We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GoGoBear
Seattle, Washington

Breathtakingly Beautiful, But….

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jan 2024
Annual trip to Australia with planned stayover took us to Fiji this year. Chose the Intercontinental based on the mixed reviews for the Shangri-La, the beaches (my wife made the call there) and what was a really good price (approx. $400/night for a king room with lagoon view).

It almost goes without saying that Fiji is beautiful, and the Intercontinental is particularly so. We just never stopped being amazed at how gorgeous it was. For that reason alone, if nothing else, we will be back.

It also needs to be noted that the staff of the Intercontinental are incredibly polite and hospitable (more on that in a moment). You never are allowed to forget that they want you to feel welcome (we did, absolutely) and well taken care of (well….).

I’ve commented in the past about how the difference between 4-star properties and 5 star properties is the level of staffing…the sheer number of persons working to service the guests. The Intercontinental has absolutely no shortage of staff.

What does seem to be lacking is an understanding of “hospitality”, which isn’t the same as being “hospitable”. “Hospitality”, at least at a 5-star property, should mean that things are done right, and heaven forbid something is not right, it gets fixed. Alas, this wasn’t the case at the Intercontinental.

Here is list of missteps we experienced at the Intercontinental, over the course of five days:

• Room service delivered with no cutlery (yes, we ate with our hands; fortunately, we hadn’t ordered soup)

• Room service delivered by someone who had no pen, so we had to hunt for one of our own to sign the bill (I was tempted to just look dumbfounded and wait to see how they solved the problem)

• The utility closet door outside our room banging in the wind for an entire 24 hours (entrances to suite are external doors). I just ASSUMED someone on staff would notice that the door was broken. It finally got addressed when I reported…with a door stop wedge (not repaired…just no more flapping in the wind).

• A terrible mattress. Not the worst I’ve ever experience at a hotel, but absolutely not “5-star”

• A day that went by with no housekeeping, even though we were gone most of the day (after that we learned to call and ASK for housekeeping if we were stepping out)

• Two days of housekeeping WITHOUT any fresh towels…as though somehow someone had forgot to wash them (and yes, after the first day we left a note for fresh towels…and received none.)

These are the sort of missteps that just shouldn’t happen at a property that purports to be “5-Star”. The sort of things that just don’t happen at a Four Seasons, a Rosewood, a Fairmont, a Fullerton. It suggests staff that has been told to be welcoming and friendly (and yes, yes they were), but not trained on what “hospitality” means.

Trained…. as in on our second to last evening, we dined at the upscale restaurant on the property. Staff were friendly and welcoming…meal was pretty nice…but when the food hit the table we were asked THREE times in the course of 5 minutes by THREE different people how was our dinner. Very friendly…but each time the interrupted our conversation, and five minutes in we had hardly taken two bites. TRAINED food service staff know to 1) wait a few bites in before you ask about the meal, and 2) don’t interrupt diners’ conversations. It was though each person – there were three – was doing what they were told to do, which was ask about the meal, without any regard to coordination (like, just have our server ask once, you know?)

Gripes. I know. But swear the place is gobsmackingly beautiful, and the staff SO friendly and welcoming.

Just know that this resort is not “5-Star”, in the Four Seasons sense of the word…. service execution leaving something to be desired.

That said, we will be back. Gawd, is it beautiful....
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula GoGoBear

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your personal detailed views of the Resort via TripAdvisor.

Vinaka Vakalevu and all the best for the festive season.

Ravikash Nand
Executive Assistance Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$282
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Agoda.com
    $188
  • Priceline
    $201
25.2 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Kids & Adults Swimming Pool with Water slide.
$243
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Agoda.com
    $103
  • Priceline
    $117
15.9 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$227
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $221
  • Agoda.com
    $198
  • Priceline
    $227
25.7 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$335
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $328
  • Agoda.com
    $228
  • travelup.com
    $304
36.2 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Pool, roundabout, poolside mural and shower
$144
Multiple ways to pay
    24.5 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Swimming Pool Area
    $264
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $264
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    24.8 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    $146
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      $174
    • Agoda.com
      $121
    • Priceline
      $133
    19.3 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    $362
    Multiple ways to pay
    • StayForLong
    • ZenHotels.com
      $369
    • Expedia.com
    51.3 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $623
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
      $650
    • ZenHotels.com
      $599
    • Priceline
      $650
    25.6 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Pool area
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    12.0 km from InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Sigatoka
    Reviews (3,846)
    Filter reviews
    3,846 results
    Traveller rating
    2,584
    833
    292
    77
    60
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,584
    833
    292
    77
    60
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews navo restaurant the club lounge golf course kama lounge natadola bay adults only infinity pool toba bar and grill beachfront suite club staff planet trekkers day bed bula bus kids club lagoon view outdoor bath garden room beach front
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    43 - 48 of 3,846 reviews
    Reviewed 26 December 2023

    Staying at the Intercontinental Hotel, Natadola, Fiji over Christmas was sensational! I’ve stayed at Intercons including Athens, Bali, London, Bangkok, Sydney, Hong Kong, Perth and Phom Penh plus other great hotels and this property rates amongst the best, if not the best!
    The staff are so friendly and charming and the adult only separate pools/ dining works really well.
    Food and service at the fabulous Navu restaurant and Sanasana breakfasts are exceptional, and the fact the staff sing harmonies is wonderful. The rooms and leafy or water views are great, and huge white sandy super clean beach is the best!
    We did have a couple of issues early which were quickly resolved by staff.
    A thorough recommendation from me.
    Andrew Leslie
    Melbourne

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Andrew L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

    Bula andrewIG1036YW

    The team very much appreciate your feedback on your recent stay, thank you

    We are pleased to see we resolved the issues earlier on in your stay.

    See you again, warm regards

    Vinaka vakalevu

    Kirti Chand - Guest Services Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 December 2023

    We stayed at intercontinental for 5 nights, not the first time in Fiji but after reading and hearing so many compliments we chose to go over budget with hopes that we will have 5* experience. Well that didn't happen!
    Rooms
    Are not clean, everything is old, fridge is covered with mould and not working, kettle is very old and smelly, basins are extremely old and covered with every disgusting things you can imagine. Hairs between bed sheets, floors dirty and the worse part is you think they are cleaning the rooms daily well they don't. Air conditioning settings are not working so you have to either cook or freeze. Lighing of the room needs a massive upgrade downrights are located in most strange way and order, very dark rooms.The only good side all soaps and lotions smell very good.
    Resturants
    Average quality food, not a big selection in all 3 restaurants, some staff are very kind and lovely they other can be very rude, be prepared you might have to wait for a coffee for a good 30 minutes. The good side coffee is amazing such a tasty cofee.
    Beach and Pool
    Pools are clean and beach is beautiful. Easy to navigate your way from the rooms to every resturant or pool.
    Overall experience: if you can close your eyes on room cleanness and Average food at all 3 restaurants you will enjoy the beach and the pool... but overall I will not recommend this hotel to anyone

    Room tip: Bring your own kettle and Buy waters from duty-free
    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Arnet B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2023

    Dear Arnet B

    Thank you for taking the time to pass on your personal views of the Resort via TripAdvisor and appreciate the time taken.

    We value your wonderful comments on the Pure Fiji bathroom amenities, coffee being amazing, beautiful beach and easy way to navigate around the resort; thank you.

    However, we note there is other feedback raised that certainly concerns us, as your review remains anonymous and we cannot seem to locate your reservation, we’d welcome you to reach out to us to identify your reservation to enable our follow up. There is a manager on duty 24/7 along with other ways to reach out to us during your stay as we would have welcomed and opportunity to turn your stay around and make the stay memorable for all the right reasons.

    Once again thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback via TripAdvisor.

    Vinaka Vakalevu and all the bets for the festive season.

    Ravikash Nand
    Executive Assistance Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 December 2023

    The Best Time Ever!!! Bula! Fiji InterContinental Golf Resort & Spa… We Love You and THANK YOU sooooo much for such an amazing time! Our visit was absolutely fabulous and we are so appreciative of the warmth, unmatched hospitality, and splendid customer care that was bestowed upon us! We planned our trip last minute and we were fortunate to have gotten a room at The InterContinental. It was a true blessing that awaited us, a memory that will last a lifetime!

    We were at “The Club” and our new friends were most outstanding! They showered us with sincere Fijian love! The property was nothing short of GORGEOUS! The quality care, beautiful rooms, exquisite amenities, and the attention to detail… are what set this resort, and our stay, apart from many. InterContinental Fiji was everything! We enjoyed relaxing poolside cabanas, morning mimosas, the best bloody Mary’s, tea at noon, delicious dining, and an exquisite team who took such awesome care of us. House keeping, shopping, room service, on site excursions... all amazing!

    While ALL of the team were absolutely incredible at the resort, a VERY special Thank You goes out to Wendy, Delai, Abbo, Aposi, and most definitely Mr. Niu. I cannot explain the immense amount of gratitude we have for them. They were all so friendly, knowledgeable, and kind! They made our trip the best ever! You can have a great brand, but those trusted to represent that brand totally make the difference. The team mentioned here, absolutely enhanced our stay and we are forever grateful to them!!! Looking forward to our next visit and we cannot imagine being anywhere else but at The Intercontinental! Five Stars all around and a MUST VISIT! We were definitely “at home”! BULA!

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank tidavisbmj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

    Bula Tidavisbmj,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It sounds like your experience at the InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa was beyond incredible. From the warmth of Fijian love to the exquisite amenities and attention to detail, it seems like every aspect of your stay was exceptional. The way you've highlighted the team members who made your experience memorable speaks volumes about the genuine hospitality they provided. It's wonderful to hear how they made such a significant difference in your trip. Your detailed account truly showcases the magic of the InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, and I'm thrilled to know you're eagerly looking forward to your next visit.

    Vinaka,
    Whitney Rounds
    Executive PA to the Area GM

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 December 2023


    everything was amazing, from the first day to the end.

    we wish we could stay more, it was our first holidays with my little baby.

    we had baby sitter at room for night dinner.

    thank you very much for everything xx

    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 121danielax
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

    Bula 121danielax,

    Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I'm thrilled to hear that your stay was amazing from start to finish. It's always special to be part of someone's first holiday with their little one. I'm glad we could make it memorable for you! Thank you for choosing us for your holiday, and we'd love to welcome you back for more memorable moments!

    Vinaka,
    Whitney Rounds
    Executive PA to the Area GM

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

    Recently stayed for 8 days at the Intercontinental in Fiji and it was everything we imagined and a whole lot more! The resort is stunning and fantastic for kids and also adults! Rooms were great, food and restaurants delicious, pools and beach perfect but the best part was how amazing all of the staff were. They went above and beyond for us and especially our 1 and half year old son who had a ball! I even managed a few rounds of golf in which is a must do for anyone interested in golf. Highly recommend and we can't wait to come back!

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank jlougoon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    InterContinental Fiji, Owner at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

    Bula Jlougoon,

    Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Intercontinental in Fiji Golf Resort & Spa! It's heartening to know that the resort lived up to your expectations and even exceeded them. We're thrilled that the facilities, dining options, and activities suited your family so well. Your recommendation means a lot, and we're eagerly looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!

    Vinaka,
    Whitney Rounds
    Executive PA to the Area GM

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews