We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Frostyali
Australia

Look elsewhere , you’ll find far better for your money

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2024
After reading through a large amount of reviews I wanted to write my own honest one. We had a brief stay at the INTERCONTINENTAL FIJI GOLF RESORT & SPA and we won’t ever go back . I chose the best option for my husband and I and one of the most expensive , a beachfront ground floor bedroom . The room looks like the pictures , beautiful , until you look closely and more importantly smell it . The rooms air conditioning system smelt like it is a was a breeding ground for mould ; understandable in such a humid country but in a 5 star resort surely strategies need to be in place to protect the health of its visitors . The air conditioning system is a central unit with the exception of the Gymnasium so don’t be fooled into thinking you might be able to avoid it . The bed was comfortable but the room is dated and needs small repairs throughout. The room stunk made worse when the air conditioner was running , this became so unbearable to breathe at night my husband actually slept with a face mask on , if we turned the air con off the humidity made the room oppressive .

The staff try and are friendly but lack training . We had finished a long leisurely breakfast and the tea I ordered when we first sat at our table still hadn’t arrived , I gave up . On our last morning the weather was vial, humidity high and while I sat with sweat dripping from my face asked 3 different staff If they could turn the fan up located above our table ; all 3 smiled and said yes but again we finished breakfast and left and the fan hadn’t changed . The staff in the bar have no idea about some basic food questions ; I asked if a particular item was fried or steamed ; I was assured it was steamed ; it wasn’t . Dont get me wrong, they’re friendly, they try and they are certainly relaxed but for 5 star you deserve better than what you wil get from the INTERCONTINENTAL FIJI GOLF RESORT & SPA .
We needed to leave urgently partly attributed to the rooms smell and the affect it was having on my husbands asthma and breathing , we were assured our buggy would be there at 10.45 by the assistant manager , guess what ,
it wasn’t .

You’re located in the middle of nowhere an hour from Nadi so unless a tour includes transfers be ready to pay through the nose . For one tour we looked at using Rosie’s; the onsite recommended tour booking business , the tour was about $400 which was fine but the transfers added another almost $500 on top , totalling almost $1000 for a trip , sorry not worth it .

There is a small convenience store on site but make sure you have a large bank balance before you go in . A small bottle of spray aero guard was almost $30, a Kit Kat was $9.

We arrived at the resort not being told about the required bond of close to
$300 per night , for 7 nights a bond of almost $2100 , we have that on our cards but some travellers may not .

The weather was horrid while we were there , If you struggle with humidity look elsewhere, that’s not the resorts fault but something you need to consider .

Value for money is certainly not there . We did the seafood buffet , it cost about $120 per head plus drinks , honestly it wasn’t worth $50 a head . It was a mix of sea and land so they padded out the menu with lamb, beef and chicken ; sorry but you need to decide if it’s either a seafood night and charge accordingly or don’t ,but you can’t charge for an expected amazing seafood buffet and serve up cheaper options and expect people to be satisfied . It was our first night, we were offered still or sparkling water for our table , we chose still ; we were charged $20 for a 1 litre bottle of Fiji water ; we didn’t order water again .
I had a steak sandwich one night , it was around $30 which would have been ok but I think they left half of it in the kitchen ; it’s not an exaggeration to say it was only about half the length of a small Turkish bread roll from an Australian supermarket with not much inside it ; I looked forward to breakfast the next day to feel like I had eaten something.

Nothing I have written is a lie , it’s how we experienced the resort . I don’t think my expectations were to high , I expected a similar level to other 5 star rated places we’ve been . I am not a snob nor expect to much , if you go and happen to enjoy the Intercontinental in Fiji I’ll be happy for you but if you’re unsure do some more research before you commit to a holiday here that I think you will find lacking . Check where this resort is located , compare it to other resorts , double check the inclusions and try and stay somewhere you won’t be trapped with limited options all being supplied from the one resort ; at the Intercontinental you’re really a captured market that won’t give you any options .
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Beware the hawkers on the beach , lock everything up, take extra money , watch your bill , stock...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Bula Frostyali

Thank you for posting your detailed feedback on your personal thoughts to us via Tripadvisor around your stay. Naturally we are very surprised and disappointed to read your review and feedback.

For your stay at the Resort a pre-authorisation amount of F$400 per night will be run against your choice of payment at check-in, based on the number of nights you will stay and rooms booked. We will contact you throughout your stay should your balance exceed the preauthorisation amount, if this occurs, we appreciate your kind understanding and please do not be offended when our team contact you. This will avoid any unforeseen surprises on departure for either party. This preauthorisation is a temporary hold on funds that will act as a security deposit for payment against incidentals such as restaurants, bar, spa, kids club, activities and all other spend incurred during your time with us.
The team here work hard to make all guests stays memorable with the Bula spirit and we are sorry you feel we let you down on this occasion.
Vinaka Vakalevu & warm regards

Ravi

Ravikash Nand
Executive Assistant Manger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$245
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Agoda.com
    $188
  • Priceline
    $201
25.2 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Kids & Adults Swimming Pool with Water slide.
$184
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Agoda.com
    $103
  • Priceline
15.9 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$219
  • Expedia.com
    $222
  • ZenHotels.com
    $200
  • Priceline
    $227
25.7 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$335
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $304
  • Agoda.com
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $329
36.2 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Pool, roundabout, poolside mural and shower
$144
Multiple ways to pay
    24.5 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Swimming Pool Area
    $264
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $264
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    24.8 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    $141
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $174
    • Agoda.com
      $121
    • Hotels.com
      $160
    19.3 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    $623
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
      $630
    • ZenHotels.com
      $599
    • Priceline
      $650
    25.6 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    • Algotels
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    38.7 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • ZenHotels.com
      $369
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    51.3 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Sigatoka
    Reviews (3,846)
    Filter reviews
    3,846 results
    Traveller rating
    2,584
    833
    292
    77
    60
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,584
    833
    292
    77
    60
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews navo restaurant the club lounge golf course kama lounge natadola bay adults only infinity pool toba bar and grill beachfront suite club staff planet trekkers day bed bula bus kids club lagoon view outdoor bath garden room beach front
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    20 - 25 of 3,846 reviews
    Reviewed 5 April 2024

    Great staff, as in they are amazing

    Food and beverage is average lacks depth of flavour and very basic menu items done poorly

    Club lounge underwhelming

    And the BEDS OMG THE BEDS……

    These are the absolute worst and hardest beds I ever had the displeasure of sleeping in.
    Management have just replaced them with what appears to be a concrete filled product with a cement overlay. Four days in I can hardly walk and next to no sleep

    I can live with the Food
    I can live with the underwhelming club lounge

    I CANT SURVIVE ANOTHER NIGHT IN THIS CEMENT BED.

    I would love to come back but won’t be back due these awful awful awful beds…..

    Worst sleep (no sleep) in 25 years of travel !!!

    Room tip: Beds like cement/concrete
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Kiwiholidays
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

    Bula Kiwiholidays,

    Thank you for your multiple feedback and your personal thoughts via online social media reviews and I am sorry to hear you are not having a comfortable stay with us. We are surprised to hear the feedback around the beds and Club Lounge, fortunately this is rare.

    Please do let us know which room you are in and when would be a good time to see you today, alternatively we have a manager on duty 24/7 and we are always ready to resolve. Julia our Club Lounge Manager is also keen to understand why you feel its underwhelming?

    My mobile number is +679 995 8942 and email is kirti.chand@ihg.com should you wish to reach out to me directly.

    Warm Regards

    Kirti Chand
    Director of Guest Services

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 April 2024

    The hotel is in a very beautiful area, the beach is beautiful and clean.

    The hotel itself has many negatives for this to be 5* hotel. If you have been to a Bali 5* hotel like Laguna or Melia, you will be very disappointed with certain aspects of this hotel

    - The rooms are very dated and not Clean, there is mold in the grout of tiles in the bathroom and toilet.
    - The toiletries are filled in locked bottles, ours was all empty and it took half day for them to replace shampoo
    - You will have to constantly call for them to supply drinking water bottles. None of the true 5* places I have stayed at had this problem with drinking water. This was a major issue for us as we had a baby.
    - The service is very slow, if you ask for water or towel or to clean the room or room service, be prepared to wait for 40 - 60 mins.
    - The cleaning of the room by room service was not good, sometimes they take away towels and don't provide clean ones. It is a weird service standard, like the staff is untrained.
    - the breakfast and restaurants on the property are very average

    We also asked for late checkout as our flight was in evening and baby needed somewhere to nap in the afternoon. Usually at being IHG rewards member, this is offered. However, the hotel only offered till 12 PM saying other guests are arriving.

    We had to camp in the cabana in front of our room and we then noticed that they did not clean the room till 2:30 PM. They could have easily offered us the 2 PM late checkout, but they did lie to us which was very disappointing.

    Stay here only if you get a great deal and for the location. In future I will stick to Marriott luxury brands for the service.

    Room tip: call 3 times of confirm any orders else they forget
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 21k
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

    Bula 21K,

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us via TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your kind words about our beautiful beach location.

    We're sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss this during your stay to address any concerns, as we have a manager on duty 24/7.

    Your feedback is invaluable to us as we strive to provide exceptional experiences for all our guests. As your review remains anonymous and we are unsure of your dates of stay, the team would be pleased to discuss further. Please contact Ravikash Nand, our Executive Manager. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and demonstrate the high standards of service we aim to deliver.

    Vinaka Vakalevu,
    Lachlan Walker
    Portfolio General Manager – FNPF Owned Hotels

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 April 2024

    The service was awful, everything took way to long. It took 20 minutes to be served a beer. They constantly were “out” of towels at the pool and beach. The staff felt no need to rush and always seemed confused - getting orders wrong, mixing them up and seeming to forget. Also the reception did not answer their phones, forgot to make my booking for dinner, golf etc. food and drinks I kid you not take t least an hour, even if you ask they don’t care. I ordered a second bed, it never showed up. The people are nice but the service is awful.

    Room tip: Be patient
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Izzy D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

    Bula Izzy,

    Thank you for sharing your feedback to us via Tripadvsior. We apologise for the disappointing experience you raised now from your stay. We have a Manager on Duty 24/7 and we'd have loved to turn around your stay while you were with us. However, your comments have been brought to the attention of our management team, and we are actively working to address the issues you have highlighted; as your review remains anonymous, we'd welcome a discussion in more detail.

    Please contact Ravikash Nand our Executive manager as we would appreciate your room number, date of stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience.

    Vinaka Vakalevu,
    Lachlan Walker
    Portfolio General Manager - FNPF Owned Hotels and Resorts Fiji

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

    Fantastic from beginning to our last day. Great resort and courteous. Rooms were excellent and clean. Food was not over priced. Would definitely stay again. Catered for adults only pool and kids pool area. Great activities for children. Has access to streaming on TV and you can see your account on screen daily. Eco friendly too. Highly recommended

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank MelbourneAdri
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

    Bula MelbourneAdri,

    Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted to hear you had a fantastic stay from start to finish! Thank you for your kind words and for highlighting the aspects you enjoyed about our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience in the future.

    Vinaka,
    Whitney Rounds
    Executive PA to the GM

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

    This resort is so beautiful. The staff were 5 star as was the room. We had such a lovely stay. Dining options were great, kids menu was varied. Navo in particular was so delicious. Good coffee at breakfast :) The only thing missing for us was that the kids club needed some updating. It might be an Australian expectation but the playground should have a shade sail so there is another activity option for kids during the day. There was also only a small room with air conditioning and for little ones adjusting to fiji heat that didn't seem enough.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank H3357BFjessicap
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

    Bula H3357BFjessicap,

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our beautiful resort, attentive staff, and dining options. Your suggestions regarding the kids club are duly noted, and we will certainly take them into consideration for future improvements. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon for another enjoyable experience!

    Vinaka,
    Whitney Rounds
    Executive PA to the GM

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews