We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PTWK
Wokingham, England

An excellent experience

Review of Canopy Camp
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2023
My wife and myself went to the Canopy Camp at the end of October, beginning of November 2023. It was a marvellous trip, we saw plenty of birds and other wildlife, including the harpy eagles. The camp itself is very comfortable, spacious tents, good meals, grounds with hummingbirds and plenty of other birds passing through (we had a Great Potoo calling outside our tent one night) and all trips out are well organised and explained. Our guide, Igua, was execellent, as are all of the Canopy staff. A special thanks has to go to the team at the Canopy family, as there were protests in Panama during our stay, against the mining operations taking place in the country. Despite the travel problems the protests caused, we still got to the Camp and back to Panama City without any problems. They are an excellent team
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosannette Maria Quesada Hidalgo, Other at Canopy Camp, responded to this review
Responded 21 Mar 2024
Thank you so much for your amazing feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the Canopy Camp. We're glad that we could assist you during the protests and ensure your safe transportation. We can't wait to welcome you back for more incredible birdwatching and nature adventures in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$191
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Riu.com
  • Booking.com
192.8 km from Canopy Camp
Free Wifi
Pool
$526
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $526
192.8 km from Canopy Camp
Free Wifi
Pool
$315
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
195.6 km from Canopy Camp
Free parking
Beachfront
$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $150
193.8 km from Canopy Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $401
  • Official Hotel
    $282
  • Booking.com
193.1 km from Canopy Camp
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $227
  • Expedia.com
    $275
193.5 km from Canopy Camp
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Booking.com
192.3 km from Canopy Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Suites Ejecutiva Sencilla
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $118
193.6 km from Canopy Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Expedia.com
    $216
184.5 km from Canopy Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
  • ZenHotels.com
    $330
  • Priceline
196.2 km from Canopy Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Panama City
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
83
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harpy eagle excellent birding birding guide finding birds hummingbird feeders bird species amazing birds hot water an open air shower attract birds tropical forest comfortable beds other guests each morning common areas darien birders
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2023

This place was amazing. Tina was by far the best bird guide we have ever had. He knew where to find the birds and knew all of them by sight and sound. We saw so many new birds, many endemic to this area.

The camp: The tents were luxury tents. They were spacious and clean and even though it is very warm in this area, the open netted sides brought in a nice breeze to keep us cool through the night. There was plenty of room for our bags and sleeping. The tents are placed on large decks and there are comfortable chairs to sit in outside the tent. All the tents face a gulch covered in tropical forest so you can sit out there and just relax while watching birds and other wildlife pass through. The bathroom for each tent is on the deck to the side of the tent. It has an open air shower that makes you feel you are taking a shower in a waterfall as birds fly over. The bathroom was spacious and very clean as well. The hot water was tricky in the shower but once I got the hang of the faucets, it was easy. All the tents are spread out. so you really cannot see other guests while in your tent. The main common areas of the camp are large open decks with plush couches and chairs and tables. There was always hot and cold drinks (and plenty of variety) at all times of the day. Surrounding the decks are hummingbird feeders and plenty of native plants that attracted numerous humming birds and other species. We could have easily just birded around the camp every day. The daily birding trips were in very comfortable vans and trucks and we went to a variety of places. Meals were a small buffet style and the food varied from day to day and there was never a day we were disappointed. The food was so good that we always felt full. We rarely needed snacks that were given on birding trips. There was lots of wildlife other than birds around camp as well. This was such a great trip and the staff was incredibly nice and thoughtful we plan on returning.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CoriR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosannette Maria Quesada Hidalgo, Other at Canopy Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review. We really appreciate it. The Canopy Camp is for sure a magical place! We will be so happy to have you back. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2023

Amazing trip to this Canopy Camp. I am not a camper but as my husband wanted to see the Harpy Eagle, we came to stay here to go search for it. We saw amazing birds, had an amazing trip to see the Harpy Eagle. This was a wonderful adventure!

The tents have comfortable beds and a fan to stay cool. The bathroom is nearby with open windows so bugs do get in but I got used to it. The grounds have wonderful flowers and a family of monkeys live there.

Oscar was our guide for our stay and was wonderful. Eli drove us to/from the Camp from Panama City (he was guiding the foundation that funds a lot of local research that happened to be staying when we were).

We absolutely loved our stay here. It was a highlight of our 5 week trip to Panama.

Room tip: The larger tents have a separate area for clothes etc and are located at edge of property Very private which we liked.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rochelleforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosannette Maria Quesada Hidalgo, Other at Canopy Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Thank you very much for your amazing review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you in Panama again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2023 via mobile

This was an amazing trip.
Tino was the best guide we have ever had. He was so knowledgeable. He knew where to look for certain birds that we wanted to see. He knows birds by sound and by sight whether flying or sitting in a tree. Whoever was supporting him each day was very helpful in finding birds as well.
The food was amazing. I would love to have a couple of the recipes. The cooks were so kind in helping with my dietary restrictions. I never felt hungry and definitely over ate, it was so good.
The accommodations were extremely comfortable. I loved listening to the night sounds and slept so well. The camp is beautiful with so many ways to attract birds. We loved watching the hummingbirds at meals. The vulture pit was a fantastic addition. I was so excited to see King Vultures on the ground.
The transportation was comfortable. We enjoyed riding in the back of the truck to be able to see all around. I loved riding in the dugout canoes.
With all of the warnings about traveling to eastern Panama, we made a good choice. We never felt unsafe. We saw nothing that would make us reconsider going back there again. I would definitely return to the camp.
We were very happy with the Canopy Family and Canopy Camp. We hope to return to one of the other facilities in the future.

Room tip: The schedule is busy so be prepared for little downtime. Keep your cash on you at all times.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Crmterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosannette Maria Quesada Hidalgo, Other at Canopy Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate it. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and felt safe around the Darién area. We hope this can encourage other visitors to come and enjoy the wonders of this magical place. We hope to see you in Panama again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2023

A beautiful camp, among maintained gardens, and feeders. It has individual tents, and an open common area for a lounge and dining area. It is located in a rural area, up against a reserve. The whole area, including the camp, is one big birding experience.
PROS: Gorgeous grounds. Nice tents/rooms. Clean, and in great shape. Fans in each tent. Some tents are spaced apart, in isolation (Tents #1 and #2). Very good, friendly, helpful staff. Guides are truly tops/excellent. The vehicles are in good shape. Bed was comfortable/firm. Everything is well explained and coordinated. Incredible birding all around. The trip to see the Harpy was a memorable day-long adventure. Everything was safe
CONS: NO air conditioning anywhere. Panama is hot + humid, all hours of the day (except after mid-night). Five hours from Panama City.
OK: Meals are single-menu, family-style, and quite good. Nothing exceptional or gourmet.
NOTES: I visited in February. No rain over the 4 days. Dry land. No extra boots or rain gear necessary (but perhaps helpful to have a light poncho just in case). Some bugs, especially at dusk. Need bug repellent. Many excursions required long pants (in the heat!). Bring very light-weight clothes which breath well. Need hat + sunscreen. The "bird mobile" does not have a roof. Naturally, bring your own binoculars. In my mind, this place is worth the 4-5 hour drive from P City, It is memorable.

Room tip: Tents # 1 and #2 are separated from others and very private.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosannette Maria Quesada Hidalgo, Other at Canopy Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad that you had a very memorable time at the Canopy Camp which is truly a special place within the tropics. We really appreciate you taking the time to write these wonderful words and hope to see you in Panama again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2023

Canopy Camp, part of Panama's Canopy Family of eco-lodges, is a wonderful spot for birders and other nature lovers. Our guide during a 4 day stay was Tino. He is outstanding with birds, butterflies, and vegetation and exceedingly patient and personable. The highlight was our trek to see a female and eaglet harpy eagles in their nest. The accommodations are large platform tents with private bathrooms set amidst a beautiful garden to attract hummingbirds and other species.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cotton-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosannette Maria Quesada Hidalgo, Other at Canopy Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate it and hope to see you in Panama again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews