We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumeirah Creekside Hotel(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$121
Jumeirah.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The H Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$373
US$318
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
US$67
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$313
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofitel Dubai Downtown(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$769
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,336)
Filter reviews
2,336 results
Traveller rating
1,619
468
157
58
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,619
468
157
58
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmasalacamel ridingdesert viewal forsan restaurantindian restaurantterrace roomle dunerooftop barauthentic arabianarabic stylearabian nightsbelly dancerdubai cityinfinity pooldesert safaricold towelsamazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,336 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights at Bab al Shams in April-our second visit. Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel again-nice room(comfortable, quiet, all the amenities); spacious and clean pool-although the hotel was more crowded this time, still felt we had enough private space(kudos to Awal at the pool for being so helpful to us); the spa-we always use the steam and sauna(free for guests); and excellent meals again.
We ate at Al Forsan, where Ahmed kindly brought out a small birthday cake for me. Le Dune-excellent food, quiet and attentive service. We tried Masala(Indian)-very good food and very attentive service(a bit on the pushier side but acceptable). The breakfasts at Al Forsan are simply one of the best we have ever had.
The hotel is a short 45 minute ride to the airport but it is nestled in the desert and makes it seem much more isolated.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EJL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear EJL52,

Thank you for staying with us again here at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in us.

I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your second visit in our resort mainly due to our comfortable and serene environment, spacious pool facilities, nice rooms and great meals. Thank you for highlighting the genuine hospitality of our dedicated staff, especially Ahmed and the wonderful comments on our culinary offerings. Our team will be pleased to learn that their sincere efforts were recognized by you.

Thank you once again for sharing your valuable feedback. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty.

Regards,

Reuben Mifsud | Cluster General Manager
Meydan Hotels & Hospitality
T: +971 4 381 3122
M: +971 56 505 2251
Email: Reuben.Mifsud@meydanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend with a friend, we had a superb time. The decor of the hotel is very Arabic, so been in the desert makes it more authentic. Service also was very good and the food was delicious specially the breakfast. I will definitely be back...

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexVieiraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AlexVieiraLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review further to your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

We are always pleased to receive feedback such as yours. My team and I are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time in the resort especially for it's beautiful Arabic themed decorations, sumptuous breakfast food and its selections. Your flattering remarks about the service rendered by our colleagues will surely be passed on to them.

Thank you once again for having stayed with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bab Al Shams and retain you as its fan.

Regards,

Reuben Mifsud | Cluster General Manager
Meydan Hotels & Hospitality
T: +971 4 381 3122
M: +971 56 505 2251
Email: Reuben.Mifsud@meydanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall a great experience. The breakfast buffet and restaurant staff is awesome. Our waiter Fazan was offering outstanding service.

The service in the pool area sometimes forgot an order and performed below expectations.

Great place to stay 2-3 days and enjoy the silence and dessert experience.

Make sure you don’t forget to do a dessert 4wd tour and go to the restaurant outside of the hotel for an amazing Arabic experience.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Torsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Torsten,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

I am delighted that you were pleased with your overall experience particularly during breakfast at Al Forsan Restaurant. I appreciate your kind recommendation of our Al Hadheerah Restaurant and Desert Drive activity to other travelers.

Thank you for highlighting the genuine hospitality of our dedicated staff. I am sure my team will be pleased to learn that their sincere efforts were recognized by you.

On the other hand, I have noted your comments on the pool service for which we apologize. Please rest assured that the same has been forwarded to the relevant department head for necessary actions to enhance guest experience.

Once again, thank you for sharing your valuable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Reuben Mifsud | Cluster General Manager
Meydan Hotels & Hospitality
T: +971 4 381 3122
M: +971 56 505 2251
Email: Reuben.Mifsud@meydanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Honney Moon at Bab Al Shams

+ Pros

Food is amazing
Breakfast was best ever taken
Room is wonderful. Beautiful decoration. Súper confortable.
Pillows are great.

+ Cons
Not dessert
Swimming pool water is too warm. Way too warm.
Nothing is included. Seems they want to charge at your breath.

The experience of eating at Al Hadheerah is not worth it. The food is spectacular but the show is a total scam. The dancers don’t even seem to be enjoying dancing or have the skills. The show doesn’t count with good lighting or sound. You are close to the dancer but they are in the dark. Lights shows are not enough, with some more the experience would be much greater.
We would have enjoyed eating de roof lounge instead.


Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lucas,

Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon here at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

We are very proud of our products and services but from the comments you have highlighted below we have clearly fallen short of your expectations. Rest assured that we have taken your feedback with the utmost importance and have taken immediate actions so as to ensure that in future similar scenarios will not repeat itself. More importantly, we will continue to place utmost priority on training and developing our team members to ensure that they are always able to deliver services to the satisfaction of our guests.

Please allow me to thank you for the time you took to bring these points to our attention, guests like your good-self who engage with us and support us in improving our product and services, are of great value and we are indebted to you for this.

While we regret the inconvenience your experience has caused you, we sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,

Reuben Mifsud | Cluster General Manager
Meydan Hotels & Hospitality
T: +971 4 381 3122
M: +971 56 505 2251
Email: Reuben.Mifsud@meydanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice family resort but lacks the sense of exclusivity that one might expect or want. The location is not as remote as one might be looking for but it is in the desert and the pools are good. So if you want a rather too crowded family resort with pleasant local color in terms of music and environment and quite decent but not overwhelming buffet meals its really perfect. Kids will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jwdinaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jwdinaspen,

Thank you for visiting Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the resort especially its location in the desert that indeed allows you to escape from the busy city environment.

We will take good note your observation in regards to lack exclusivity of the resort. Rest assured that each comment is reviewed with members of the concerned team and adjusted wherever possible.

We sincerely value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Reuben Mifsud | Cluster General Manager
Meydan Hotels & Hospitality
T: +971 4 381 3122
M: +971 56 505 2251
Email: Reuben.Mifsud@meydanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews