We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Public Transport System”

Ranked #131 of 359 things to do in Dubai
Attraction details
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Dubai has a very Good transport System.I have been visiting Dubai every year and I depend on its Buses and Metro .They are very efficient ,punctual and comfortable barring ,of course,during office time ,that is ,peek period.Buses and Metro coaches are spick and span ,looks neat and clean ,almost new .Metro stations and platforms are Very very clean and looks new.Each metro train has only 5 coaches ,slightly narrow ,less width than the standard coaches seen in other countries.There is no separate seats reserved for seniors ,elderly people either in buses or metro trains.That is painful for them.For using bus or metro one has to come to the metro station to buy smart cards after which one can use buses and Metro.That means one has to come to the nearest workstation by taxi to buy the smart cards.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank roydinesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

took a 20:05 departure bus from Dubai to Fujairah from Union Station which turned to be most ridiculous experience i had. First of all the bus which was provided for a 3.5 hrs (supposed to be 2.5 hrs but took 1 hr longer) trip is really unprofessional. It was a city bus instead of intercity bus with a proper seating and seat belt. 25 people were seating when another 30 people were standing ... the worst thing was to happen every time the driver brakes .... THERE WAS NO SEAT BELTS. The driver of the bus decides himself when to on & off the A/C. 3.5 hrs of bus drive has left a bitter taste . i am just wondering why they need to allocate for Dubai > Ajman route a proper intercity leather seat bus(which takes max 1 hr) when Fujairah passengers have to straggle 3.5 hrs standing ....
i don`t recommend this particular route to a families with a small kids and old family members.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Dilnur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

After travelling in so many countries, I find RTA Transport service one of the best in the world with their smart concept

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank ZaimJee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Very happy to say this one is the best bus transportation system in the ME. Hats of to RTA. NOL (prepaid) Card is necessary, but will get temporary tickets by paying cash at the bus stations. All buses have automatic next stop announcing system. Very helpful. I also used their Volvo coach with runs between Dubai and Abu Dhabi, also excellent and luxurious one with normal charges.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank mohdnazeerpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

I really love to travel from Abu Dhabi to Dubai through RTA bus reason why is very convenient clean and can put excess luggage behind bus ... I really enjoyed time to time on my trip because they provide free internet access during your long travel ... you will never get bored and easy to communicate with your friends or business clients ... I hope you will continue this very accommodating and very convenient service not only in transportation but as well in airports or malls in UAE

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Rhea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roads and Transport Authority Bus System also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Roads and Transport Authority Bus System? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing