We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cindy L
New Milford, Connecticut

Great place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Oct 2022
Great place! Very clean and so friendly!
Even the people who were staying there were great. The pool was very nice and clean.
WIll be going back. It is in a great location to beach and restaurants!
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.3 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from deck
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
7.8 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Not really swimming beach but great for sunbathing
  • Lol.travel
2.8 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
The beach behind the guesthose
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
9.7 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road island night super fun hula airport raro atiu yum muri
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2022

We stayed at The Islander on our last day in the Cook Islands - we were scheduled to fly to Atiu for a couple of days but Covid cancelled this. So we had been staying in much more expensive resorts prior to this in Muri. The Islander is in a great location for the airport (literally across the road to check-in!). It has good food, large restaurant and swimming pool. It is good in those respects, but not so much for accommodation and staying overnight. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but there is loud music from 7 pm - 11.30 pm each night. Sure, they provide ear plugs, but it is better to stay elsewhere and get a full nights sleep. Staff re friendly, but my recommendation is to use The Islander as a transit lounge when travelling, with swimming pool, drinks and food, but we wouldn't stay overnight again. It isn't much cheaper than other resorts that offer much better accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcwledzep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2022 via mobile

We stayed at the islander for 1 night. Have no expectations and you will have a fun time.

It is not a resort with a swimming beach and it is next to large petroleum tanks but you can sit on the deck above the water and look out on a gorgeous view.

The staff are so friendly and you really get a sense of the island vibe.

Food was nice.. we walked to the Saturday morning Market in the morning and had fun looking around.

The Hula bar had a dj.. it rocked until 11.30pm.. just join in and have their fish bowl cocktails and enjoy the music.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank keagles2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2020

Cheap-ish drinks etc, and a heads up!! If you buy drinks, kids can swim in the pool! Pretty awesome for when we were living there. Right on the beach but cant go on :( . Not very busy and good fun!!!!

Date of stay: November 2019
4  Thank Milly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. The location is a few minutes away from the airport and the town, it's also right on the beachfront.

The HULA Bar is a comfortable drinking spot nestled 1 minute within the hotel compound.

Great place to visit.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 199nanais
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

Very nice and friendly staff. Well like many, we checked out of our hotel and needed a place to store our luggage while waiting for the 11pm flight home to LAX. They were great, they provide locked luggage storage for $5nzd a piece. We left our luggage and headed to Muri beach for a few last hours of beach time. When we got back, they offered us shower services for $10nzd per person.

After showering, they let you stay in the bar/patio/dining area while you wait for your flight so long as you purchase food or drink. We ordered 2 mock tails and waited for our flight, the patio had a wonderful breeze and we caught our last Cook Island sunset until we return.

These guys are very professional and situated perfectly as they are across the street from the airport. Literally a 1-2 minute walk.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank joshcY249QU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews