We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$146
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Expedia.com
$188
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
$95
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
h0llyhb

Great no frills motel

Review of Gecko's Resort
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Sept 2023
Great no frills resort for inexpensive price. Really sweet staff. Wifi is not great. Resort is probably overstating things but it is a very nice easy place to be. I am happy to be here. We spent the day shopping in Situka and the morning at the national park. Yesterday we went to the shangri la and enjoyed their beach and had lunch. For the price I would stay here again but be aware it is not on the beach, walls are thin, beds are hard. For two night it was perfect.
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: It can be loud be aware of your neighbors and be kind in the early mornings.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Kids & Adults Swimming Pool with Water slide.
Booking.com
$190
  • Priceline
    $117
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $243
4.4 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$253
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $193
  • Agoda.com
    $179
  • Vio.com
    $185
24.2 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Agoda.com
$162
Multiple ways to pay
  • Destinia.com
12.5 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Swimming Pool Area
Booking.com
$212
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $236
  • Vio.com
    $179
  • Expedia.com
    $277
12.7 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$223
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $232
  • Priceline
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $245
7.5 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$227
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $227
  • Agoda.com
    $197
  • Priceline
    $227
13.7 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$936
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • InterContinental
    $963
  • Priceline
    $935
  • travelup.com
    $978
12.0 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$628
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $628
  • StayForLong
    $575
  • Expedia.com
    $746
13.6 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    $433
  • ZenHotels.com
    $377
  • StayForLong
39.3 km from Gecko's Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sigatoka
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
273
126
37
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
273
126
37
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire show cultural village coral coast small pool queens road natadola beach staff were amazing food and drinks fiji time geckos shangri facilities resort nadi vinaka names denarau
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2023 via mobile

Great resort. Good size rooms . 2 pools, gym, guess tv room, restaurant , bar, pool table etc
The staff were amazing. Could not fault them. Friendly kind helpful. Makes your stay especially when a solo traveler. Reception staff the best as were kitchen and room cleaners. All amazing. All need a good pay rise! 🏝🍹😃😎Thanks for making my stay one of the best had xx🤗

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank funchick37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023

Location - close to the Shangri-La as we were here for a wedding.
We did come in late - this was because our flight was delayed, they did stay open for us to check us in.
We did have two room books, when I couldn't change the booking online, but figured too late when I should have organised it by contacting the resort directly.
The service of the place was amazing, they were very friendly and quick to sort out any issues.
Food - was decent and fairly well-priced.
The little frogs were super cute at night time they would come out.

Disliked · The beds - were very uncomfortable. Very hard and laying on a rock.
Wifi wasn't connected when you were on the property, you had to get a code for each time and would only last 8 hours.
Shower head there was an issue where it wouldn't hold up. In the other room, the placement of the shower taps was uneven.
Leaving the room locked up - would return to a very strong smell of urine.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nikihms87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023 via mobile

Our family of ten spent a week on Plantation Island Resort. Five had to go back to OZ, so the other five moved to Geckos Resort on the main island for four nights.
Well named, because at night we were well entertained watching geckos successfully stalk the insects that were attracted by the lights.
The Resort is so clean, it nearly squeaked. Immaculate gardens, lawns, outdoor settings. The Resort is nestled in a space surrounded by high hills which are covered in dense tropical vegetation. Bit of a walk to the sea - we didn't go. On the lawn just outside our rooms was the Rest Bure. A generous space with a pitched roof, tiled floor, no walls. Furnished with chairs and a table. Quite delightful for reading, drinking coffee etc.
Food: Excellent. Huge meals. On the last night, I asked which meals were small serves. Waitress suggested that I order off the childrens' menu. Problem solved. I hadn't been able to finish any meals.
Accommodation: Set out like a single level Australian motel. Our rooms were clean, spacious, equipped with hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, soap, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities - with real milk, bottle of water on arrival. We had to buy more bottled water, as they said they couldn't provide filtered water, and did suggest that we should avoid the tap water. Staff also suggested that we avoid the street food to minimise the risk of a tummy upset.
Rooms cooled with a wall unit. Very effective. Our two rooms were interconnected.
Entertainment: Three nights a week, a visiting troupe of performers come and dance, and twirl fire sticks. People book from other resorts. The first night the staff had over 100 people booked for meals. The performers engaged the audience and got them up on stage. We saw a second performance, - less visitors this time. DVDs to borrow. Player and screen in our rooms. There was a TV room - didn't try it. Bikes to hire, for which you pay a refundable deposit . A rather sad playground, two pools, a pool table, a well stocked boutique, a spa where I had a Pedicure, - very different to home, but just as effective !
Day 1 was spent in a pool, Day 2 was spent fishing - 7 yr old caught his first fish, Son hooked a marlin ( identified by crew) but before he got it to the boat the hook broke !!
Day 3 we hired a van to take us to a Wildlife park. We were greeted by a lady who presented us with a banded Iguana called Kevin, and a Fijian snake ( Boa Constrictor) called Wendy. There were two rescued Red Breasted Musk Parrots - who weren't quite as friendly as Kevin and Wendy. The Musk parrots have similar markings to the Australian King Parrot, but the Musk Parrot is a burgundy red. We walked through displays of shells, coral, tropical fish, Iguanas, and open aviaries of birds. There was a water playground designed for small children. A cafe where we bought a good quality pizza and coffee. The family spent a lot of time on a giant water slide. We were well occupied from 10am to 4 pm.
At Geckos, you go to reception to get a code for WIFI each day. This lasts for 6-8 hours.
When we arrived, there were some families with very young children - babes, toddlers, sub teens. Active teenagers need Plantation Island or similar. Gecko is more for adults who want to zone out, and families with children who need constant supervision.
Espresso coffee, ice creams for sale.

Around the periphery of the enclosure, there were a number of projects in various stages of construction. Looks untidy if you wander out there, but doesn't intrude on the visual pleasure of the resort - i.e. can be ignored !

Staff was wonderful. When we left, lots of hugs and requests to return.

Family holiday at Plantation Island and Geckos Resort was an outstanding success.

Room tip: Time your use of WIFI for best use of the availability.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Polly3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2023

We stayed at Gecko's for a two night stop over and had a great time. The room was big, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to learn all the guests' names. The food at the restaurant was good and there were other options nearby for variety. It is a lovely walk to a nearby beach, which we had all to ourselves. The hotel was very good value for money.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wrigglespingpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2023

I stayed at Geckos for a week - the Staff and the food 10/10 This was my first time at Geckos, the rooms and grounds were very clean - the negatives, the cleaning staff were very late doing the rooms, I came back from a tour at 6.00pm and they were still in my room. Must have been different ones on my last two days ( one was Fijian holiday) as these were efficient and the rooms were done before lunch. It would be nice to have some lace/netting over the sliding door as there was no privacy if the curtains were open. When closed, it was dark. Another regular visitor said they had a lovely cultural village attached- this a been let go and run down. You cannot walk to the beach, apparently customers were able to walk across the road to the shangri la and use their facilities and beach - but no more. Geckos have a wonderful fire show and dance three times a week. Customers from the Shangri La come over for meals and the show. (But Gecko customers can’t go to the Shangri La) I took a taxi to the beach and it cost me $70 return Fiji .lovely resort for a few days- then maybe another one on the beach.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews