We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$228
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$228
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$200
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ultramouse
Shailer Park, Australia

Quiet and relaxing but have a car

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Oct 2023
Tambua Sands is a small, tidy resort on the Queens Road just past Namda village on the Coral Coast. I say that because Google Maps and Booking.com place it further west, which can be confusing. Indeed, Booking.com’s lat and long put it so precisely as to pinpoint an iPhone’s on button on an empty stretch of beach east of Korotogo. Anyway, we found it.
Don’t be put off by it’s proximity to the road. Most accommodation is in beach front bures where the sound of waves on the offshore reef easily drown out any traffic, which is light anyway.
I would strongly suggest having a car, like we did, as otherwise it can be a little isolated. The on-site restaurant doesn’t really cover all your needs.
Perhaps not a place to take your teenagers but we are oldies whose teenagers have grown up so it was perfect for us.
Very friendly, clean and relaxing with beautiful sunsets and impossibly romantic looking coconut trees.
I could stay here again.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Hire a car
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula Vinaka Ultramouse,

Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality.

Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home.

Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$217
  • Hotels.com
    $249
  • Agoda.com
    $167
  • Expedia.com
    $249
0.5 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Swimming Pool Area
Booking.com
$213
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $279
  • Agoda.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
    $279
0.9 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Agoda.com
$145
Multiple ways to pay
  • Destinia.com
1.2 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $633
  • StayForLong
    $574
  • travelup.com
    $608
0.1 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
  • Algotels
13.0 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • InterContinental
    $1,196
  • Expedia.com
    $1,229
25.7 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Pool area
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $115
  • Hotels.com
13.7 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $384
  • Vio.com
25.7 km from Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sigatoka
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
315
179
61
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
315
179
61
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront bure plunge pool sound of the waves high tide main building kava ceremony local village farewell song coral reef relaxing holiday tui activities resort fiji hammocks kayaking warwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2023

BEAUTIFUL resort, the bungalows are so cute. The staff is so kind and helpful. There are a couple drivers who can take you places for a fee. ALL the food was delicious. The beach is quite rocky/coral so you can't really swim, but the pool is wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank puckles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Bula Vinaka puckles2,

Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality.

Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home.

Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Fantastic place and the amazing people that work here made it a dream holiday for our family. They organised games and activities for our children to help keep them entertained and to give Mum and Dad a break. One day my youngest appeared with her hair beautifully braided with flowers all though it that one of the staff had done for her. The rooms were immaculately clean and comfortable and everything worked well. Lots of planting and renovations happening so this place will just keep getting better and better. After a relaxing stay and being so well taken care of we would love to come back!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Quest53808558866
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Bula Vinaka Quest53808558866,

Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality.

Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home.

Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2023


A lovely quiet resort on the Coral Coast, 90 minutes from Port Denaru.


Liked · Resort is improving it's facilities in leaps and bounds. The well kept grounds are lovely. This is a very quiet resort, catering to adults. It's a place to just relax, swim or snorkel. 2 kayaks are there and are free. All rooms are renovated or in the process of being so. Clean freshwater pool with comfy new banana lounges and cushions. Colourful dining area. New activities guy Tooi was great, and has plans for activities. Good snorkeling in the Marine Park nearby. You need to do the $59 Fijian village tour which includes access to the Marine Park. Money goes to the village and must be prebooked. New icecream chest selling Cadbury and NZ icecreams. If you want a busy resort with lots happening all the time, look elsewhere, but if you just want to relax, this may be the place for you.

Disliked · Their lack of response to 4 emails I sent after we had checked out. We were there for 4 nights, and had booked a full day/night tour through their tour desk for our last day. On the morning we were to go, I woke with stomach cramping and diarrhea, but not from eating at the resort. We had eaten out for both lunch and dinner the previous day. As we had to cancel, I requested a simple letter stating that, so I could claim the deposit on my travel insurance. I eventually got the letter by emailing Warwick resort.

We booked our transfers with their 'taxi's', a comfortable car driven by the driver from the local village. We presumed they would put the cost of $150 Fijian onto our account, but when we arrived the driver asked for cash. We had exchanged some money and paid him. Again, lack of communication, even though I had asked them about this prior to leaving home, but I never got a reply. You need Fijian cash for the taxi if you want to go anywhere, including paying to be taken to an ATM. That said, they aren't rich people, and we could afford an overseas holiday, so didn't mind paying. The continental breakfast is served to you and was adequate. A hot breakfast is available for an extra cost. Meals at the resort are only ok/good. We found some guests went to eat out at local restaurants. We did this twice, again paying for the taxi. The driver was more than happy to stop at the local supermarket on our way to the resort, where we purchased water. $13 Fijian for a box of 12 x 1.5litre bottles. A bargain! So take plenty of local currency. If you do book tours, you'll need to give them 20% commission in cash, with the remainder of the tour paid to the tour company. Our tour balance could have been put on our card, but we never got to go on it.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Bula Vinaka Abbycat,

Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality.

Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home.

Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2023

Words cannot explain how beautiful this resort is and how personal, accommodating and welcoming the staff are here!

From the minute we arrived which was around 10pm we instantly felt appreciated as the kitchen had stayed open knowing we were scheduled to arrive.

The kitchen has a great menu full of cultural dishes, snack food and restaurant food.
In complement to that is the bar which we chose to have cocktails most days before/after a massage.

The villas we stayed in were exceptionally clean and had recently been renovated. With the friendly team accomodating us with having our rooms next to each other.

We participated in a hosted Kava session to learn about Kava and Fiji history, which again was something we will remember for a long time.

On our last day today it felt like leaving family. The staff all knew us by name and put in there 150% to make our experience as great as it was.

We will definitely be back at some point soon as I have stayed in places multiple other high end resorts before, this is the first one that I will remember for a life time.

Bula Vinaka Thank you

Lewis Pollock

Room tip: Bring sunscreen so you can catch a great tan by the pool!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2023

Bula Vinaka Lewis,

Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality.

Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home.

Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2023

Wow 🤩 what a a perfect piece of paradise … I highly recommend staying here if you want a romantic quiet getaway … tranquility plus … the bungalows are really nice with a beach view and the sound of the waves at night was so nice … the staff are absolutely amazing so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was continental but very filling then menu has good variety… it’s a very peaceful place to be … will definitely be back … a special thank you to Luisa on reception who was always so willing to help and great communication when emailing prior to arriving… thank you Tambua Sands for the most amazing stay

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FIJILUVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Hassan, Owner at Tambua Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2023

Bula Vinaka baliluv

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.

Indeed Tambua Sands is beautiful and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your every moment with us.

Luisa is beautiful and will share your feedback with here as well.

Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your island home, we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews