We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious oysters and selection of sea food”

The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill
Ranked #375 of 10,446 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: The Marina
Description: Tucked away in a hotel loading dock, on the edge of Dubai's sprawling coastline, The MAINE Oyster Bar & Grill is a seaside brasserie devoid of any pretension or gimmickry. As an expression of their North American roots, Montreal gastropreneur, Joey Ghazal and head chef, Liam Breen, are serving up a slice of culinary nostalgia for those longing for an honest dining experience. Of course no brasserie experience is complete without a glistening raw bar that anchors the room serving seafood towers, fashionable crudo and oyster galore. Boasting crowd-pleasing brasserie fare the family style menu runs the gamut from steaks and chops, to fresh fish and seafood, to pot roasts and steamers, bolstered by a slim unpretentious wine list. The long-bar at The MAINE attracts an eclectic crowd of young urbanites downing good old-fashioned cocktails by the bucket. Blending a post-industrial design aesthetic with a laid-back New England extravagance, the retro-vintage feel pays homage to the immortal charm of the state whose slogan justly proclaims 'The Way Life Should Be'.
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Booked on line and received confirmation by email. Quite warm out so dined inside this time. The Maine has a bar area separated from the main dining area by a partition, but also per its those who wish to smoke the freedom to do so near the bar. Downside is that unless you are very much on the opposite side of the building you will not escape the aroma of cigarettes.

We booked for 7pm which is really prior to the main rush which tends to follow past 8:30pm. Service was friendly although a little "to jolly" at times.

We couldn't go past having the oysters for a starter, simply gorgeous fresh shucked oysters with selection of toppings to add, however it is difficult to beat some freshly squeezed lemon and fresh ground black pepper. A dozen between us is never really enough...

For the mains we did something slightly different; we had three hot starters between us; fish tacos, octopus and the seared scallops. Each of them beautifully cooked. The fish tacos are popular and it is easy to see why, the mixture of textures and tastes is outstanding.

We enjoyed a lovely bottle of Baby Doll Sauvignon Blanc, from the Yealands Estate in Marlborough, New Zealand.

No dessert this time but enjoyed a lovely cappuccino and espresso to finish off.

Not cheap, but definitely worth a visit.

1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeyGhazal, Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Robert,
We're very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us at The Maine.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

I've been here few times with friends and also as a couple. I was always happy with the food, tried many dishes (tacos and octopus are the most famous ones, but also ribs and lobster are great!). Obviously the oyster selection is amazing, especially my wife loves them! The ambience is great, I love the music they play, a mix of 90's and evergreens, and the staff is fun and attentive.
Surely a place to suggest!!

1  Thank Stepj91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeyGhazal, Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Stepj91,
We're very pleased that we're a go to spot for you and your family and friends.
We always aim to please our customers and we surely hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

You should go there. But not on a date! It is a lively, loud restaurant with delicious food, great service. It is one of the best spots to meet with friends on a nice dinner. The food is really delicious. You should try padron peppers, crispy fish taco, pasta clam bake, pan seared rare tuna, oysters, fish platters, they are all very delicious.

Thank Serra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeyGhazal, Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Serra,
We're delighted that our menu is to your taste!
We aim to always please our customers and we love hearing from you
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

1. Good location
2. Super nice ambience
3. Amazing staff "server was sara, who I would give her 10 for her extra efforts and attentiveness "
4. Excellent wine
5. Exceptionally excellent food from starters to main dish
6. Burrata was the best I tasted in dubai
7. Pasta was cooked to perfection
8. Mussels were so tasty
9. Excellent vibe

The only drawback I have is that the place is relatively expensive knowing that they categorize it under casual dining, but it was totally worth it.

Rating 9/10
Average for 2: 200$
Alternatives: ramusake

Thank Bassam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeyGhazal, Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Bassam,
We're very happy to hear that we're so high up on your list of favourites!
We love hearing from our customers and we always look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Great deal of compliments can be said about this place: delicious, cosy, affordable. If you want to experience a superb food in a cool environment, make sure you don't miss The Maine Oyster. Do reserve in advance cause the restaurant is always full ( one of the reasons that its located at the end of JBR). Nicely dressed people, and food is a separate story. Great selection of fresh seafood can be found here, beautiful and interesting combinations. As for me, huge fun of oysters - truly paradise. Attentive staff. Definitely worth a try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeyGhazal, Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Vita,
We're very pleased that you loved your experience with us and we hope you'll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing