We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
3Raymarie469
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Home away from Home

Review of Central Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Aug 2018
We had a 2am Arrival on Rarotonga - Reliable pick up and taken straight to our room by Kiki. Met in the morning by Ronnie the Bestest Hostest we've ever met, He made our stay feel welcome and looked after us making us want to make Central Motel our Home away from Home. A Basic Motel Room with Air Conditioning that works yay. Plug in mosquito freshener kept the mozzies away. Room serviced everyday with clean towels, soap, shampoo etc and coffee/sugar/milk supplies always replenished. Hot water and excellent pressure in the shower. Close to Avarua walking distance to everything. Ronnie offered to take us to the local Car hire but we decided to walk there ourselves and hired transport. WiFi available. Only 2 x Local TV channels which is typical on Rarotonga. We requested and got a ground floor room. Has Kettle/Toaster/Iron/Ironing Board and cupboard for hanging clothes. No curtain netting so had to keep the Drapes closed for privacy. The location of the Motel served our purpose for our visit well. Quiet place no kids. Spa Pool clean and inviting. Minibar prices cheap too. No Laundry Service but there is a laundry services 5 minutes away so not a problem.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$284
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $316
  • Hotels.com
    $253
  • Expedia.com
    $284
2.2 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
0.5 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
  • Expedia.com
    $304
1.6 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • ZenHotels.com
    $276
  • Vio.com
    $286
2.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Central Motel
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
Not really swimming beach but great for sunbathing
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
view from deck
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
The beach behind the guesthose
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
7.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
View with ocean to my back
$134
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Vio.com
    $134
2.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
16
14
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
14
7
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Enjoyed my stay here. Helpful friendly management and staff, great location and well set up. Manager helpful and easy to deal with. Rooms simple but pleasant. Easy walk to town and restaurants and supermarkets.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed at Central Motel during our week long trip to Rarotonga, and found Central Motel to perfectly meet our needs as budget travelers. The owner, Malcolm, was perfectly hospitable, even when I woke him up at 6:30 one morning for a last minute request to the airport. The room was cleaned each day, with fresh towels provided, a must for those light packers! Great water pressure and boy does it get hot! Shades kept out the light making it easy to catch up on some zzz's when you first arrive.
The courtyard is perfect for relaxing after a busy day, and the mini-bar prices were the best we've ever seen - $3.50 per beer! Of course the roosters are prone to get excited anytime once the sun goes down, amusing at first if you've never been on an island where these things roam freely, but do pack some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. If you want to stay connected, a couple bucks will buy you access to the wifi and it worked very well.
If you are debating on splurging on posh accommodations versus the ability to go on the Aitutaki day tour offered through Air Raro, stay at the Central Motel so you can do both!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2017

My last trip around the world brought me to these fantastic islands, Rarotonga. In Avarua I spent more less a week and thanks to Mr Malcom,who gave me a lot of info and details from weather reports to what to see and where to go. A fantastic Concierge! He also organized for me the trip to Aitutaki, a daily one, quite expensive, but certainly worth for all the day on a fantastic island. The Hotel is a standard motel, very clean with all the standard facilities around. Just few steps to the sea, markets restaurants etc. etc. No breakfast, but all in the room to organize it. Thanks again Mr Malcom for your kindness, your Sardinian friend, John.

Room tip: First floor is better and quieter.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AroundtheWorld61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2017

...I would just add that rooms are spacious and very comfortable,bathrooms clean and practical. The inner patio is of well-tended tropical greenery, there is free parking in front of the hotel, and the owner Malcolm is a very agreeable gentleman (and I suspect what he doesn't know about the Cook Islands can be written on a bus ticket).

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed at Central Motel for a night between our arrival in Rarotonga and our departure for Aitutaki. Malcolm picked us up from the airport at 10 pm and drove us back the next day. Malcolm is lovely and very uncomplicated.
The rooms are big and clean and the beds comfy. The bathroom was a little outdated but there's no need to upgrade and generate more waste on this tiny island. We found that is was quieter than other more fancy places. We stayed on the ground floor and would advise asking for a room upstairs if you want more privacy.

The motel is walking distance from everything that you need on arrival: ATM, police station, post office, telephone, rental... It's a great place to stay on arrival while you get a feel of the Cook Islands and if you're not the resort type, it's just perfect for a longer stay (if you a car). There are some really nice cafes and restaurants around and the harbour is a great place to relax. We felt more comfortable here than at the resort with stayed at the end of our trip.

Room tip: I would advise choosing the upper floor for more privacy
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank VCLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews