We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Nice Villa (Quality/Price ration) and...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Gradi

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
First floor
Second floor
Third floor
Outdoor area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
Milford55...
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Villa (Quality/Price ration) and Excellent Service by Ante”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Villa is very well located, at about 10 mns driving from the Old Town, in a very particular geographical area which makes the summer nights very cool. The Service and generosity provided by Mr Ante and his mom are unique. We were about 11 people (couples, singles, families) enjoying our time in the pool, the BBQ, the ping pong table and the Billiard.
Mr ante helped in organizing anything we wanted such as boat rental with skipper, guide, taxi, advices about restaurants, sightseeing and so on

I would recommend Mr Ante and his Villa to anybody looking to enjoying some holidays in Dubrovnik and the Adriatic Sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Services of Ante
Liked least: The 6th Bedroom was small
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoine R
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Reviews are way over promising!!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Very nice Location, very warm host, however major issues making our stay not enjoyable. We were a group of 10 with 2 kids and rented the villa for 5 nights.
Mokosica is nicely located 10 minutes away from Dubrovnik, and the sea is just across the street, peArfect for individual trips in the Adriatic.
Ante is a very nice host, very caring and always available for help, he always gives nice advices and tips and make sure your stay is comfortable.
However there are things impossible for him to do, since his villa needs MAJOR renovation to be excellent, and honestly FEW to be good.
The 6th room isn't a room, it doesn't have a proper window, no Air Conditioning, and the bed is a sofa bed. Don't understand us wrong, if that was clear we wouldn't have mind, but it isn't mentioned no wear. No he tries his best to put a portable AC that doesn't work, but what for, better to install an AC unit from the beginning or rent 5 bedrooms instead, our friend spent the worst vacation ever with temperatures above 30 everyday. We choose this villa because we needed a 6th room, and if you do don't choose it, better to take a 5 bedrooms and sleep in the living room, it's that bad.
Not as if there is no space in the villa... Where you see the living area inside, you would believe that the 4 rooms around it are actually the rooms you will rent, but you will be surprised to know that all of them are closed and not renovated, and that the rooms are actually outside the house on a kind of extension, with very badly maintained rooms (problems in the toilets) and back to back separated by a small door making you here everything from the other room. Not to mention that another proper room didn't have any AC unit.
On a separate note, the house wasn't clean at all, with a lot a lot of big insects, not very friendly for kids. Ante tried helping us, but seriously a pest control maintenance wouldn't cost much. And I'm not talking about mosquitos, that are naturally a lot next to the sea. The BBQ area wasn't clean at all, we ended not eating the meat since there is no proper cheminee to take the air away, so it was coming back on the food!!!!
Honestly this location can be heaven, but everything needs maintenance. It's a 300yo villa, perfectly located and huge!!! I would recommend you invest only 20% of your rents each year and you could maintain it better, put AC's, pest controls, a proper bed and please clean!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
The fact that this review is not objective is confirmed by the other review written by a member of the same group of tourists who found staying in our Villa as a lovely experience. So, the very friend of the author of that review wrote completely opposite one which is now positioned above that one that defames the house.
The „famous“ 6th room that was subject of complain is advertised as a single bedroom. It is small, but it is very aired and cool neighbouring to the huge house cistern (built 1580) which enables similar, almost constant temperatures in that room throughout all the seasons, perfect for a child to sleep next to parents' room being not directly exposed to air-conditioning. When asked, we have prepared removable air-conditioner and put it in this room. When we moved it in the room, it worked, and there were no remarks by the guest who slept in the room. Nor have ever been made on this matter so long, except for this review from the guest who actually did not sleep in that room nor the fellows in the same company did complain about that. Let it be also said that the stone walls of my house are from 60 cm to even one metre thick, and that the house was built as the Renaissance summer residence of Dubrovnik noblemen. All spaces in the villa are huge, having high ceilings and with large windows.
Some bedrooms have separated entrances. That is what the author of this defaming review dislikes. On the contrary, all our guests find this very convenient as they have maximum of privacy during the stay in my house. Two rooms have interconnecting doors that is especially convenient to families with small children. However, that door(s) can be locked and blocked upon wish of guests.
This guest had some small problem with WC cistern which we repaired as soon as we were told about. There were no other problems with toilets, nor with any other thing/detail in house. Our 6 toilets and showers are very clean as there is a team of three cleaners (2 men and a woman) who do cleaning in the house and I am always there to control their work.
Because of that small problem with one of WC cistern, the guest wrote that we have problems with all the toilets. This statement is false and unfair.
This villa surrounded by nature. We have even the turtles in the garden, small green lizards, few fishes in the pond, and 2 cats living there. By request of the same guest we had to move the cats away, although they are trained not to come close to strangers and guests. The cats almost got shock, as they had never been kicked-out of our property, but it was the only solution as it was obvious that those guest dislike animals.
The cats actually guard the villa and use to catch small animals that can be found in 2,500 square meters of gardens and terraces. This guest saw two spiders and one caterpillar. They are completely harmless and for the evidence I took them with bear hand in front of them. That is something man can expect on 2,500 square metre villa surrounded by nature on summer heath oh 35 C degrees.
Concerning the grill I told the guests that I will show them how to use the BBQ, as it is fairly large, and made in traditional way, in-built in natural rock niche, and therefore needs some tips to use it. But nobody of our guests shoved a interest in my explanation of how to use traditional Croatian BBQ. “powered” by wooden live coals (producing some totally harmless smoke during low atmospheric pressure) If they let me do BBQ for them, they would enjoy in the most tasteful grilled meat and vegetables they ever did.
Unfortunately, it is obvious that this guest could not enjoy this villa and its historic charm, beautiful picturesque garden, domestic animals, birds, sunbathing in clear sea water or in well maintained private swimming pool, etc.
We have never published and described our villa as urban or city apartment, what probably this guest expected by some reason.
According to reviews of majority our past guests, it is obvious they knew how to enjoy and appreciate our villa. This particular guest did not only libelled our house. He insoult our previous satisfied guests as well.
Property manager
Ante Stojan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful expansive villa by the sea”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This beautiful villa was a great location for our group get away. There were 9 of us in the group and with its expansive layout we were never on top of each other and if we got bored there was a pool table, table tennis and gorgeous pool to keep us occupied. The several outdoor terraces were also perfect for eating outside while looking over the ocean.

Being only 20 min drive or bus from Dubrovnik was also great as we could easily pop in to see the Old Town or go out for dinner if we didn't feel like cooking.

Ante and his family were very welcoming and ensured the villa was clean and tidy on our arrival.

I would thoroughly recommend a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the view
Liked least: Some of the decor
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gipidry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Amazing views, beautiful villa! All amenities you would want: a/c, bathroom for each bedroom, large kitchen, dishwasher, refrigerator (even in summer kitchen and pool bar), veggie garden, tv's, pool table, washing machine. The best was our front covered veranda...the owner/staff were great. They arranged a 4 course delicious meal for group of 7...fabulous tastes and great price. The location is near many grocery markets, Old Town, ferry and a marina for private boat rental or excursions. I just cannot say how pleased we were with Villa Gradi!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing