We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tatiara
Avalon Beach, Australia

Lovely place.

Review of Gecko's Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jul 2022
We stayed here just for one night en route to a villa at Natadola Beach. The staff were just fabulous, the room was perfect, and dinner and breakfast were delicious!
I had a massage which was much needed after a stressful flight and the cost was very reasonable compared to the big resorts.
We came back several times during our week at Natadola for coffee as we were passing by, and were always greeted warmly by staff who remembered our names.
It is a charming and friendly little place.
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$261
  • Expedia.com
    $297
  • Agoda.com
    $203
  • Hotels.com
    $267
13.2 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
$305
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $725
  • travelup.com
    $770
  • Agoda.com
    $718
13.6 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
$372
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $508
  • Expedia.com
    $361
  • Trip.com
    $380
26.6 km from Gecko's Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kids & Adults Swimming Pool with Water slide.
$187
  • Expedia.com
    $243
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
    $218
4.4 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
$253
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $208
  • Agoda.com
    $164
  • travelup.com
    $221
24.2 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
$292
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $290
  • Agoda.com
    $250
  • Hotels.com
    $290
13.7 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Swimming Pool Area
$212
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $277
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $235
12.7 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
$493
Multiple ways to pay
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
    $433
  • Expedia.com
39.3 km from Gecko's Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $116
  • Priceline
    $148
7.5 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • InterContinental
    $914
  • Hotels.com
    $886
  • Booking.com
    $889
12.0 km from Gecko's Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sigatoka
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
273
126
37
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
273
126
37
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire show cultural village coral coast small pool queens road natadola beach staff were amazing food and drinks fiji time geckos shangri facilities resort nadi vinaka names denarau
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2022

We were looking for somewhere to stay between Suva and Nadi and we did not want to place a foot in these gigantic resorts full of slobby, shameless tourists.
So Gecko's was the perfect solution..
The rooms are large and clean, there is a small pool, the restaurant is good (and tries to cater for multi cultures) and the staff is lovely. Catalina and her team were efficient and friendly.
DaisyClover's review describes it perfectly.
Thanks Gecko's.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VCLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2022

I paid FJD1,340 for a week through Agoda for a double room with breakfast. I loved Gecko’s and found it to be great value. However, on rating it ‘excellent’ let me be clear that it is a three-star resort, which I found it to be a clean, attractive and well run. It is NOT one of the beach-side, family-friendly, multi-storey, mega resorts which have almost nothing to do with Fiji, except that they are staffed by Fijians.

As so many reviews say, it is the staff that are the greatest asset at Gecko’s. All the ladies knew our names from day one and we soon knew all theirs. They were not just friendly, they provided excellent, prompt service. We took all our dinners in the restaurant and did not have a bad meal. There are performance nights up to three times a week on Tuesday, Friday, and Sunday when a group performs dance and fire-twirling.

We have previously traveled in off-the-beaten-track areas of Fiji but taking baby-steps back into travel after the pandemic lock-downs, we were on the beaten track with a week in Denarau, a Blue Lagoon Cruise, and a week on the Coral Coast. As a comfortable hotel for travelers rather than packaged resort tourists, Gecko’s was definitely our speed. This is a hotel for both local and international guests.
This is a resort in that there are two good pools with loungers, beautifully kept tropical gardens, a lotus pond, a large rest bure with loungers and deep shade, a little boutique with coffee bar, a television room, an open sided restaurant, and a cool bar with an ancient and idiosyncratic pool table.

Our spacious room had a comfortable double bed and a single, a coffee table and chairs, flat-screen television, mini fridge, and effective air-con. A terylene curtain behind the main curtain would have been nice for more privacy when they were open. The convenient bathroom had a good pressure shower and plenty of hot water. The only minor issue we had was that the water temperature would fluctuate up and down. Housekeeping was regular and efficient. There was free wifi for 8 hours each day with a code from Reception.

Gecko’s is situated on the Queens Road, 11km west of Sigatoka. Directly across the road is the Junction Café & Restaurant and the driveway to the Shangri-La Resort, which can be visited for access to pretty Cuva Beach.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2022

We had a wonderful stay at Gecko's Resort! We had previously stayed at a fancier coastal resort near Nadi and found Gecko's to be much more our speed. While it doesn't have all of the bells and whistles of some of the bigger resorts, it has a lot going for it. For starters, the staff (Katalina, Trex, etc) was incredibly friendly. Everyone from the front desk team to the security guard to the groundskeepers were wonderful. They remembered our names, went above and beyond to make us comfortable, and even brought us fresh coconuts one afternoon. We also loved the extremely affordable laundry service, great value meals, and Friday night dance/fire performance. The accommodations were comfortable and pleasant. They recommended Coral Coast Transfers and Tours, who provided great taxi service for our entire stay (thank you, Asaf and Aineez!). We explored Sand Dunes National Park, ate food in and walked around local towns, did the EcoTrax bike adventure, and went to the Shangri-La for mini-golf and lunch.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2022 via mobile

We had dinner at Geckos while staying in the Coral Coast and we were blown away by the amazing service and delicious food. The restaurant stayed open for us and another couple who were staying at the hotel over the road, Mere was our fantastic waitress and she and the rest of the team were so attentive and ensured we had a great time. Amazing value and the service was second to none. We will be back!

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2022

Our family had an unforgettable experience at Gecko's resort. This was my 6th time to Fiji, but the first time for my husband Brice. I had previously stayed at the larger resorts, but due to covid, I wanted to try two smaller properties. Might I add, that I preferred this property over the other one. There were many reasons for this but ultimately the staff were amazing. From the front desk, to the restaurant, the bar, and housekeeping, everyone was so friendly and accommodating. I felt at ease and very well taken care off. The size of the resort made it possible to spend time around the pools, the restaurant and bar without being lost in a crowd. The food served in the restaurant was not only impressive, but the price was extremely reasonable. The same can be said for the drinks. A particular highlight of the stay was the complimentary fire shows during dinner. A must for everyone to see, and people travelled from nearby resorts to experience this. Brice having never been to Fiji loved this and being able to get up and participate. The staff made us feel right at home. The owner also spends time sitting around the resort to ensure that the guests are well looked after. This was in no way intrusive but allowed for guests to relax but know that they were taken care of. A big thank you to all the girls and Tex. I cannot recommend this resort highly enough. Vinaka! and we will see you again soon!

Date of stay: December 2021
Thank juliedH2100LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews