We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
petti77
Sherenden, New Zealand

Great beak away from reality

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2024via mobile
What a pleasant surprise for us. We loved it here. Had ocean view and woke to fantastic views every morning . Got to meet people from all over the world which was a bonus.
Only problem was spending too much time at the swim up bar lol. So many cocktails to choose from.
Great food, staff and amenities.
Totally recommend for couples.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Raro Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this review
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Kia Orana P S
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from the swim up pool bar, the ocean views, food and our staff. We will be sure to advise our staff of your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    $347
  • Agoda.com
    $282
  • Lol.travel
3.8 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.6 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $288
  • Vio.com
    $250
  • ZenHotels.com
    $289
4.3 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
The beach behind the guesthose
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Priceline
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $164
  • Vio.com
    $164
  • eDreams
    $164
2.2 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Official Site
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
7.1 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Restaurant
View with ocean to my back
Booking.com
$134
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
    $134
0.3 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Lol.travel
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
7.5 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$307
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $284
  • Vio.com
    $243
  • Expedia.com
    $284
0.0 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $287
  • Booking.com
    $323
7.9 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
108
147
90
42
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
147
90
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar pool area basic facilities star resort kia orana great cocktails thoroughly enjoyed our stay close to town poolside room cleaned every day cooked breakfast tropical breakfast happy hour tropical island great beach relaxed atmosphere staff were friendly and helpful
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

Nice place, bit far away from everything i would stay closer to muri beach next time as taxis are expemsive and buses only every hour. (Not the hotels fault obviously)
Room wise it was a bit average there were only 2 hooks in the bathroom and there were 2 of us with beach towels and normal towels and wet clothes so we had to hang them over the chairs outside where everyone walks past. Shower was also tiny and very short i would hate to be a tall person washing their hair, after a shower the water goes everywhere. Single bed mattress was terrible but the king was good.
Cocktails at the pool bar were terrible the mojito with oranges was strange and just tasted like rind, others just tasted like juice and alcohol. Also its on a beach with rocks not sand but they have reef shoes u can grab if you need.
Both nights we stayed there was buffet dinners so we didnt get to eat here because we are vegan although they said on other nights they could make us something.
Also annoying they dont give free bottles of water u have to give them your bottle and they fill it at the bar, in a country where you cant drink the tap water i think you should get free water in the room.
Overall it was ok but wouldnt stay here again

Room tip: Make sure you have a water bottle to refill
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Emilie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Raro Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Kia Orana Emilie
Thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to discuss these further with our management team, we do apologize for not meeting your expectations and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

We both Went for dinner = place not very alive at all = lacked vibrancy # average age in the 70ks plus = Bev had chicken salad that was well dead. = cold dry dead = however nice to have live music even if the feeling was that the 60;s were still alive. G

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Raro Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Kia Orana 263grahamj
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback and will be sure to bring this to the attention of our management team, and we hope to welcome you back to our shores in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024

Right from the moment we arrived to check in to when we checked out. The staff were great, personal attention and remembering little things to make us feel valued guests. Very clean rooms, serviced every day if needed. The restaurant served beautiful food, especially the prawns and the ribs are the best on the island.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nomad25605741894
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Raro Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Kia Orana Nomad256O5741894
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from our staff, your room and our food and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores very soon.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Had an amazing experience at club raro.
Best cocktails made by Emori an Emma at the pool bar.
Awesome house keeping by Abba.
And last but not least, big thanks to Kali and team at security for keeping the peace between us and the other guests as we were living our best lives!!
Thanx from the KAWERAU party goers, Room 41 and 42.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Curious10668947156
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Raro Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Kia Orana Curious10668947156
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to advise our team of your great feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the very near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Walked in as a guest. Walked out with a family. Aunty Ima. Mama Ems. Princess George and all the other beautiful loving and caring staff. I want to thank you all for making our stay such a memorable one to remember. I will never forget your kindness and love towards myself and my friends. You are all true entertainers and know how to make people feel welcome and loved. Your food is amazing and very fulling. I love that you have some sort of event on everyday for your guests to enjoy like crab racing, live bands and fire dancers etc. The swim up bar is elite and aunty ima sure knows how to get the party started. I stayed in the poolside room and i have to admit probably the best rooms on the premises in my opinion. Especially if you’re down by the pool end. I would take the poolside room over the oceanside rooms any day of the week. I had no issues with security. It was that safe there that i left my room unlocked everyday. My room would get cleaned everyday and loaded with fresh towels. I mean what more could you ask for. Value for money and every cent spent is worth every moment. I promise you, you will not be disappointed at all. So all these old bad reviews you see. Ignore them. Go see for yourself. Because i’ll tell you this now. The staff are great at what they do and they love it because you can see how important it is to them to make sure you enjoy every minute spent there.

This review is written By Henare Tuwhanagai. A 33 year old male māori from south auckland new zealand. If that doesn’t solidify you’re booking with club raro. Then Slap yourself. Because i promise you, you’ll regret it.

Much love to the club raro whānau.
Mei taki ma’ata.

Room tip: Try getting the poolside rooms down by the pool. Highly recommend poolside room over the oceanside room anyday
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DayTrip64596342550
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Raro Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Kia Orana Henare
Thank you for your great review and we are so happy to hear you left as apart of our Club Raro family. Club Raro has introduced activities to ensure our guest have fun and learn a bit of our culture, and we are glad you participated and enjoyed these. Our swim up pool bar is a highlight for many guests with our bubbly bar staff and the beautiful cocktails they prepare. We will be sure to advise our team of your great feedback and i am sure they will look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the very near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews