We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wander59877880515

Wonderful place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Fantastic resort. What sets this place above the rest is the attitude of the staff who could not be more obliging. From the warmest of welcomes when you arrive, their happiness shines through. The highlight for me was the guided reef walk, a truly special experience
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Bula Vinaka Wander59877880515,

We thank you for your humble words. It was great pleasure having you both at the resort. The team here misses you both for the evening activities and happy hour. We cannot wait to have you both back again.
Sota Tale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Pool area
$193
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $193
13.7 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
The frontal view of the building
$159
Multiple ways to pay
    1.2 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Kids & Adults Swimming Pool with Water slide.
    $250
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      $250
    10.1 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Trip.com
    • StayForLong
    • Hotels.com
    0.1 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      $222
    • Agoda.com
      $169
    • Vio.com
      $254
    0.5 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Algotels
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    13.0 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Swimming Pool Area
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      $171
    • Agoda.com
      $149
    • Hotels.com
      $242
    0.9 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $1,389
    • InterContinental
      $1,433
    25.7 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Official Site
      $137
    • Expedia.com
      $179
    6.9 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Sigatoka
    Reviews (594)
    Filter reviews
    594 results
    Traveller rating
    320
    181
    61
    19
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    320
    181
    61
    19
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews beachfront bure plunge pool sound of the waves high tide main building kava ceremony local village farewell song coral reef relaxing holiday tui activities resort fiji hammocks kayaking warwick
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 594 reviews
    Reviewed 12 June 2024

    Had the most excellent stay...loved the staffs and the food... the view is to die for and the resort is super , super clean.
    the team go the extra mile to provide with an excellent service.
    I spent majority of my time in the pool which is amazing
    Will be back soon and for a longer stay next time.

    Room tip: pre book your dinner
    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Navigate57734763122
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Bula Vinaka Navigate57734763122

    As we say here in Coral Coast " Cola Vina" aka Hope you are well.
    Thank you so much for choosing Tambua Sands as your holidays destination. It was lovely meeting you and we hope that you are booking your next flight back to us soon.
    The team at Tambua Sands misses you and we cannot wait to have you back.
    Till than Moce Made and Sota Tale

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 June 2024

    Peaceful setting on the edge of a coral lagoon perfect for snorkelling - we recommend the guided snorkelling and walking tours from the resort. The staff are so genuinely friendly and always pleased to make conversation with all the guests.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Sue N
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Bula Vinaka suen748,

    Vinaka vakalevu for your kind and humble words.

    it was a pleasure meeting you both. Hope you had a fantastic flight back and cannot wait to rebook you at Tambua Sands again. Both take care and Sota Tale

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 May 2024

    If you are after a quiet friendly small place to stay this is the resort for you. We had one of the plunge pool ocean bures. They are really beautiful. Ours had a shower an outdoor private shower plus a bath. They were spotlessly clean. There are no TV's in the room although they told me they are looking into putting them in.We are happy without tv. The WiFi only works in the reception area. They also say they are looking into putting it in the rooms. But you don't go there to sit on your devices or watch TV. Meals are getting more variety every time we go. They make mean mudslides. Plenty of choices now. Breakfast is still complimentary basic continental but there is an option to order hot breakfast ( paid). There are some cultural activities offered by the wonderfulTui. They have a tour desk to book tours, car hire, taxi and transfers. It was so relaxing. The staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. You arrive as guests but leave as family. If you are looking for all the bells and whistles and constant activities this is not the place for you. If you want an authentic Fijian holiday it's worth trying. I have been coming here for nearly 40 years. It gets better every time. It gets harder and harder to say goodbye. Til next time. Soon I hope.

    Room tip: Plunge pool ocean bures are the best. They will organise transfers if required. Supermarket about 6k down the road. Taxi or bus.
    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Terri M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Bula Vinaka tessalee,

    Hope you doing well. Thankyou so much for choosing Tambua Sands as your Fiji home. It was a pleasure having you both here.
    Thank you so much for your feedback and we do take your suggestions on board. we are delighted to announce that we now have TV's and free WIFI in our stunning villas.
    We are working tirelessly to ensure our guest have a grand and memorable stay with us.

    Vinaka Vakalevu and we look forward to welcome you back to you island home soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 March 2024

    We had a Beach Bure, certainly was right on the beach. We arrived 10.30pm, so we practically dumped the bags and went to bed. The resort is very tired. The Bure, bathroom had a lot of mould in the tiles, the plastic soap dish hasn't been cleaned for quite a while, and it had dried soap in the dish from the previous stayers. The shower screen was covered in a white soap scum, the basin tap was filthy as well with soap marks and dried drips. So disappointed, but overlooked it. The room is very basic with King Bed and 2 singles, tiny empty bar fridge, kettle and sachets of coffee, milk and sugar. The window sills were covered in dead flies, wasps and bugs.
    We had a few days of torrential rain and the rain comes under the door, so we had a spare towel we put up against the door. The rain leaked down the wall and puddled under the bedside tables.
    Gecko's reside in the room, so our pillows and sheets were covered in poop. They crawl on the bed as well. The weather was extremely humid, and the poolman took 3 days (Fiji time) to clean the pool, we had to wait for high tide to go for a dip. Can only go for a dip as it is a coral beach, when the tide goes out all the coral is exposed.
    On a positive note, the Staff and food is amazing. Only breakfast is supplied in the cost of the stay. They call it a continental breakfast, but it is very basic - 3 cereals, tea/coffee, fruit and white bread toast with packet condiments. You can choose from a small menu that you have to pay for if you want omelet's etc. Everything is in FJD, so the omelets etc start from $22 and the toppings are an extra cost (just one example).
    They have an Al La Carte Menu available which you choose your lunch and dinner from. Food is lovely, with a special board available every night with one item on it.
    Eg. a Jack Daniels and Coke is $20.50 and a juice is $9.00 (FJD)
    Wifi is only available in the reception area, where couches are available for you to sit on. It is only a Adults Only Resort, but due to the "quietness" of the resort, in a couple of weeks they are changing it to Family Friendly.
    It is certainly a very relaxing stay, (Sleep, Eat n Relax) there is alot of road noise as it is the main and only road to the main towns. The resort is 1.5hrs from the airport, if you arrive at night - be very cautious driving as there are no street lights, roads have a lot of pot holes and cattle and horses are on the roads.
    We stayed for 9 nights, and didn't hire a car. I suggest if you do stay here to hire a car as there is nothing around close-by.
    There was an incident whilst we were there with a couple behind us staying in a Garden Bure, they had an intruder enter their Bure whilst they were sleeping. They had an adjoining room (for families) that they were not using, and the cleaners must have left it open, this particular night they forgot to check it, and he entered through the adjoin door. Luckily she was a light sleeper and Ex Police and confronted the gentleman that ran off into the night, the situation was reported to Reception, and then the flood lights were left on around the property at night. There is 24/7 security at the front of the resort, but the intruder came in through the 2nd unmanned gate at the back of the property.
    There is quite a few stray dogs that come into the Resort at dinner time to see if they can get a feed, so once it is 'Family Friendly" the kids will have to be advised not to touch them, there is also a stray cat.
    Overall, we did return back relaxed, but we certainly wouldn't return. (We booked through Flight Centre)

    Room tip: Pack an umbrella
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Chrisxkx
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 March 2024

    Our stay did not get off to a good start when we arrived at 11pm to find no food, drinks, reception, or even water available to us. after we had traveled all day and finally arrived, we expected at minimum to find a small bottle of water in our room. But there was nothing, just a wilted flower on our bed. We felt just as wilted as the flower.

    The bar and restaurant was empty, no staff and everything padlocked. It was 30 degrees and very humid. We begged a drink of water from the security guard at the gate, who kindly gave us one.

    The continental buffet breakfast was bread and fruit and coffee or tea and a type of fruit juice. (Not orange and not fresh.)!To get anything else, Eg. Egg, bacon etc was $20+

    The breakfast was the same everyday. Unlike the dinner menu - from which we ordered the same dish -3 days in a row and got 3 different dishes. None of which included the sautéed mushrooms which was what we wanted. All of the food served was tepid in temperature.

    Generally the food was just about adequate. I only sent 1 dish back to the kitchen in the week we stayed (greasy lukewarm calamari’s which I could neither cut with a knife or bite).

    The property is a $20 car or taxi ride from any other food outlet or supermarket and the bar and restaurant prices are very high. Eg. A litre of Water that retails for $1.80. - $3.80 in the supermarket was $12 in the resort bar.

    The accommodation was also just adequate. Its saving grace was lovely beds and good a/c plenty of hot water and it was spotlessly clean. - which is the basics of what you need. You got nothing beyond those basics. No TV No Wifi (only in dining room where you have to contend with constant very loud music being played by the staff if you need to use video calling) the WIFI in the dining room was intermittent and weak I could connect my phone but not my laptop. The receptionist said that there is none at all when it is raining!

    The best thing about this location is snorkelling in the lagoon on the doorstep (available 2 x a day only deep enough at high tide) it’s beautiful and felt safe.

    The worst was nothing to do other than that - I read a few books but take your own there is none to borrow or buy. No book library or anything.

    There are tours available to book at the resort at a huge mark up - the same tours are available to book at less than 1/2 the hotel price on trip advisor. We went on 2 they were both good but I was painfully aware that we were paying $500 + as a couple for a 1/2 day out. IMHO Far too expensive - as I like to tip the staff directly but these huge prices were cleaning me out!!

    The staff were always friendly and welcoming. 👍

    My top tip if you stay there is don’t get in a taxi without a meter fitted. Or hire a car. Everything is far away. Buy lots of food and snacks and drinks before you arrive. We are not party animals- we used to live in the middle of the desert but even we found it a bit dull sitting around waiting for the high tide to snorkel.

    We left early and spent our final night elsewhere.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank heatheryone
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews