We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Capt'n P

Lovely friendly staff

Review of Suva Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2022
I stayed here for 5 nights when first getting to Suva, the hotel is very conveniently located to town and the room I had was pleasant, clean and reasonable for the price. The only down sides were it's quite noisy as the pool and communal areas are right outside the rooms, the wifi wasn't working which when you don't have roaming was a small challenge and the restaurant had no chef as Fiji is just getting back on it's feet after Covid. But overall it was a good first stop, and Leni is amazing, she's super friendly and can remember everyone's name, she made me feel very welcome when I first arrived, plus she was doing everything in the bar/restaurant - and very well too!
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SUVA MOTOR INN, Guest Services / Front Office at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this review
Responded 15 Feb 2023
Dear 637captnp

Thank you for the good comments about our lovely staff and hotel location. We would love to have you back.

Kind regards.

Ratu Tubuna
Reservation Officer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$684
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $676
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$432
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $451
0.5 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
$382
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $382
0.3 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant
$122
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $122
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
Looking from the Hotel, towards the harbour
$145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Suva Motor Inn
Pool
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $327
  • Trip.com
0.8 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free parking
Fitness centre
Front desk
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $318
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive rooms - view from room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $363
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The entrance to the property. Opposite the Colo-i-Suva Police Post
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $70
  • Priceline
9.7 km from Suva Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Suva
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
35
74
53
26
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
74
53
26
32
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021

We are checked in at Room 304. In the late evening we were visited a baby mice!!

We called Reception and she sent a Security staff up who stamped the mice with his boot, picked it up by the tail and walked outside and threw it away... mind you we are in 3rd floor!!

Receptionist called 15 minutes later offering to move us to Room 303 next door to this room.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gabby Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SUVA MOTOR INN, Guest Services / Front Office at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Dear Gabby Y

Our Sincere apologies on the unexpected Visitor (baby mouse) to your room. We have pest control companies that do our monthly spray of hotel rooms inside & outside, since our hotel is an open space. Once again, our apologies and we will make sure this is not to happen again,

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Kind Regards

Rt Navuga Tubuna
Reservation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

Complete misrepresentation nothing at all like the beautiful beaches in the online advertisement be careful when you book these places it’s happening more and more frequently always check reviews and advice before getting your credit card details for a deposit for the first night because if you don’t like it or it’s a misrepresentation you have lost your money cold

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank tylersY4577AX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelera Ratumaiyale, Owner at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Dear tylersY4577AX

Thanks for providing a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear of the issues you mentioned.
Your feedback will be shared by the relevant team members. My sincere apologies, and if we have the opportunity to welcome you again, we will do our utmost to get it right.
Have a great day.

Kind Regards

Kelera Ratumaiyale
RESIDENT MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

The Suva Motor Inn is in a good location near Albert Park and a short walk to town. My stay was for 10 nights and it was mostly quiet and the staff were very helpful. The room was large with air conditioning, fan, 4 local channels on the TV and the bathroom was clean. The restaurant is a pleasant place to sit and have a meal/drink and the pool and general look of the place is very pleasant. The only negative was I could not get my mobile data to work in the room but as soon as I stepped outside it did work. There may be rooms that the mobile data works and next time I would ask. I recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CricketGirlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelera Ratumaiyale, Owner at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Dear CricketGirlD

Thanks for so many great comments and for sure this will be shared by the team. My sincere apologies on the only negative comment on your mobile data that does not work in the room as it only works when you step out of the room. We do sell internet recharge cards in the front desk that works both in and outside the room. Please enquire with our front desk staff who are more than willing to assist our valuable guests. Thank you for recommending this hotel and we would love to serve you again on your return.
Have a great day.

Many Thanks

Kelera Ratumaiyale
RESIDENT MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

The people at the Suva Motor Inn are so nice, and it is a lovely, quiet, landscaped motel. We had read the reviews and asked for one of the refurbished rooms, but when we arrived it did not appear to be one of the refurbished rooms. In hindsight, would highly recommend viewing room first. It is a clean, basic stay that is close to town and the pool is an added bonus. Keleni at the restaurant is soooo friendly..she is lovely and goes out of her way for guests.

Room tip: Insist on the refurbished rooms
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank L_DTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelera Ratumaiyale, Owner at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear L_DTravellers

Thanks for the great comments on your review and for sure this will be shared by the team especially Keleni from the bar. My apologies that the refurbished room you had asked for was not given to you, maybe all the refurbished room was all taken on the day of your check in.. Our room renovations is till on going one after the other, and I do look forward to welcome you back and this time I will make sure you will be put in the refurbished room. Take care and have a great day today.

Kind Regards

Kelera Ratumaiyale
RESIDENT MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

First they quoted me a higher rate than posted. I had to argue to get the posted rate. Then the staff stole USD $630 out of my suitcase while I was out. The battery operated safe in the room was broken. The place was infested with roaches and the smell of bug spray everywhere. Do not stay here!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laurae901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelera Ratumaiyale, Owner at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Laurae901

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review about your stay. Sorry to read of your disappointment with the rate in particular and I do apologize on behalf of the front office staff who served you. What you wrote about the staff stole USD$630 , that is news to me as if it really happens, why wasn't the matter reported to us for further investigations? Nothing of the stolen money was reported from you during your stay with us. After you have left we then check the safe and it is not broken as mentioned in your review. we have a pest control company that does the spray of the whole of our property inside and out and it is done on a monthly basis. Once again my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you and if we have the opportunity to welcome you again, we will do our utmost to get things right for you.
Take care and have a great day.

Many Thanks

Kelera Ratumaiyale
RESIDENT MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews