We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$288
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$288
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$262
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Haimona Tipene

Awesome service and the manager/boss did us a solid!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Nov 2022
In November this year my family and I went to Rarotonga. The second night we were there we went out to hula bar and the islander Hotel for drinks. The manager or bar owner ended up taking us to Rehab (a nightclub in Raro) free of charge due to his kind nature and for that I thank him and his team for their awesome service. Kia Orana❤️
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rohan Ellis, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Thank you for joining the fun at the Hula Bar. Your safety and comfort is our priority.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$305
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $305
  • Agoda.com
    $286
  • Hotels.com
    $305
4.3 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $164
  • eDreams
    $164
2.4 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
View with ocean to my back
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $189
  • Vio.com
4.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Restaurant
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $463
  • Priceline
1.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
3.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.9 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from deck
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
7.8 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
The beach behind the guesthose
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
9.7 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road island night super fun hula airport raro atiu yum muri
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2022

Great place! Very clean and so friendly!
Even the people who were staying there were great. The pool was very nice and clean.
WIll be going back. It is in a great location to beach and restaurants!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2022

We stayed at The Islander on our last day in the Cook Islands - we were scheduled to fly to Atiu for a couple of days but Covid cancelled this. So we had been staying in much more expensive resorts prior to this in Muri. The Islander is in a great location for the airport (literally across the road to check-in!). It has good food, large restaurant and swimming pool. It is good in those respects, but not so much for accommodation and staying overnight. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but there is loud music from 7 pm - 11.30 pm each night. Sure, they provide ear plugs, but it is better to stay elsewhere and get a full nights sleep. Staff re friendly, but my recommendation is to use The Islander as a transit lounge when travelling, with swimming pool, drinks and food, but we wouldn't stay overnight again. It isn't much cheaper than other resorts that offer much better accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcwledzep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2022 via mobile

We stayed at the islander for 1 night. Have no expectations and you will have a fun time.

It is not a resort with a swimming beach and it is next to large petroleum tanks but you can sit on the deck above the water and look out on a gorgeous view.

The staff are so friendly and you really get a sense of the island vibe.

Food was nice.. we walked to the Saturday morning Market in the morning and had fun looking around.

The Hula bar had a dj.. it rocked until 11.30pm.. just join in and have their fish bowl cocktails and enjoy the music.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank keagles2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2020

Cheap-ish drinks etc, and a heads up!! If you buy drinks, kids can swim in the pool! Pretty awesome for when we were living there. Right on the beach but cant go on :( . Not very busy and good fun!!!!

Date of stay: November 2019
4  Thank Milly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. The location is a few minutes away from the airport and the town, it's also right on the beachfront.

The HULA Bar is a comfortable drinking spot nestled 1 minute within the hotel compound.

Great place to visit.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 199nanais
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews