We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$288
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$288
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$265
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nanai S
Te Atatu, New Zealand

Comfortable and great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2020via mobile
The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. The location is a few minutes away from the airport and the town, it's also right on the beachfront.

The HULA Bar is a comfortable drinking spot nestled 1 minute within the hotel compound.

Great place to visit.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$257
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $286
  • Agoda.com
    $240
  • Expedia.com
    $257
4.3 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Trip.com
$352
  • ZenHotels.com
    $298
  • Agoda.com
    $301
  • Vio.com
    $307
1.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $164
  • Vio.com
    $164
  • eDreams
    $164
2.4 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
View with ocean to my back
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $170
  • eDreams
    $170
  • Agoda.com
    $170
4.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$288
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $265
  • Vio.com
    $289
0.0 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Studio Apartment view
Booking.com
$216
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $216
  • Agoda.com
    $216
  • Vio.com
    $216
2.9 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$267
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $294
  • Agoda.com
    $249
  • Expedia.com
    $267
4.0 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$346
  • Hotels.com
    $401
  • Agoda.com
    $287
  • Priceline
    $575
4.2 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Vio.com
$1,179
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
4.5 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Agoda.com
$424
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
  • Vio.com
    $424
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
5.3 km from The Islander Hotel
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road island night super fun hula airport raro atiu yum muri
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

Very nice and friendly staff. Well like many, we checked out of our hotel and needed a place to store our luggage while waiting for the 11pm flight home to LAX. They were great, they provide locked luggage storage for $5nzd a piece. We left our luggage and headed to Muri beach for a few last hours of beach time. When we got back, they offered us shower services for $10nzd per person.

After showering, they let you stay in the bar/patio/dining area while you wait for your flight so long as you purchase food or drink. We ordered 2 mock tails and waited for our flight, the patio had a wonderful breeze and we caught our last Cook Island sunset until we return.

These guys are very professional and situated perfectly as they are across the street from the airport. Literally a 1-2 minute walk.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank joshcY249QU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020 via mobile

Booked this particular hotel for its location more than anything else. Got met at the airport by a driver, which I was very grateful for, had quite a lot of baggage. Check in was very quick and easy. Room was massive, two single and on double bed. Happy Hour offers were good. All in all my stay was good.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank PerArdua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2019

This hotel is ok I guess if you want to stay across from the airport for a flight at an unusual time. Our flight was at midnight, so we stayed here for the last night. If I had to do it over again though, I would have just booked an extra night at the nicer hotel we were staying at, since as we found out nothing is more than 30 min from the airport.

On the positive side, the room was clean (though very small), and of course a restaurant is attached.

On the less than positive side, the rooms are very loud. We asked for a quiet room, but were told there were no quiet rooms. Our room only had 1 towel, and wash cloth, despite the room was booked for 2 people, and the room had very little lighting. Plus you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway outside the rooms (all rooms are on one hall). Parking is very limited.

Room tip: There are no quiet rooms, but rooms 10-12 appear to be at the end of the hallway away from the front desk, so they may be quieter.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AitutakiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2019

We stayed here pre heading home, wonderful facilities, friendly team and a view like no other. The food was fresh and well presented with no time pressure to finish up. Made you not wanting to head home to NZ

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Bopshads
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

Let me start with the positives, very friendly staff and decent food. We had a day room after our airline overbooked our flight. I would only consider using this hotel for a day use until your accommodations are available or to be close to the airport the night before a flight. The rooms are very narrow and cramped and not sound proofed. The halls are narrow and dark. Restaurant is fine with nice service and nice view.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank dudoldve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews