We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
db7andy
Rangiora, New Zealand

A lovely surprise

Review of Central Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Oct 2016via mobile
I chose this place for location to work. My other expectations were low, but what a lovely surprise. From the moment the lovely host greeted me at the airport there were smiles and just the best customer service. I had an aircon room which was spacious, comfortable & clean, basic but functional. I'd definitely go back.
Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$284
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $284
2.2 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
0.5 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.0 km from Central Motel
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
2.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
view from deck
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
5.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Not really swimming beach but great for sunbathing
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
The beach behind the guesthose
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
7.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
16
14
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
14
7
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We needed someplace to stay for 1 night as well as staying a bit late the next day, as our flight left at 11 pm. No one on airbnb or other similar sites had any availability. I had read a review somewhere saying some Central Hotel guests were there "hourly" so I was a bit concerned, but in a bit of a panic I reached out to Central Motel.

Malcolm to the rescue! He was so relaxed and easy to work with. Nothing was a problem. We could pay a bit extra and stay until we needed to get to our flight.

While on Aitutaki, our local friend Charlie mentioned that Central Motel, Malcolm and Joe were fabulous and where he always stays while in Raro. I felt better.

At the airport, we were met with a hearty hello from Joe. A character with a plethora of stories and jokes, I could tell immediately that we were in good hands.

The room was large, equipped with what you need for coffee/tea and a frig. The bed was large and comfy. There is a small wading pool to cool off. The location is just 1 block from the roundabout, so close to everything, but quiet. Nothing dramatic, but easy.

Joe, a stand-in manager for Malcolm who was off the island, was a delight to have around. Any question was answered, any request was no problem. We invited him to join us for a coca cola with some friends. He is a hoot!

Other guests we met were regular travelers. Not sure if the earlier reviewer was there during spring break or some crazy party time, but I would not hesitate to recommend Central Motel for your stay, short or long, in Avarua.

Thanks Joe and Malcolm for welcoming us to your corner of the world!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

The staff here were great in helping us with a partial nights stay before a midnight flight.
Transfers are done by the onsite manager who always makes himself available to you.
Room was quite dated but mainly clean. Stains on the curtain was the only thing we could fault. Having a mini bar was a nice change too! And not badly priced.

All in all, good centrally based motel for the price.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2016

A really good choice for an overnight stopover or couple of days in Avarua. This is a well-priced property, in a great location, with plenty of restaurants and The Punanga Nui Market within walking distance. The location is perfect if you want to be close to the city and the airport. In Rarotonga, you can go anywhere with the scooter or with the bus. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The Central Motel has an awesome host - Malcolm! He is a very nice person and took good care of us.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The central motel was pretty close to the beach and was next to the ring road and a couple of minutes in-between the airport and the town. It was good because at night you could see huge crabs that were 50cm wide! After we went to the beach where we saw a puffer fish. Bits of the central motel was a bit run down but some bits were modern.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank scheongnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2015

SIMPLY the best spot to stay in central Avarua. Rooms are clean, walking distance to a the shops,harbour, Saturday market and restaurants. Malcolm, the owner, is a huge source of knowledge and will go out of his way to help you - just ask!

Date of stay: June 2015
3  Thank kimdes0956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews