We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
scheongnz
Churchdown, United Kingdom

Beach Fun!!

Review of Central Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Aug 2015
The central motel was pretty close to the beach and was next to the ring road and a couple of minutes in-between the airport and the town. It was good because at night you could see huge crabs that were 50cm wide! After we went to the beach where we saw a puffer fish. Bits of the central motel was a bit run down but some bits were modern.
Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$278
  • Expedia.com
    $305
  • Vio.com
    $241
  • Priceline
    $331
2.2 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Vio.com
    $251
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
Not really swimming beach but great for sunbathing
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Official Site
5.0 km from Central Motel
Restaurant
view from deck
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Central Motel
View with ocean to my back
$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Vio.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $139
2.4 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
16
14
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
14
7
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2015

SIMPLY the best spot to stay in central Avarua. Rooms are clean, walking distance to a the shops,harbour, Saturday market and restaurants. Malcolm, the owner, is a huge source of knowledge and will go out of his way to help you - just ask!

Date of stay: June 2015
3  Thank kimdes0956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2015

This place is about location, convenience and economy. Central to the business district such as it is and handy to government offices, the name says it all. Sure, it is not near the resorts but nothing is really far in Rarotonga, with buses around the island leaving in each direction every hour or so. If you need more flexibility than that, just rent a motor bike or a car.

Room tip: Get the rooms with air conditioning as an option.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Central Motel before going on to another island and again on the way back, before leaving for LA. As other reviewers have said, it is well-situated in the main town of Avarua, within walking distance of numerous bars, restaurants, the National Library and Museum and the Saturday market. A really good choice for an overnight stopover/couple of days in Avarua. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the owner, Malcolm, goes out of his way to make your stay a pleasant one. He picked us up from the airport, after midnight, and took us back for our flight to Atiu and on our second stay, for our flight to LA. We were also able to keep the room till we were taken to the airport, at 10.00 pm. An all-round good experience!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Efscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Our family stayed here for an overnight stay and found it to be a great place for the price as well as a great service to/from airport from a very friendly gentleman who made our first & last impression of the Cook Island fantastic.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Capt1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you're on passing through Rarotonga, and prefer to be in the main town of Avarua, Central Motel is well located, and a short walk to the main road and faciities.

I had to alter my arrangements more than once before I arrived, but Malcolm accommodated these changes pretty well. The only failing was not getting the lift back to the airport at the end of my trip, despite checking the day before the time and pickup point (the harbour, not the motel). Fortunately I was able to organise an alternative when his colleague did not show up.

The rooms are simple and functional, appropriate as advertised, and the staff are generally helpful. There are a few mozzies about - not normally an issue, but there was a Zika virus outbreak at the time, so make sure you carry insect repellant (I didn't catch it, but plenty of locals and some travellers had). It may well be over - the Cook Is usually don't have such issues - but check when travelling.

Room tip: Ask for an air-conditioned room if you prefer this - some rooms are, some have fans only.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GMDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews