We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$257
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$257
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$239
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Darkwind
Auckland, New Zealand

Will certainly go back

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2023
I just completed a 10-night stay here with a friend and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We were originally booked for just a week but Air NZ cancelled our flights only 6 days before we were due to fly, but we were able to re-book and fly a couple of days earlier. We were very happy that we had extra time here, as it's a little gem of a resort.

Compared with its sister resort, The Edgewater, it's only around a third of the size, but being adults only makes the resort feel even less crowded and much more relaxed. We had a room right opposite the pool and, while it's true that it was a little dated and could benefit from a refurb, it was spotlessly clean and the beds were exceedingly comfy. I believe the beachfront rooms have been refurbished recently, so I could well be commenting on a work in progress.

The location means there are no lengthy journeys from the airport - less than 10 minutes in a shuttle - and the public buses stop right outside. Avarua Town is less than 5 minutes away on the bus and, although we didn't actually walk, I imagine it could be done in around 20-30 minutes. There is no sandy beach here and you will definitely need reef shoes to navigate the coral-strewn shoreline, but the hotel has a selection you can borrow as needed. The bar/pool terrace is a great position from which to watch the whales cruising past on the other side of the reef.

We used the Jalapeno restaurant on many occasions: the food was very tasty and the portions were enormous, although there was occasionally quite a lengthy wait between ordering and arrival. Having said that, each time it was due to the restaurant being fully booked, so we didn't expect instant service.

The staff are, without exception, cheerful, friendly and do everything in their power to ensure your stay is the best it can be. Special mentions go out to Ben on the front desk, who was always quick to assist with information, and Donna, Sue, Emori and Reti/Retu(?) in the restaurant/bar, who were unfailingly cheerful and helpful. Lastly, this review would be incomplete without mentioning the wonderful Ima who, with her cheeky sense of humour and ability to make us laugh, improved our holiday immensely.

I really cannot praise the staff highly enough and I sincerely hope the management realises what assets they have in staff of that calibre.

I do have to mention that the breakfast was quite limited and could perhaps benefit from a little more variety, but it didn't skimp on quantity.

One useful tip for anybody thinking about booking here though: if you are booking a poolside room, ask for a room at the beach end, or you are likely to have a view of the back of reception and air conditioning units!

All-in-all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly stay again the next time we visit Rarotonga. I highly recommend Club Raro without reservation.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this review
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$288
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $264
  • Vio.com
    $288
4.3 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $164
  • Vio.com
    $164
  • eDreams
    $164
2.2 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
View with ocean to my back
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $170
  • eDreams
    $170
  • Expedia.com
0.3 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $290
  • Agoda.com
    $296
3.8 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
7.1 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Restaurant
Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
7.6 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$257
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $257
  • Agoda.com
    $239
  • Priceline
    $286
0.0 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Studio Apartment view
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $216
  • Priceline
    $216
  • Vio.com
    $216
6.9 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$267
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $294
  • Agoda.com
    $248
  • Expedia.com
    $267
7.9 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$346
  • Expedia.com
    $348
  • Agoda.com
    $287
  • Hotels.com
    $401
8.0 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
108
147
90
42
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
147
90
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar pool area basic facilities star resort kia orana great cocktails thoroughly enjoyed our stay close to town poolside room cleaned every day cooked breakfast tropical breakfast happy hour tropical island great beach relaxed atmosphere staff were friendly and helpful
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2023

The staff were exceptional. Our room was super comfortable. The amenities were great. We watched whales every day from our room! Loved the location. We ate at jalapenos restaurant which is on site, most nights and had some gorgeous meals. We bought the deal with the breakfast that was included but found it did not include a full breakfast ie bacon and eggs etc, it was mostly toast, cereal and tinned fruits which was a little disappointing. We would definitely go back there though.

Room tip: Get a 10 trip pass from the bus driver for $30 it is the best way to get around the island.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

The facilities were great, rooms were clean and tidy, the food at restaurant was amazing especially the specials that changed each week. The staff were outstanding, their mannerism was beautiful, they were personable and they are the reason we will stay at Club Raro again. Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Odyssey18770419465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2023

Great adults only resort in a great location not far from Avarua. Not overly crowded. I had a prime poolside room close to everything, including the restaurant and the private beach. The room was large, including the bathroom, couldn't fault anything. Tropical buffet breakfast included with a range of items. Restaurant had a variety of cuisines. Amazing cocktails. Highly recommend this place.

Room tip: Everything was perfect for me. Service exceptional.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank irenkef2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2023

Amazing resort, amazing staff and amazing food and cocktails. Club Raro welcomed us with open arms, the staff were super friendly and the chefs were incredible.
Out time at this resort was the best of all trips to Raro

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Quest67353331867
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Club Raro for the first 3 nights of our holiday, the staff left such an impact on us that we came back to spend the last night of our 2 week holiday there as we had confirmed accomodation elsewhere (we were resort hopping)

We stayed in one of the pool view rooms and it was fantastic. The room was very clean, aircon was great, the free breakfast was an assortment of fruits, pastries and cereal which I loved because it wasn’t too heavy and more than enough to kickstart your day. I had dinner at the restaurant and the food was fantastic. However, the real stars on the show were the staff.
I can’t praise and thank the staff enough for their hospitality, kindness and simply just existing. I had read great reviews about the Club Raro team prior to booking but to experience it was another thing. Donna and Emori at the pool bar, Charles at reception Nane at the restaurant and everyone else we had the pleasure of meeting, thank you!!
I watched Donna address every guest by name with the biggest welcoming smile I’d ever seen including myself. Emori I watched assisting guests with the reef shoes and even running to the back of the bar to grab binoculars so a guest could sit under the hut and whale watch at happy hours (yes happy hourS is 2hours every day). I also loved the fact that the resort was adults only.

Your team is your biggest asset. Meitaki ma’ata for making our trip home an unforgettable one.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynn Pokura, General Manager at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana elizabeth m
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to advise our staff of your great feedback and our staff are our greatest asset, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from the food and the swim up pool to the location of the resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the very near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews