We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$594
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
DrSChan

Amazing family holiday at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2024
Bula from Shirley, Denis, Declan and Erin.

We wish to thank everyone who have looked after us during our 8 day stay at Outrigger.

The staff at Outrigger makes it special and truly a home away from home experience.

Special shout outs to:
- Willy (or "BULA man" as my kids call him): the greeter at the front of the resort, the very first person we ever met at the resort. His loud welcoming "BULA" literally made me jump coming into the resort in the car but the very same greeting is what we've all come to recognise during our stay and what we miss now. He greets us by our names every time he sees us over the next 8 days! We are sorry we missed him on the morning we left and didn't get to take a photo.
- Kiti and Mereoni at Kids Club: My kids love you ladies at the kids club!! They are still talking about you and missing you.
- Baby Josh at the Pool: He's got the moves. He gets everyone moving during pool aerobics. I was on dry land and I was moving to the music!
- Andrew who does the volleyball activity: And dresses up for the Fijian experience and fire walking experience. He's also at the activities desk. What does Andrew not do? Never fails to say hello to us and the kids when we run into him. Kids just love him.
- Vale Di Kana: Marica and Joe, greets us with such warmth every morning and evening at breakfast and dinner.
- Baravi restaurant: Vasena, Salote and Sila. Attentive at the restaurant. Always checking out if we are ok and need anything when we are around the pool area. they make sure we never go hungry and are well hydrated!
- Live music performers: The 2 gentlemen who play their guitars and sing at Vale Ni Kana as well as the Baravi restaurant. The singer and key board player at Sundowner with his velvety voice. The wait staff who all join in to sing birthday songs, anniversary songs and farewell songs for the guests - amazing harmonious voices.

There are many others whose names I have not noted down but play their part in creating this warm friendly genuine vibe you get all around the resort, including those who work at the front desk, the Talai service desk, the spa desk and the cafe.

Things we notice and appreciate:
1. Live music is everywhere.
- In this time and age where one can easily replace performers with a recording, we really appreciated the beautiful singing voices and the skilled musical talents at Outrigger.
2. Kids club. My kids truly enjoyed the friendships they made and the activities planned. Outrigger has done well in ensuring parents have peace of mind leaving their children in the care of the wonderful ladies working at the kids club.
3. The Outrigger App: Makes planning your day easy. The daily planner and kids club weekly activity planner show what activities are on offer. Making appointment with Bebe Spa through the App didn't quite work as availability is not accurately reflected.
4. Farewell song: The servers at Vale Di Kana sang us the farewell song and wished us well. It was very touching and we loved it. My son got a bit emotional. What was touching for me was when the guitar playing gentlemen told my husband they noticed that he makes eye contact with them every time he is in the restaurant and makes them feel their music is appreciated.
5. Cocktails and happy hour: Bring it on. Love the cocktails!

Room:
We stayed in the Ocean View room and appreciated the Talai Butler service each evening. Love the fact families are well catered for with sofa beds for kids. We appreciate the note the Talai Butler service leaves if they missed you, and the drinks and canapes are delivered and put in our fridge for us to enjoy them later after dinner. The room has been recently furnished had everything one would need. Housekeeping was great - extra bath and beach towels and pillows delivered on request.

Facilities:
- Pool is not huge but adequate. The new slide is a hit with the kids especially.
- Activities desk: We didn't use the snorkelling or kayaks but notice others using. We did book our fire walking experience through the activity desk.
- There are many activities planned throughout the day. Not a dull moment.
- The Eco Park and Adventure Park is right next to the resort and a buggy ride away. My son enjoyed Archery and the Golf range. Activities were not expensive. The kids were brough to the Eco Park to see the animals as part of Kids Club activity (note there's an extra cost if there's an excursion) which they enjoyed.

Food:
- Number of restaurants are adequate.
- There is variety with the Vale di Kana restaurant offering different theme night buffets, an Asian restaurant at the Baravi, Bar and Grill at Sundowner and seafood restaurant at IVI (which we didn't try). Expect to pay Australian prices. Their menu list conveniently displays the AUD price. At a 5 star resort, I think it's pretty reasonable to expect to pay AUD prices.
- Buffet breakfast increasing to 59FJD per adult is getting pricey but there is good variety of food at the buffet. I don't think there is an alternative to the buffet breakfast for families since the ala carte breakfast is at the adults only restaurant.

If Outrigger is looking for slight improvements:
- the Outrigger App: The chat function didn't always work but that was resolved when I went to the front desk to query it. Perhaps bookings for activities or restaurant could be made through the App rather than a call or at the activities desk?
- Room key: On arrival, we could not get into the room but Willy was there and sorted that out for us by getting replacement keys from reception.
Second time, we were locked out and it turned out the battery of the lock needed replacement. 2 trips to reception and 20 mins later, the maintenance guys sorted it out pretty quickly.
- Bebe spa: Increasing availability and aligning sessions with kids club drop off and pick up times. Our treatment and return to the hotel took longer than expected but luckily the ladies at the kids club stuck around for more than half an hour past the pick up time. Any chance the spa can include treatments for kids too so it's a family affair. Understand currently it is designed as an adults only area.
- Food quality:
Our family are food lovers and therefore think there are opportunities for food quality to be better.
There is no issue with variety of dishes at the buffet but that doesn't always mean every dish hits the mark. For example at the Asian themed buffet, the pad thai and som tum (papaya salad) did not taste nor look like what they were supposed to be. The chilli crab dish had a BEAUTIFUL, delicious chilli sauce but the crab was really disappointing (mushy meat), the pieces were so huge guests were struggling to get it onto their plate. The shell (claws especially) was not pre-cracked nor was there the shell cracking apparatus available, making it very difficult to enjoy the crab indeed.
The salad section often did not look very appetising.
A suggestion from my kids is that the kids buffet should have more variety, not just drumsticks and chips.
Chips at the Baravi or at Sundowner are not crispy, I admit it is a very minor thing but it is something that can be done right easily. Most of us appreciate yummy crispy chips.

The suggestions on improvements do not change our opinion that we had the MOST WONDERFUL time at Outrigger. We have already started recommending Outrigger to friends and family.

Our family is very keen to return to Outrigger in the near future.

Till we meet again, VINAKA Outrigger Fiji for making our first trip to Fiji such a memorable experience.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darren Shaw, Other at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Bula Shirley, Denis, Declan and Erin,
Thanks for such a comprehensive review.
I’m so thrilled that you had a great stay with us and took the time to share your feedback. We truly appreciate it. We hope that you will return to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort when you visit next. We look forward to hosting you again! we also appreciate the areas to improve and will address accordingly.
Sincerely,
Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
$166
Multiple ways to pay
  • Destinia.com
1.2 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Kids & Adults Swimming Pool with Water slide.
Tripadvisor
$243
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
10.0 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$227
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$233
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
6.9 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$935
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    $936
  • travelup.com
  • Algotels
25.6 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Pool area
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $118
  • Priceline
13.6 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Swimming Pool Area
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    $236
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $277
0.9 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $377
  • Booking.com
25.7 km from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sigatoka
Reviews (4,577)
Filter reviews
4,577 results
Traveller rating
2,977
1,018
392
122
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,977
1,018
392
122
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ivi restaurant plantation bure butler service sundowner bar talai butler kids club vale ni champagne and canapes the mei mei service ocean breeze bure meimei service tapas every afternoon family holiday meal plan pool aerobics coral coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 4,577 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2024

Fantastic resort with great staff and lovely restaurants. We enjoyed the food in all the restaurants but in particular the IVI so a special thanks to Salome, Asia, Elen and Veta. Nothing was too much trouble and they took time to chat with us at the end of service.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolecY7729NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darren Shaw, Other at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Bula Carol
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort. One of the pleasures of my job is sharing guest feedback with the team and I can’t wait to read this review at our next meeting. I’m so happy that you enjoyed the service from Salome, Asia, Elen and Veta and we were able to provide you with a great stay. I hope you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2024

I just had my wedding at The Outrigger on March the 22nd. We had family and friends attending that also stayed there with us.
This was the most amazing trip and our wedding was an absolute dream 😍 we could not have asked for a more magical place to have our special day! The people and the service is 5 star they are all lovely and made our stay a perfect experience ❤️ we will definitely be back without a doubt! Thank you Outrigger!!

Room tip: You won't want to leave
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trek12843943124
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darren Shaw, Other at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Bula and congratulations on your recent wedding.
Thank you so much for selecting Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort for your special occassion.
I have been in this business for many years but reading great reviews never gets old. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share your travel experience. We really appreciate the kind words you said about our resort and our hosts and will make sure the team know their hard work is recognised. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully.
Vinaka,
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

Amazing resort with the friendliest of staff. We loved it. We used the adult only pool each day, they serve food including breakfast, great if you want to escape the buffet noise.
Our room was the ocean view room. It had views over the resort and out to the sea.
The butter service was included, they gave a drink and canapé each afternoon, wonderful. Tui our butler was the best!
The snorkeling is ok but better out at sea. The water is nice fur a dip though.
We ate at all eateries, most were good but we loved the pizzas.
All in all a fabulous stay, will be back!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Voyage51676366112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darren Shaw, Other at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Bula Voyage,
thanks for the great review and lovely comments on Tui!
we hope to welcome you back again.
warm regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Our stay was amazing! We loved it! Staffs were amazing, the facilities were fully worth the money we paid, the experience we got was memorable. Loves the live music and cultural show. The only constructive feedback would be to make the fire walk show a bit more worth a money, though all the respect to the villagers.
Overall all 5star everyway!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Swechchha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darren Shaw, Other at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Bula swechchab, thanks for the great feedback as well as your firewalk comment.
hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Such a beautiful place to stay. Our family felt so welcome as soon as we arrived and the staff were super friendly. Lots to do around the resort, but the pool and waterslide was our go to every day. 10/10 recommend outrigger to anyone looking to stay in Fiji, we will be back!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darren Shaw, Other at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Bula ashleigh,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort. One of the pleasures of my job is sharing guest feedback with the team and I can’t wait to read this review at our next meeting. I’m so happy that you enjoyed pool and waterslide daily and we were able to provide you with a great stay. I hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews