We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wayne

Cook Islands -relaxation heaven

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2019
We stayed here pre heading home, wonderful facilities, friendly team and a view like no other. The food was fresh and well presented with no time pressure to finish up. Made you not wanting to head home to NZ
Date of stay: December 2018
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$253
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.3 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
$346
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    $284
  • ZenHotels.com
    $287
1.1 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from The Islander Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Not really swimming beach but great for sunbathing
  • Lol.travel
2.8 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
7.8 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
The beach behind the guesthose
  • Priceline
9.7 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
View with ocean to my back
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.6 km from The Islander Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Bungalows at Napa Beachfront Hideaway
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Avarua
    Reviews (302)
    Filter reviews
    302 results
    Traveller rating
    77
    79
    84
    26
    36
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    77
    79
    84
    26
    36
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews across the road island night super fun hula airport raro atiu yum muri
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    22 - 27 of 302 reviews
    Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

    Let me start with the positives, very friendly staff and decent food. We had a day room after our airline overbooked our flight. I would only consider using this hotel for a day use until your accommodations are available or to be close to the airport the night before a flight. The rooms are very narrow and cramped and not sound proofed. The halls are narrow and dark. Restaurant is fine with nice service and nice view.

    Date of stay: October 2019
    1  Thank dudoldve
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 September 2019 via mobile

    We found ourselves stranded after not being able to catch our flight home. Thank goodness The Islander Hotel (which is right across the road from the airport) was able to accommodate our family! The room #3 had a king size bed and 2x singles, beautiful view of the reef/ lagoon (not for swimming, there is a pool) and Hula bar right outside. There is a bit of noise at night from the music an people laughing etc but I found it ok- ear plugs are provided. The Hotel has a restaurant which is priced as you would expect for Rarotonga, the food is delicious. We also enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast of cereal, pastries, muffins, pancakes, fruit, juice an coffee :) After checkout they have free luggage storage just in case you want to go an get last minute gifts 100m down the road, or snacks from the small convenience store next to the gift shop.
    All in all, I definitely recommend staying at The Islander Hotel!!

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    3  Thank lolazmama
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 September 2019 via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms for four of us arriving from Auckland late at night and flying out to Aitutaki the next day. It certainly is convenient to the airport, being right across the road - the only redeeming feature of the place. When we arrived we were told we were in rooms across the road (definitely not the advertised "beach front") so we wouldn't be disturbed by the noise from the Hula Bar - at least they acknowledged there would be noise from the bar. That sounded a bonus, so over we went.

    We were shown pokey little rooms in what is named Airport Lodge, which looks like a backpackers. Comparing what we found there to the features of the rooms shown on the website we got:
    2 king beds, no a bunk with double at the bottom and single on top.
    Air conditioning, no a fan on a stand.
    TV, no.
    Telephone, no.
    Tea and coffee making facilities, no.
    Bar fridge, no.
    Kitchenette, no.
    Alarm clock, no.
    Room safe, no.
    Ironing board, no.
    Bathrobes, no.
    Hair dryer, no.
    Bathroom toiletries, no - not even soap to wash your hands after using the toilet.
    45 sq m area, no probably less than 20 sq m.

    What we were given was so far removed from what they advertised, it was unbelievable. Back across the road to complain, with little joy from the receptionist who told us the hotel was fully booked and there were no other rooms available. While trying to sort it out we spoke to very embarrassed house staff who told us the place was overbooked.

    After getting very irate with someone who may have been the manager, lo and behold two rooms suddenly became available! Our gain turned out to be later guests' loss as we saw them complain about their accommodation arrangements.

    A search on the web suggests Airport Lodge charges $25pp per night, compared to the $250 a room being charged at The Islander. Even if the place had been overbooked there was never any mention of a reduction in tariff (to $50?) to be put up over the road.

    Don't go near the place. As a number of other reviews have noted, there are plenty of places within a few minutes of the airport which are far better than this place.

    The pictures below show the room we booked and paid for and the room they tried to give us.

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank RachandMax
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 September 2019

    It was cloudy and raining when we landed at 5.45am in Rarotonga and were in need of a rest after 25+ hour travelling so we took the advice of a few of the Cook Island forum members and popped across the road to the Islander Hotel to see if they may have had a day room for a few hours before our 11.15am flight to Aitutaki but they were closed but a member of staff said we could wait in reception till they opened at 7am.

    When they opened they told us they didn’t have any day rooms for a few hours although one chap came in with his son just before us and asked for a room for a couple of days and they got one, I suspect they prefer not to let rooms just for a few hours which is understandable but they did let us leave our luggage behind the reception desk. One of the staff said we could get a coffee from the breakfast buffet that was being set up but as we went to get it another member of staff told us we could not use the breakfast buffet as it was reserved for guests but we could get a pass for the breakfast buffet (20NZ$ each) so we took this and had a breakfast while we waited for the Air Raro flight .

    We sat overlooking the reef although as it was cloudy and grey and still raining I suspect we didn’t see it at its best.

    This hotel is ideally situated for staying in ether before or after an international flight as it is located directly opposite the airport.

    Date of stay: July 2019
      • Service
    Thank Mr-Misty47
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

    Rooms average but clean and can get noisy at night but every one was having a good time and that’s what it’s all about at the islander .We stayed 7 nights and enjoyed every minute of it . Staff great friendly and obliging. Food was excellent and the drinks were the cheapest on the island . Definitely not tranquil and no beach access but central to everything you need .
    Would stay here again . Special mention to Rosie on reception she was very helpful and nothing was a problem for her .

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank jgsd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews