We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GhostSniper7.62
Chester, United Kingdom

Project MANATUA

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jan 2020via mobile
Booked this particular hotel for its location more than anything else. Got met at the airport by a driver, which I was very grateful for, had quite a lot of baggage. Check in was very quick and easy. Room was massive, two single and on double bed. Happy Hour offers were good. All in all my stay was good.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$307
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $284
  • Hotels.com
    $253
  • Expedia.com
    $285
4.3 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
$303
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    $310
  • ZenHotels.com
    $269
  • Agoda.com
    $274
1.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $164
  • Agoda.com
    $164
  • eDreams
    $164
2.4 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
$134
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • Vio.com
    $134
4.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
The beach behind the guesthose
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
9.7 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
$288
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $255
  • Vio.com
    $267
0.0 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$623
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Apartment view
$297
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $297
  • Agoda.com
    $297
  • Vio.com
    $297
2.9 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
79
84
26
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road island night super fun hula airport raro atiu yum muri
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2019

This hotel is ok I guess if you want to stay across from the airport for a flight at an unusual time. Our flight was at midnight, so we stayed here for the last night. If I had to do it over again though, I would have just booked an extra night at the nicer hotel we were staying at, since as we found out nothing is more than 30 min from the airport.

On the positive side, the room was clean (though very small), and of course a restaurant is attached.

On the less than positive side, the rooms are very loud. We asked for a quiet room, but were told there were no quiet rooms. Our room only had 1 towel, and wash cloth, despite the room was booked for 2 people, and the room had very little lighting. Plus you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway outside the rooms (all rooms are on one hall). Parking is very limited.

Room tip: There are no quiet rooms, but rooms 10-12 appear to be at the end of the hallway away from the front desk, so they may be quieter.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AitutakiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2019

We stayed here pre heading home, wonderful facilities, friendly team and a view like no other. The food was fresh and well presented with no time pressure to finish up. Made you not wanting to head home to NZ

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Bopshads
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

Let me start with the positives, very friendly staff and decent food. We had a day room after our airline overbooked our flight. I would only consider using this hotel for a day use until your accommodations are available or to be close to the airport the night before a flight. The rooms are very narrow and cramped and not sound proofed. The halls are narrow and dark. Restaurant is fine with nice service and nice view.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank dudoldve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2019 via mobile

We found ourselves stranded after not being able to catch our flight home. Thank goodness The Islander Hotel (which is right across the road from the airport) was able to accommodate our family! The room #3 had a king size bed and 2x singles, beautiful view of the reef/ lagoon (not for swimming, there is a pool) and Hula bar right outside. There is a bit of noise at night from the music an people laughing etc but I found it ok- ear plugs are provided. The Hotel has a restaurant which is priced as you would expect for Rarotonga, the food is delicious. We also enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast of cereal, pastries, muffins, pancakes, fruit, juice an coffee :) After checkout they have free luggage storage just in case you want to go an get last minute gifts 100m down the road, or snacks from the small convenience store next to the gift shop.
All in all, I definitely recommend staying at The Islander Hotel!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank lolazmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2019 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for four of us arriving from Auckland late at night and flying out to Aitutaki the next day. It certainly is convenient to the airport, being right across the road - the only redeeming feature of the place. When we arrived we were told we were in rooms across the road (definitely not the advertised "beach front") so we wouldn't be disturbed by the noise from the Hula Bar - at least they acknowledged there would be noise from the bar. That sounded a bonus, so over we went.

We were shown pokey little rooms in what is named Airport Lodge, which looks like a backpackers. Comparing what we found there to the features of the rooms shown on the website we got:
2 king beds, no a bunk with double at the bottom and single on top.
Air conditioning, no a fan on a stand.
TV, no.
Telephone, no.
Tea and coffee making facilities, no.
Bar fridge, no.
Kitchenette, no.
Alarm clock, no.
Room safe, no.
Ironing board, no.
Bathrobes, no.
Hair dryer, no.
Bathroom toiletries, no - not even soap to wash your hands after using the toilet.
45 sq m area, no probably less than 20 sq m.

What we were given was so far removed from what they advertised, it was unbelievable. Back across the road to complain, with little joy from the receptionist who told us the hotel was fully booked and there were no other rooms available. While trying to sort it out we spoke to very embarrassed house staff who told us the place was overbooked.

After getting very irate with someone who may have been the manager, lo and behold two rooms suddenly became available! Our gain turned out to be later guests' loss as we saw them complain about their accommodation arrangements.

A search on the web suggests Airport Lodge charges $25pp per night, compared to the $250 a room being charged at The Islander. Even if the place had been overbooked there was never any mention of a reduction in tariff (to $50?) to be put up over the road.

Don't go near the place. As a number of other reviews have noted, there are plenty of places within a few minutes of the airport which are far better than this place.

The pictures below show the room we booked and paid for and the room they tried to give us.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RachandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews