for the show. The dinner buffet last from about 6-9pm. It includes grilled meats like lamb, pork, chicken, beef skewers, sausages, grilled mushrooms and pinnacles. There was also several types of crawfish and a few sushi options. The only good sashimi option was the salmon. The others were the fake sashimi made out of fish eggs pressed together. The show is fantastic. They had dancers and a fire show. The singing wasn't always great.

The minor Issues we had.
We were in contact with a hotel representative to make entertainment reservations. She was very helpful at first but then she stopped responding to messages for days at a time and then was very inconsistent with her responses.
The next issue we had was the staff ignoring the do not disturb sign. They walked in while the kids were sleeping and pretty much insisted on making up the room on several other occasions. We don't really need new towels each day and can make our own beds so we kept the sign up but they kept pushing in.

Some of the facilities are damaged or out of order. The floor of the kids' water park is severely distorted and cracked. My kids kept tripping on it and we are not having fun. They advertise an obstacle course out in the ocean but it was closed the whole time we were there. The children's block area is designed for babies.

My last complaint is at the beach the life guard was overprotective. There is a designated swimming area blocked off by rope and bouys and if you get withing 10 feet of the rope the life guard blows the whistle and uses the megaphone to tell you to get away. This is also annoying when you are trying to relax on the beach.

Room tip: Avoid the shuttle service or make sure you have a written confirmation. Otherwise there is no guarantee that your seat won't be given away.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mrmathsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2020

From the moment we checked in, Caroline at the front desk took such great care of us! It was my wife's birthday, and Caroline made sure everything was perfect--floral arrangements, chocolates, and even a birthday cake! We stayed in the family suite and had plenty of room for our family of seven. The huge balcony overlooking the ocean was a perfect place to start and end our day. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the service was exceptional. It was amazing to walk right out to a private beach (one of the only beaches open for swimming year round) or to enjoy one of the many pools (our kids' favorite was the pool with free soda and inflatable swans:). The breakfast was one of the best western breakfasts we've had in our 11 years in Asia. Be sure to go early (huge discount and no crowds). They upgraded us to the presidential suite our last night and that spectacular. One of our best beach vacations ever. Rachel at the front desk was also very helpful and mailed us something we left behind. We're definitely coming back to MGM Grand Sanya!

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank V908OXtraviss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2019

This is a relatively new and luxurious hotel in Yalong Bay, Sanya, China. We were here for 3 nights. We were originally slated to be here for 5 nights but we decided to check out earlier and went to the nearby Marriott instead for the rest of our stay. In room humidity is a major problem and it is not corrected by dehumidifier in the room. The TV in the room is very small and does not contain HD content. Of course, most people are here for the beach and what not but somehow this small TV without HD content just does not go along with a luxury hotel such as this. Restaurants are very expensive and quality of food does not synchronize with the price you pay. Service is also mediocre and nothing is ever done about longlines at the front desk serving people checking in and out. Overall, quite disappointed with this hotel and likely would not return should our travels take us to Sanya again in the future.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CekayFarnsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

Quite possibly the worst service I've ever experienced in a hospitality establishment. Even more disappointing was that this was a branded hotel and I expected at least the bare min in terms of service.

1. Rooms were poorly designed. The shower and bathtubs do not drain properly and if you aren't completely aware at all times you'd find your WHOLE bathroom drenched. The drainage was poorly done.
2. Poor lighting in the room.
3. Lack of typical things as simple as a "do not disturb" sign.
4. Instructed the staff not to clean and they still did it anyway.
5. Originally asked for an early check in. Did not get a reply. It's ok. Arrived at the hotel and asked for it again. Told that they will arrange for it. Waited for 2 hours and was shown to a room. An hour later, was bombarded with calls from the reception saying that we're in the wrong room and had to change. Claiming as well that they didn't have my records and needed to see and do it all again. Amazing as we just did it an hour ago. Was asked to change rooms and offered help to do so. We agreed but after we were done showering etc as we were in the middle of it. When the time came to change rooms, nobody came to help and we had to go down do it all ourselves and to our pleasant surprise was changed to a room pretty much right freaking next to the one we were in. Great. What a waste of time and effort on the guest.
6. Ordered room service. Guy could not communicate at all and was pretty much pointing and demanding doe tips in a incredibly rude way. He didn't even freaking put down the food properly yet. Absolutely horrible.
7. Staff all in general spoke in a incredibly rude manner. Was almost no help at all when we were asking for things like directions as well.
8. The hotel had a severe lack of signage.

Conclusion? When in Sanya. Spend the money on a better hotel. We went to the other hotels for a meal and service was a billion times better.

MGM did not spend time nor make an effort in properly training their staff. They were uninterested, unwilling and not friendly. They were tip driven and were simply not hospitable. I believe the positive reviews have to be from fake reviewers or big tippers.

The food, service aside was good.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank E666777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

First time to Sanya, recommended MGM Grand by family. It’s a very impressive hotel when you walk in to the lobby. It’s located at Yalong Bay, a lot greenery, 2minutes to the beach.

The rooms are huge, very space and, this is what style of Vegas MGM.

Tried the Poolside BBQ parties buffet, many variety of foods, from Cold Seafood, Chinese, Japanese, al different kinds of foods, plus fresh BBQ beef, pork, Lamb, oysters, many kinds of vegetables, also my flavour Chicken WingsπŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹.

Drinks, many choices including the unlimited Draught Beer. Coffee of course.

The M show starts around 7pm, many kinds of performances, singing, dancing, magic shows etc... making the family and kids so high.... the MC is also amazing, Funny talks.

I think next time will go with family for relaxing 3 or 4 days, stay there enjoy the food, fun, water sports etc.... looking forward, come back again. 😁😁😁

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 168nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews