We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nikki S
Beijing, China

Excellent Service in Haitang Bay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2020
This is my second stay at this hotel and it was even better than the first time. I have to attribute my enjoyment to the relaxing environment, the buffet breakfast, and the attentiveness of the staff. In particular I have to call attention to two staff members in particular: David and Penny. David was very helpful in helping me to reserve my Christmas buffet dinner, which was delicious, and this was crucial in helping me to enjoy my holiday. He even gave me his contact information and offered his help if I needed anything further. I do wish the system for reserving the dinners was in English so that I could have ordered it correctly. At one point, I accidentally ordered a dinner for two by accident at the wrong restaurant because it was in Chinese and the translation I used was incorrect. However Penny was the staff member that helped me the most during my stay. Whenever I needed anything, she was always available and willing to help at any time of the day. When I needed to go to the hospital for my nucleic acid test, she helped me with questions and found out all the information I needed before going. She called taxis for me and even checked in with me afterward to see how it went. Throughout my stay, I knew that if I needed anything I just needed to contact Penny and she would help me. I would not have had such a great time if it weren't for the amazing staff at this hotel. I would absolutely stay here again the next time I'm in Sanya.
Date of stay: December 2020
Room Tip: Garden View rooms overlook the pool.
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Overview of Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
$428
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
26.3 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Pool
Beachfront
$325
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$527
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    $527
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
$454
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $454
18.3 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$229
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
29.2 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$198
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
28.2 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ocean and garden view
$265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    $265
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
17.8 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$152
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
38.7 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $561
  • Expedia.com
    $619
1.2 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $189
  • Priceline
31.2 km from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sanya
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
149
56
23
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
149
56
23
14
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2020

For the price that I paid for, this stay was pretty acceptable. Staff is generally very polite, especially the check-in agents and the housekeepers. They never failed to greet me with a smile or a friendly greeting. But breakfast buffet was totally in disarray. The restaurant staff led me into the restaurant without a table that is ready. We had to follow her around and she even suggested that we should share a table with others. Eventually, we took an empty table outside eventough it was hot. Another incident at the restaurant that freaked me out was that a guest washed her hands under the tap of the lemon water container that is for drinking. I told her off and she gave me a look that could be interpreted as "it's none of your business". No staff was around at the time for me to raise my objection.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HollandVBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haitangbay JW Marriott, 其他 at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Thank you for choosing and writing down such detailed comment. It was a great pleasure to hear your experiences in the hotel. We always wanted to provide more satisfactory service to our guests. About you mentioned, we agree with you advice and we will try to improve our service attitude and strengthen the management of public areas.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please feel free to contact us if you would like any assistance in making a booking at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort in the future. Best wishes to you and your family.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020 via mobile

This is a very pleasant resort hotel on a huge ground with palm trees, pools, gardens, boardwalks and access to the beach. The hotel is in the shape of a "S" with all rooms on one side of the S facing the sea and with their own balconies. There were a small number of rooms facing the other side the but I would highly recommend anyone to pay a little more for a sea view room on higher floors. The view was absolutely breathtaking, a sea of green palm tree tops, with blue sea and horizon at distance.

Staff were very helpful and courteous, the room cleaning ladies would greet us in the corridors and one pool attendant even remembered were we sat on the previous day. We had breakfast included, both days were pretty busy even it was a large restaurant, but we managed to sit outside away from the crowd and it was a bliss having breakfast near the greeneries. We also used the Chinese restaurant Yue which the hotel shared with JW Marriott next door. Super nice decor, service and food.

Of all the superlatives I gave to this hotel, there is a message to the management. They must do something to improve the check-in. Considering the size of the hotel, there was only one tiny check-in counter staffed by two. There were two equally tiny counters for checkout but the staff do not multi task. We were only the third lot in the queue for check-in but it took over 30min. Just cannot imagine how they will cope, say a dozen people arriving at the same time. Credit to the check-in staff, they were patient, professional and courteous all the time. A highly recommended hotel and we would certainly return next time in Sanya.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank lonestar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DonnaJiang, 公关经理 at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Greeting from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Thank you for choosing and writing down such detailed comment. It was a great pleasure to hear your experiences in the hotel. We always wanted to provide more satisfactory service to our guests. About you mentioned, we agree with you advice and we will feedback to our management and related department, we will try to improve the check-in service, improve work efficiency.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please feel free to contact us if you would like any assistance in making a booking at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort in the future. Best wishes to you and your family.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020

This hotel is totally OK and that’s it. It has had its glory days. Most of the people working at the hotel does not speak English.
It’s an hotel that is perfect for families as the hotel rooms are large and clean and there are lot of facilities for children.

Tips :
Eat at the JW Marriott hotel beside this hotel as this has a way better restaurant. The tiramisu is amazing
It is not allowed to swim in the sea, so do not expect that if you come here for a vacation

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mariaderonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AliceLiu2, 公关经理 at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Thank you for choosing and writing down such detailed comment. It was a great pleasure to hear your experiences in the hotel. We always wanted to provide more satisfactory service to our guests. About you mentioned, we agree with you advice and we will try to improve our service attitude, improve the English communication of our staffs.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please feel free to contact us if you would like any assistance in making a booking at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort in the future. Best wishes to you and your family.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019

So the highlight of my stay was Erik, the amazing manager! He was there to solve every single problem, connectivity, room allocation, double booking, missing suitcases, ice cream - you get my drift?! You only had to have a problem and he would pop up to resolve it. Which brings me to the bad - how can you have a supposedly world class hotel with front office staff who do not speak English and who have to use a translate app to get what you are saying? Which led to endless and frustrating explanations about double booking - till Erik showed up, of course! He's an asset - you need to keep him. Either that or get English speaking front desk people. Oh - the food wasn't bad; the Nepalese ladies in the downstairs breakfast rooms were really nice and helpful.

Room tip: Find Erik - he knows about these things!
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SheratonSanya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AliceLiu2, 公关经理 at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Thank you for choosing and writing down such detailed comment. It was a great pleasure to hear your experiences in the hotel. We always wanted to provide more satisfactory service to our guests. About you mentioned, we agree with you advice and we will try to improve our service attitude, improve the English communication of our staffs.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please feel free to contact us if you would like any assistance in making a booking at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort in the future. Best wishes to you and your family.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

Hotel was spacious and clean. It's rather dated, but reasonably good for the price. The Haitang Bay area is largely filled with resorts, so will need to take a cab out for meals, if you don't want to pay for meals at the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AliceLiu2, 公关经理 at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort.

Thank you for choosing and writing down such detailed comment. It was a great pleasure to hear your experiences in the hotel. We always wanted to provide more satisfactory service to our guests.Thank you once again for your feedback and please feel free to contact us if you would like any assistance in making a booking at Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort in the future. Best wishes to you and your family.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews