We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
saipan1
Irvine, California

first time stay

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Dec 2023
I chose the islander based on location. right across from airport and close to shipping companies.

i booked the room on a 3rd party website. check in was easy. room was very clean and a nice bathroom. plenty of hot water.

to get on the wifi i had to go to the grocery store, 20 min walk. i think it was 25 NZD for 30GB and valid for 7 days. took a few tries but i got on. the hot spot is in the lobby but i had the range to get it in my room.

breakfast was included, not buffet but off the menu. it was pretty good.

the only downside is that it can be a little noisy from the bar and dining area. but by midnight its all quiet. not a deal breaker for me but it could bother some.

staff was great and helpful

i would stay again if i return to rarotonga
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $285
  • Priceline
1.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
3.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$305
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.3 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
view from deck
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
7.8 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Not really swimming beach but great for sunbathing
  • Lol.travel
2.8 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
The beach behind the guesthose
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
9.7 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road island night super fun hula airport raro atiu yum muri
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2023 via mobile

Despite the restaurant being advertised across various media as opening at 5pm and 5:30pm, the day we arrived we were told the chef was tired and didn’t want to cook anything until 6pm. We got moved tables twice with no reason given. The staff were rude and seemed uninterested in our custom. The Hula Bar next door was the same. The bartender was more interested in chatting up the 5 females at the bar instead of serving up drinks to other customers who were waiting patiently to be acknowledged. Poor service, bad vibes. Go elsewhere as there are lots of other places only too happy to see tourists.

Room tip: Avoid altogether. This place only has customers as it’s across the road from the Airport. Otherwise it would have folded years ago.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lax24r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rohan Ellis, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Kia Orana, we are so sorry for your poor service experience. If our kitchen was delayed in dinner service, it would be a result of a super busy lunch (400+ covers) and the kitchen completely out of stocks. The chefs need time to restock their supplies for the dinner service which commenced just after 6pm. However, our service team should not have ignored your table on arrival. Again, our sincere apologies. Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2023 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this hotel, bar and restaurant! Food and accommodation was brilliant! Breakfast was included in the stay! And staff were next level lovely!! Would definitely recommend Islander night! A must do!!! Thanks for the stay! :)

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Discover32114478073
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rohan Ellis, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2023

We decided on this hotel due to its proximity to the airport as we had an early morning flight. The room and bed were fine, clean and comfortable, and we didn't notice the noise too much. It was just a shame that the restarant staff were so slow in taking and bringing dinner and drink orders. Breaksfast is included in the room price but it is also a shame that breakfast starts quite late. So if you have a flight before 9.00am, you will probably miss out.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JK3910
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rohan Ellis, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Thank you for staying with us. We will have our service team speed up service to tables. Breakfast starts at 8am to 10.30am daily. Early departing guests can request a tropical breakfast plate delivered to their room the night before. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2023

To Nana: The Islander hotel/Bar Thank you so much for helping out in a dire situation. I lost my passport with c.card and other documents inside. Alone I headed to the Police station, saying good bye to my 3 friends to carry on flying home, the station was some 5-8 km away to report it. I dragged my bag along the main road, 30 degrees, spotted the Islander, went in to take a break, and a very kind gorgy man, perhaps the manager, he asked if he could help me. I didn't think anyone could help me at this point, plane an hour and a half late. He is called Nana, instructed another gorgy young man to take me to the police station. The culture is just gorgeous, the air port staff Lynn Karati came to the airport and picked me up and stated we'll get you on that flight. Unbelievable, beautiful people. Thank you to The Islander Hotel, Nana, Lynn, Raro airport and the young man I cannot remember his name. A culture to be proud of, the island of Rarotonga is a dream.

Room tip: Amazing support they gave me, when in times of need.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VickyEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rohan Ellis, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2023

We didn't stay here but we had quite a long wait between flights from Aitutaki/to Auckland and for $10 ea suitcase this hotel - which is within walking distance to the airport - safely stored our luggage so we could go off and enjoy our last few hours on the island. After checking in our luggage we came back to the hotel and enjoyed a last - very good - coffee and cocktail in pleasant surrounds over-looking the ocean.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wikidkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rohan Ellis, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Thank you for dining with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews