We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it.”
Review of Gecko's Restaurant

Gecko's Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Sigatoka
Price range: $14 - $38
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Gecko's Restaurant is located at Gecko's Resort opposite the Shangri La's Fijian Resort and Spa. Breakfast 8am - 10am Lunch 11am - 3pm Dinner 6pm - 9pm Happy Hour 5pm - 7pm
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place and the food was very nice and plentiful. It was really busy the night we went with it being the Fire Show. That was very good but aimed more at families but anyone should enjoy. The meals took over an hour and although the staff were good they didn't know what they were doing at the end when people were paying and it took an age. I would definitely recommend it but get there early so you can get served quicker then we were and keep a check on your bill.

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2024

We've stayed at Gecko's Resort several times and eaten in their restaurant at night. The meals are good honest home cooking, and service so friendly. They have a fire dancing night several times a week, and people book from neighbouring resorts such as Shangri-La, as it's so popular.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2024 via mobile

We went along on a Sunday evening for dinner & to watch the fire show. Dinner was like a home-cooked meal. Yum, but nothing amazingly fancy. A wide range to choose from..steaks, pasta, Chinese dishes, curries & more. Happy hour was 5-7pm with cheaper drinks.
The show was good, but personally felt it was aimed more at families with younger children. We are a group of three couples.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Veedles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2023 via mobile

We had an incredible night! The show was great to watch and the dancers interacted with everyone. Food, drinks and the staff were amazing! Wish we could’ve fit in another dinner before we left!

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank laurenandjustinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2023

When booking prior to out arrival, I asked for a room close to the restaurant and pool to minimize the walking distance which is exactly what we got- room 2 to be exact. It overlooked the pool-10 meters away and another 20 meters to the restaurant. The car park allowed us to be about 20 meters to reception and the adjacent restaurant, so really good for couples not wanting to travel long distances.
The room was spacious and clean although in need of a bit of TLC. We found the fan was adequate to cool the room. From memory the toilet had a leak but all in all really good value at $145.00 NZD a night- the best we encountered around the island.
There was a fire dance next to the restaurant in the evening and it was packed-people came from the Shang-Ri La across the road to eat and watch the show. As an aside we tried to go there for lunch the following day but the entrance guard wanted $65 FJD for a day pass ! That did not include lunch so we went back to Gecko's.
Actually the food at Gecko's was as good if not better than any other resort restaurant.
The only real negative was a bunch of rowdy Aussies who made the pool their own and played music on a portable device all afternoon. Fortunately there is a second pool about 40 meters from room 2 that we had to ourselves.
Overall though, Gecko's is worth staying at although there's room for improving the state of the buildings. Its worth 4 stars for value, great food and pleasant staff.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HDRennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gecko's Restaurant also viewed

 
Yanuca Island, Coral Coast
 

Been to Gecko's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.